Review Index:
Feedback

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780M Mobility Performance Testing

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: NVIDIA

Skyrim

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (DirectX 9)


 

The Empire of Tamriel is on the edge. The High King of Skyrim has been murdered.

Alliances form as claims to the throne are made. In the midst of this conflict, a far more dangerous, ancient evil is awakened. Dragons, long lost to the passages of the Elder Scrolls, have returned to Tamriel.

The future of Skyrim, even the Empire itself, hangs in the balance as they wait for the prophesized Dragonborn to come; a hero born with the power of The Voice, and the only one who can stand amongst the dragons.

Our settings for Skyrim

Here is a video our testing run through, for your reference

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

The first thing I noticed when testing with Skyrim was the slight stutter felt with gaming on the HD 7970M – the result of which is the frame times graph.  You can clearly see that the orange line representing the AMD GPU has consistent fluctuations of about 4-5 ms from frame to frame while NVIDIA’s GTX 780M stays within a 1-2 ms window.  That different results in a smoother animation with the GTX 780M in addition to having an average frame rate of 90 FPS; 28% faster than the HD 7970M.

June 14, 2013 | 12:57 PM - Posted by Terminashunator (not verified)

-dusts hands-
Alright, gentleman, it's been done. Desktop GPU in a notebook. Good game everyone, good game.
Nothing more can be done; laptop gaming has reached the point where it has the same performance as a desktop. (No, not the same performance, but daaamn it's getting there.)

July 17, 2013 | 03:01 AM - Posted by what? (not verified)

Are you out of your mind lol?
you cant begin to compare the two.

Yeh maybe a recent mobility graphcics card is at the same performance as one say, 2 - 3 years ago of a pc card

July 22, 2013 | 04:17 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

You do realise that the 780m is a desktop 680 to be able to fit that in a laptop nowadays is incredible

June 14, 2013 | 01:14 PM - Posted by KittenMasher (not verified)

E3 AND a gpu review, clearly there is nothing Ryan cannot do.

I would like to see the other mGPU's also put to the test, but I guess that'll probably happen by proxy with upcoming notebook reviews.

Also, the link under Metro is for Dirt3.

June 14, 2013 | 03:51 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Thanks for the note on the Metro page; updated!

June 15, 2013 | 03:08 AM - Posted by Trey Long (not verified)

This has become my favorite GPU review site due to the great accuracy and detail of latencies and actual frames displayed.
PC PERSPECTIVE has really raised the bar on GPU gaming testing. Lets hope the tech world takes notice.

June 16, 2013 | 12:52 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Thank you!!

March 12, 2014 | 06:00 AM - Posted by Theodore (not verified)

Mi desarrollador está tratando de persuadir
convencer que me mude a la red a partir de PHP.
. Siempre me ha disgustado la idea debido a los gastos

My page :: memorias usb de figuras en queretaro

June 15, 2013 | 04:07 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I'm concerned for AMD. I hope they get well soon.
Oh, and nice review.

June 15, 2013 | 04:21 PM - Posted by Poci

Radeon 8xxx series soon no? Only time will tell. ;)

June 16, 2013 | 02:50 PM - Posted by lance striker (not verified)

hmm interesting for a almost 2K dollars sounds good for me but how about the temp. of this ?

June 18, 2013 | 01:36 PM - Posted by adjas (not verified)

I've got to add, love your reviews, the frame latency adds so much depth to your reviews. Average FPS only reviews hold no muster to your own reviews.

Keep the great reviews rolling.

August 17, 2013 | 10:01 PM - Posted by MMKTTBOMB (not verified)

And yet when i play skyrim and look down from dragonreach in wightrun i dip down to 15 fps on my reference gtx 780...i have no idea

October 8, 2013 | 09:20 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Can you guys include or add in a release date for it, because I've been trying to find it all over the "interwebs" and I just can't seem to find it anywhere at all.

December 3, 2013 | 11:37 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I am running a 780m in a msi Gt70. Metro last light drops to around 28fps with MSAA 4x on. Need to drop to 2x for smoother ride. Metro 2033 runs worse than last light so clearly improved coding.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.