Review Index:
Feedback

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Review - GK104 at $250

Author:
Manufacturer: NVIDIA

Getting even more life from GK104

Have you guys heard about this new GPU from NVIDIA?  It’s called GK104 and it turns out that the damn thing is found yet another graphics card this year – the new GeForce GTX 760.  Yup, you read that right, what NVIDIA is saying is the last update to the GeForce lineup through Fall 2013 is going to be based on the same GK104 design that we have previously discussed in reviews of the GTX 680, GTX 670, GTX 660 Ti, GTX 690 and more recently, the GTX 770. This isn’t a bad thing though!  GK104 has done a fantastic job in every field and market segment that NVIDIA has tossed it into with solid performance and even better performance per watt than the competition.  It does mean however that talking up the architecture is kind of mind numbing at this point…

View Full Size

If you are curious about the Kepler graphics architecture and the GK104 in particular, I’m not going to stop you from going back and reading over my initial review of the GTX 680 from January of 2012.  The new GTX 760 takes the same GPU, adds a new and improved version of GPU Boost (the same we saw in the GTX 770) and lowers down the specifications a bit to enable NVIDIA to hit a new price point.  The GTX 760 will be replacing the GTX 660 Ti – that card will be falling into the ether but the GTX 660 will remain, as will everything below it including the GTX 650 Ti Boost, 650 Ti and plain old 650.  The GTX 670 went the way of the dodo with the release of the GTX 770.

View Full Size

Even though the GTX 690 isn't on this list, NVIDIA says it isn't EOL

As for the GeForce GTX 760 it will ship with 1152 CUDA cores running at a base clock of 980 MHz and a typical boost clock of 1033 MHz.  The memory speed remains at 6.0 GHz on a 256-bit memory bus and you can expect to find both 2GB and 4GB frame buffer options from retail partners upon launch.  The 1152 CUDA cores are broken up over 6 SMX units and that means you’ll see some parts with 3 GPCs and others with 4 – NVIDIA claims any performance delta between them will be negligible. 

Continue reading our review of the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Graphics Card!!

View Full Size

The GTX 760 will including 96 texture units, down from 128 on the GTX 680/GTX 770, but will keep the same 32 ROP count of the higher priced cards thanks to the same memory bus interface.  Memory bandwidth drops from 224 GB/s to 192 GB/s with the frequency decrease (7.0 GHz vs. 6.0 GHz) but otherwise the GTX 760 is a very familiar product.  We are still looking at a 28nm, 3.54 billion transistor GPU that powers the likes of the GTX 680, GTX 670 and GTX 770. 

Keeping in mind that the GTX 670 shipped with 1344 CUDA cores (as did the GTX 660 Ti), the gap between the GTX 770 and the GTX 760 should be larger than the one that existed between the GTX 680 and the GTX 670.

View Full Size

NVIDIA also continues to do work on its adaptive temperature controller that enables fans to adjust to temperature changes in a more gradual way to avoid the added noise disruption caused by constantly change fan speeds. 

View Full Size

Just as was impressed on me during our meetings at E3, NVIDIA is definitely pushing the fact that they continue to work with developers despite the wins AMD has gotten in the console markets with the Xbox One and Playstation 4.  Games like Watch_Dogs and Batman: Arkham Origins look damn impressive and both will be using tessellation (which NVIDIA excels at compared to AMD’s current architecture) and NVIDIA’s custom AA option called TXAA.  The Witcher 3 actually implements PhysX support as well. 

What really makes the GeForce GTX 760 a stand out card before even looking at the benchmarks is the price: MSRP of $249.  This is a full $150 less than the GTX 770 and is only $50 more than the current prices on the GTX 660 cards I found on Newegg.  For AMD, this puts the new GTX 760 between Radeon HD 7950 Boost ($299) and the Radeon HD 7870 2GB ($220).  Also note that the remaining GTX 670 cards appear to be selling for something in the neighborhood of $349!

View Full Size

We’ll be the judge of that…

This obviously puts the GTX 760 in a very strong position and you’ll see why once our single and multi-card benchmarks are evaluated as well.  We always knew that even though I loved cards like the GTX Titan and the GTX 780, most buyers fall into the $200 price range for new GPUs and the GTX 760 might just be interesting enough to stretch that up to $250.

