Review Index:
Feedback

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780M Mobility Performance Testing

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: NVIDIA

3DMark (2013)

View Full Size

View Full Size

I thought it might also be interesting to run the new 3DMark on these GPUs and the results show a similar story to the gaming tests on the previous page.  At the standard preset we found that the GTX 780M was 16% faster than the HD 7970M and at the Extreme preset that moved up to 18%. 

If you want to know how close the CPU performed in these tests – the Alienware with the Ivy Bridge processor resulted in a score of 8994 while the MSI GT60 with Haswell scored 8936.

June 14, 2013 | 12:57 PM - Posted by Terminashunator (not verified)

-dusts hands-
Alright, gentleman, it's been done. Desktop GPU in a notebook. Good game everyone, good game.
Nothing more can be done; laptop gaming has reached the point where it has the same performance as a desktop. (No, not the same performance, but daaamn it's getting there.)

July 17, 2013 | 03:01 AM - Posted by what? (not verified)

Are you out of your mind lol?
you cant begin to compare the two.

Yeh maybe a recent mobility graphcics card is at the same performance as one say, 2 - 3 years ago of a pc card

July 22, 2013 | 04:17 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

You do realise that the 780m is a desktop 680 to be able to fit that in a laptop nowadays is incredible

June 14, 2013 | 01:14 PM - Posted by KittenMasher (not verified)

E3 AND a gpu review, clearly there is nothing Ryan cannot do.

I would like to see the other mGPU's also put to the test, but I guess that'll probably happen by proxy with upcoming notebook reviews.

Also, the link under Metro is for Dirt3.

June 14, 2013 | 03:51 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Thanks for the note on the Metro page; updated!

June 15, 2013 | 03:08 AM - Posted by Trey Long (not verified)

This has become my favorite GPU review site due to the great accuracy and detail of latencies and actual frames displayed.
PC PERSPECTIVE has really raised the bar on GPU gaming testing. Lets hope the tech world takes notice.

June 16, 2013 | 12:52 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Thank you!!

March 12, 2014 | 06:00 AM - Posted by Theodore (not verified)

Mi desarrollador está tratando de persuadir
convencer que me mude a la red a partir de PHP.
. Siempre me ha disgustado la idea debido a los gastos

My page :: memorias usb de figuras en queretaro

June 15, 2013 | 04:07 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I'm concerned for AMD. I hope they get well soon.
Oh, and nice review.

June 15, 2013 | 04:21 PM - Posted by Poci

Radeon 8xxx series soon no? Only time will tell. ;)

June 16, 2013 | 02:50 PM - Posted by lance striker (not verified)

hmm interesting for a almost 2K dollars sounds good for me but how about the temp. of this ?

June 18, 2013 | 01:36 PM - Posted by adjas (not verified)

I've got to add, love your reviews, the frame latency adds so much depth to your reviews. Average FPS only reviews hold no muster to your own reviews.

Keep the great reviews rolling.

June 19, 2013 | 07:54 AM - Posted by Antoine (not verified)

That's good performance but how does it compare with that latest smartphone ? When looking at mobility and mobile data capture solution , then it all happens on smartphone only.

Antoine
https://www.data-field.com

August 17, 2013 | 10:01 PM - Posted by MMKTTBOMB (not verified)

And yet when i play skyrim and look down from dragonreach in wightrun i dip down to 15 fps on my reference gtx 780...i have no idea

October 8, 2013 | 09:20 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Can you guys include or add in a release date for it, because I've been trying to find it all over the "interwebs" and I just can't seem to find it anywhere at all.

December 3, 2013 | 11:37 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I am running a 780m in a msi Gt70. Metro last light drops to around 28fps with MSAA 4x on. Need to drop to 2x for smoother ride. Metro 2033 runs worse than last light so clearly improved coding.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.