Review Index:
Feedback

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Review - GK104 at $250

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: NVIDIA

EVGA GTX 760 SC Performance, Sound, Temperature

Though you would expect the performance of the EVGA GeForce GTX 760 SC to be very close to that of the reference design, I wanted to show you a couple of quick graphs of tests I had a chance to run.

View Full Size

At 2560x1440, the EVGA card is just barely faster than the reference GTX 760 card but not enough to really notice.

View Full Size

But the Sleeping Dogs results are much more impressive!  Thanks to a little power target increase as well we see as much as 15% better performance in our high-resolution Sleeping Dogs results.

View Full Size

In our Fire Strike Extreme preset we find that with the overclocked settings the EVGA GTX 760 is actually reporting a score higher than the Radeon HD 7950 Boost. 

View Full Size

Here is one area I was let down with the new cooler option from EVGA – it was not any less noisy in my testing when compared directly to the reference cards we got from NVIDIA.

View Full Size

But if the cooler wasn’t quieter, it was…cooler.  The NVIDIA reference cooler hit the maximum temperature of 82C while running Unigine Heaven which is where GPU Boost 2.0 more or less maxes out.  The EVGA card however was able to maintain a 12C degree advantages while running at essentially the same sound levels (above).

June 26, 2013 | 10:11 PM - Posted by pdjblum

Ryan,

If you found a chance to read the latest podcast comments you will know how much respect I have for you. That being said, I am not loving this abstruse testing data, though it might be that my mind is too obtuse to deal with it. It seems that outside of amd crossfire, and sometimes nvidia sli, testing results for the observed fps verse fraps track very well. I feel as if all these graphs are overkill and beating a dead dog. You have already made a monumental impact in the industry by getting amd to own up to the issue and address it. But I feel it makes for a not very readable review; and less so instructive outside of your conclusions. It would also have been nice if you could have compared in a simple table--cores, memory, memory width, for instance--between the different nvidia cards.

I am apparently the odd one out here, but consider what I am saying. Remember, I think what have done with frame rating is tremendous.

June 27, 2013 | 10:20 AM - Posted by Trey Long (not verified)

Love the frame rate and runt frame testing. Its long overdue,as for years consumers relied on fps numbers for some solutions that clearly did not reflect actual gaming performance. Great job!!!

June 28, 2013 | 09:07 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have total respect for PCPER for explaining framerating and outing AMD for their poor performance in this area.
Such an eye-opener !

June 28, 2013 | 04:00 AM - Posted by SethAdams (not verified)

Also want to say so many of us out here can't thank you enough for all the extra testing you do. Please keep up the frame rate testing, thank you so much!

June 28, 2013 | 06:30 PM - Posted by deowll (not verified)

So would this card be a really good choice for a Dell 30 inch monitor?

June 28, 2013 | 06:58 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

PCPER rocks !

June 30, 2013 | 09:17 AM - Posted by Antillus (not verified)

How well do these cards overclock? I am contemplating a desktop build and would like to decide whether I ought to go Red or Green.

June 30, 2013 | 11:29 PM - Posted by wizpig64 (not verified)

Great review, I think I'll pick up two of these rather than a 780 for my 3 monitors.

Regarding the noise levels for the EVGA cooler, could you guys get a hold on one of the gigabyte windforce cards? (preferably this one: http://pcpartpicker.com/part/gigabyte-video-card-gvn760oc2gdrev20)

Like the EVGA ACX cooler, it looks like gigabyte is also using a cheaper lookalike on the 760 compared to the higher end 700 series cards, and I'd love to know how they cool and sound.

Thanks!

July 1, 2013 | 06:24 PM - Posted by Michael Seo (not verified)

Hi Ryan,

You mentioned that the ACX cooler isn't much quieter at all than the reference cooler. However don't the reference coolers have a different sound character? I've heard that the fan motors tend to produce a very faint grinding sound, whereas I'm assuming these open fans only sound like air blowing through heat fins. What was your impression of the sounds?

Thanks for any replies.

December 21, 2013 | 03:22 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Why do I have the feeling that this bosstek guy is just a mouthy kid living in a make believe land, And he acts like he has these connections and a made up business. I swear my gut tells me this guy lives with his mom, And his mom buys him cool computer parts when he whines and begs or throws a fit to get them. Then with all his parts he then creates a website, And then he poses like he is a big business man and makes empty promises he never keeps. But in his mind he kept the promises. My gut also tells me when he gets a product from Nvidia or Corsair in his mind he thinks he is a partner. I knew a guy like this back in high school. I have seen this behavior before. And all the tell tell signs are very present.

December 21, 2013 | 11:29 AM - Posted by LarryLaugher (not verified)

Ok I found a video with the Bosstek guy. I think this is his commercial he did to commemorate his partnership with a big corporation.

http://www.crazyshit.com/cnt/medias/7121-a-very-sick-little-man

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.