Review Index:
Feedback

NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN Performance Review and Frame Rating Update

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: NVIDIA

Battlefield 3 - SLI

Battlefield 3 (DirectX 11)


 

Battlefield 3™ leaps ahead of its time with the power of Frostbite 2, DICE's new cutting-edge game engine. This state-of-the-art technology is the foundation on which Battlefield 3 is built, delivering enhanced visual quality, a grand sense of scale, massive destruction, dynamic audio and character animation utilizing ANT technology as seen in the latest EA SPORTS™ games.

Frostbite 2 now enables deferred shading, dynamic global illumination and new streaming architecture. Sounds like tech talk? Play the game and experience the difference!

Our Settings for Battlefield 3

Here is our testing run through the game, for your reference.

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

Click to Enlarge

View Full Size

Now let's see how these bad ass cards scale!  At 1080p we see the TITAN average frame rate jump from 117 FPS to 158 FPS, just a 35% increase.  The GTX 680s though see a much more acceptable 71% gap and I think it should be obvious already that running two $1000 graphics cards on a single 1080p monitor is a bad idea. 

Both the dark green and dark blue times are a bit "wider" than the single cards showing a bit of stutter compared to the single cards, but as you can see in the percentile data, it seems to be decent.

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

Click to Enlarge

View Full Size

At 2560x1440 scaling on the GTX TITAN jumps to 70% in SLI configuration and the GTX 680s scale 90%.  There is a more noticeable increase in frametime variance though with the TITAN cards - check out the blue line in the appropriate graph above.  Also, you can see the 99th percentile time of 10.6ms is a 20% hike over the 95th percentile...

February 25, 2013 | 07:21 AM - Posted by Elvis (not verified)

Great Article. Nice to see original thought and work in a tech Blog (instead of more useless fps number) .
The Titan has impressive performance, too bad the price is outta my reach :'(
BTW Anyone else notice that 7970GE is starting to kick 680 butt. AMD driver team is on a roll! However CF looks bad and they need to correct it, seeing as they have no single chip competitor to Titan.
@Ryan : To make things interesting, why not benchmark some games which are not as "popular", i.e driver optimized.
Also, in my (humble?) opinion your articles would be more professional(better) if you avoided superlatives and words like beast (so clichéd). They make refutation of bias harder.
Once again, great work.

February 25, 2013 | 07:24 AM - Posted by Elvis (not verified)

@Ryan could you please block the ip of the rabid fan-atic. Really spoils the whole comments section...
@Anonymous : obvious troll. Not gonna bother replying. Sod off!

February 25, 2013 | 07:44 AM - Posted by Trey Long (not verified)

This business of runt frames significantly padding Crossfire's fps numbers is a huge story in the GPU world. There needs to be a major effort to expose the truth of this, whatever it is.

February 25, 2013 | 02:56 PM - Posted by Epoq (not verified)

I agree wholeheartedly. If this is true in it's entirety it would destroy AMD's credibility in the multi-GPU realm. Before this, most people were in agreeance that for high res and multi-display configurations, AMD is the way to go. This would change everything.

March 2, 2013 | 03:19 AM - Posted by Max Klar (not verified)

I doubt that the new 3dMark is reliable. Maybe it's just created to boost Titan.
I did the benchies with GTX680SLI/i7-3930K/X79. In 3dMark11 I get about nearly P16000 @stock and +P18000 occed.
But in Firestrike:
GTX680 single: 6300
GTX680SLI: 4200 (!)

And it's not only my system, you can find these biased or faulty results easily.

So the 3dMark benchmark is a joke at the actual state and should not be used in a professional environment.

March 2, 2013 | 10:06 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Little bumed with your test???? this is a 2d surround card I am running 3 evga 680`s sc at 6000×1200 please let's see the real meat and potatoes people buying this card ( me) want to see ....well let's say three 680`s at 6000×1200 and two titans sli at same res that I think is all that really matters here rite? the 680 only having 2gb men must fail hard against two Titans with its 6gb the titan card is very specifically a hi-res surround gaming card I know you need to test everything but I think you should have started the other way around IMO..

March 3, 2013 | 12:02 PM - Posted by KansasCityTom (not verified)

I just spent a little over $1100 on 3 x 7970's and against my friends new Titan, I basically walk over him in all benchmarks.

March 4, 2013 | 04:55 PM - Posted by Trey Long (not verified)

Except that Crossfire is a sham. You get no better performance than one card. Read the article before spouting. And Tech Report and Hardocp. Runt frames a real disaster for Crossfire as they can be seen, measured, and exposed, unlike the fraps number which includes totally degraded frames in their fps number you rely on. Latencies have long been an issue with AMD cards and this clarifies in Crossfire.

April 2, 2013 | 10:49 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Great work Ryan keep up the great work...by the way how do we support your site make donations !!!!! p.s I'm loving my tri sli titans this is the card I have been waiting for my hole life... been builbing systems starting back in the voodoo days finally 6000×1200 plays like butter nvidia is really something eh!!

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.