June 25, 2013 | 09:58 AM - Posted by Poci

Impressive, are the gpu core voltage hardlocked on these cards as well like 6 series was?

Also what about amd 8xxx series, any news? When will they be released?

June 25, 2013 | 10:22 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Lol 1920x1200 in settings but 1920x1080? good price per frame looks like a nice buy for gaming pc'ers on a fair budget-beats 7950 mostly

June 25, 2013 | 10:39 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Yeah, we used 1920x1080 resolution as the graphs indicate.  The screenshots are meant to show the SETTINGS, not really the resolution. 

Because we also test 2560x1440 as well.  :)

March 21, 2014 | 12:44 AM - Posted by Chris, The Reckoner (not verified)

I was wondering what FPS were you getting on the games tested, also, what are the benefits of getting a 4GB version over a 2GB version. EVGA (Just for ease of knowing which card I'm getting) :) Thanks!

June 25, 2013 | 11:16 AM - Posted by Tri Wahyudianto (not verified)

where's review with two new games from review GTX 780M ryan ? that bioshock infinite and that metro last light

can i input more feedback ? Pcper need new website's layout
and new game for the review, more coverage i think, not just FPS, strategy must to, driving, soccer/sport, RPG, sandbox, and other

June 25, 2013 | 11:38 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Thanks for reading man!  I wanted to include new games here but just ran out of time.  Honestly, the Frame Rating process is much more time consuming than most other websites reviews so I am somewhat limited on what we can do.

June 25, 2013 | 12:01 PM - Posted by BossTekBrandon (not verified)

Here's to hoping that cloning is possible and legal soon. Even with supreme multi-tasking skills that would envy a kardashian, these days are just too damn short to do half the stuff needed. I have double our staff, hired a dozen interns, automated almost everything possible, and here I am spending half my morning just checking WHICH emails I can reply to LATER. So I hear that brother.

Also, I disagree with the above. I think you just need to focus on your main new project. Oh that reminds me, need to give you guys some money, please look out for an email from us. We have been meaning to support your new studio project and everything just waiting for BossTek financials to come back.

The first thing we suggest when we get asked for tech advice is, "head over to PCPER, your answers are probably in there."

Best,

June 25, 2013 | 11:53 AM - Posted by TwinShadow (not verified)

Great Article but where is the Overclock review

June 25, 2013 | 12:07 PM - Posted by BossTekBrandon (not verified)

In stead of asking where is this, or where is that? May I suggest you do some testing on your own? Just saying. Not trying to be a jackass here. Can't afford to do that? Get a better job perhaps? Again, NOT trying to be a jackass. The card JUST came out. I was at EVGA yesterday in Brea, and even I have to wait until today to do overclocking, so if you do not want to wait a few hours for the overclocking review, you could perhaps just order the card, and test it yourself. Then you do not have to wait.

(We have a new testing partner program, email me Michael@Boss-Tek.com if you are interested in being a tester for us/EVGA).

Best,

Brandon
CEO & Stuff

June 25, 2013 | 01:14 PM - Posted by TwinShadow (not verified)

or they can just do an Overclock review

June 25, 2013 | 07:22 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I'll try to add some OC testing when I get back from my visit with ARM this week.

Thanks for reading!

June 28, 2013 | 07:32 PM - Posted by TwinShadow (not verified)

Nice Checking out ARM and AMD new server CPUS

February 11, 2014 | 11:17 PM - Posted by Lachlan (not verified)

I do not write a ton of comments, however after looking at
a bunch of responses on this page Reply to comment | PC Perspective.

I do have a couple of questions for you if it's okay.
Is it just me or do some of these responses come across like they are
written by brain dead individuals? :-P And, if you are posting on other social sites, I would
like to keep up with you. Could you post a list of every one of all your social community pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

My blog ... livejasmin

June 25, 2013 | 12:05 PM - Posted by orvtrebor

at 249.00 that's damn solid

June 25, 2013 | 12:08 PM - Posted by BossTekBrandon (not verified)

What if I told you we sold them for even lower price than that?

#Support #Enthusiasts

June 25, 2013 | 12:19 PM - Posted by KillerTom (not verified)

Would have loved to see 5760x1080 cuz thinking of 2 of these for that or 2 770's. And this would be 300 bucks cheaper.

June 25, 2013 | 07:23 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Sorry about that just didn't have the time honestly.  You can see the results from our GTX 660 Ti testing for a very close estimate: http://www.pcper.com/reviews/Graphics-Cards/Frame-Rating-GeForce-GTX-660-Ti-and-Radeon-HD-7950

June 26, 2013 | 04:30 AM - Posted by KillerTom (not verified)

ok will check out thnx

June 25, 2013 | 02:40 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Wow...great bang for buck !
NVIDIA here I come !

June 25, 2013 | 03:07 PM - Posted by MarkT (not verified)

760 looks stellar when looking up from the bottom BUT I have a few glaring things when crunching the numbers..

A. Can't help but feel they are trying to shift this market higher with this SKU just based off the fact that its "called" a 760 and its not $200

B. "NVIDIA seems to have avoided the issue of the GTX 680/GTX 670 where price differences did not match up with the performance differences" ....the question is tho did they have a choice on the 660 in regards to your statement, I don't think so because they knew they couldn't have a 660 be too good else they woulda called it the 660 ti.

maybe im just jaded and getting old....

June 27, 2013 | 05:48 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Get used to it food has doubled here since our Okong took to trashing the little people's world economy...

So be thankful it's not the new doubled to $400 USD category.

I think the only thing saving us from that is the general reduction in computer component prices over time.

In systems we've had a steady large increase in perf with steady drops in prices - that area is going to rise soon too I'd bet.

Now foreign junk in the stores is getting pricy.

So without the general more for less in the technology curve we'd really be paying more on these vidcards - expecting the next gen for the same price is going bye bye - slower than nearly everything else.

June 25, 2013 | 06:33 PM - Posted by AdamHD (not verified)

The GTX 760 really seems to hit the sweet spot of performance and price. Anyone have any input on how much of an upgrade this will be coming from a GTX 480? I only game 1920x1080, and the GTX 480 (with a mild overclock) still plays the majority of my games maxed out at a solid 60fps...

Main reason I am interested in a GTX 760 is, I think I may pick up an Nvidia Shield. My GTX 480 does not support the PC streaming feature on the Shield.

June 25, 2013 | 07:24 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I honestly don't think your performance will be all that big since you had the top tier 400-series part.

June 26, 2013 | 12:28 AM - Posted by AdamHD (not verified)

Thanks for the reply, Ryan. I'm assuming that the power consumption and noise levels are going to be a major upgrade from my GTX 480 (even if the performance gain is minimal)... I'll probably be pocking up one no matter what, because of my interest in the Shield. Seems like the most cost effecive way to get me into that. One more question, do you think a 650w (80+ gold cert) power supply would be enough to push two GTX 760's SLI?

June 26, 2013 | 02:10 PM - Posted by Tim Verry

Yes, performance wise the 760 will not be a huge leap over the 480 part, however it will use a lot less power and be quieter while still giving you good 1080p gaming performance :). 

You might want to double check, but I believe a good quality 650W PSU should be able to drive two 760s in SLI.

June 25, 2013 | 08:31 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Ryan...my AMD 4850 plays my 1080p games fairly well. Would this card do me any good or should I shoot for the 670-680 range ?
I want to keep my 500 watt power supply and not interested in running dual cards.

June 26, 2013 | 02:16 PM - Posted by Tim Verry

I would say that you are due for an upgrade, if only to take advantage of new technology and better power efficiency/thermals/noise. a 760, 660Ti, or AMD 7950 should be enough horsepower to drive 1080p gaming. I'm not sure where the 4850 stands with the newer gen cards off hand, however. 

June 28, 2013 | 06:56 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Sorry...meant to say I have a AMD 5850 !

June 25, 2013 | 11:09 PM - Posted by Andy. S (not verified)

So now, is it worth to grab a cheap 660ti for SLI or get this new 760?

June 26, 2013 | 07:48 PM - Posted by Dream76 (not verified)

Just bought one from Newegg, thanks for the review Ryan!

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.