Review Index:
Feedback

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Review - GK104 at $250

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: NVIDIA

Closing Thoughts

According to both sides of the battle, this will likely be the last graphics card release we see for the enthusiast community for quite a while, so where does that leave the GPU landscape?

 

Performance

NVIDA definitely feels that they are being aggressive with the GeForce GTX 760 and its price point, going right after AMD and its claims of value via game bundle.  In my testing, the GTX 760 at reference speeds is just a bit faster than the Radeon HD 7950 3GB with Boost, so it is obviously even faster than the HD 7950 without the Boost technology.  Most of the time those performance gaps are very small and in a couple of instances the HD 7950 Boost was faster (DiRT 3 and Sleeping Dogs @ 2560x1440).  For single GPU performance, I think it would be fair to call the battle between the combatants a virtual tie.

What is not a tie though is the multi-card scenario as NVIDIA’s SLI technology continues to dominate over the CrossFire implementation we saw in our 13.6 public beta drivers.  With frame pacing as the key issue for user experience in multi-GPU scenarios, NVIDIA has the leg up still and will likely have it for at least another month.  AMD has publicly posted that it plans to release a frame pacing improvement driver to the public on July 31st and I am eagerly awaiting our opportunity to test it and put it through our Frame Rating process.  Trust me guys, no one wants to see AMD address these multi-GPU performance issues more than we do and if AMD can improve on the results we saw with the prototype driver released with the HD 7990, they should be in good shape.

View Full Size

When we pit the new GTX 760 against the GTX 770 the performance difference is quite noticeable.  In some cases we saw gaps as small as 18% (Skyrim) and as large as 35% (Sleeping Dogs) so NVIDIA seems to have avoided the issue of the GTX 680/GTX 670 where price differences did not match up with the performance differences.  The GTX 760 is definitely a step down from the GTX 770 when it comes to the gaming experience it provides but it also has a sizeable price advantage as well.

 

Pricing and Availability

Available today starting at $249, the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 card is going to shake things up a bit.  If you agree with our performance estimates of near-parity between it and the Radeon HD 7950 Boost card, then AMD is in a $50 hole as the HD 7950 Boost currently sells for $299.  With the Radeon HD 7870 GHz Edition going for $220 as well, the $30 price increase to jump up to the performance level of the GTX 760 is an easy decision.

AMD definitely still has a feather in its cap with the game bundles; the Radeon HD 7950 Boost will come with Crysis 3, Bioshock Infinite, Tomb Raider and Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon.  The question is whether or not you as a buyer see the same value in those games that AMD does.  Do you already own them?  Are you uninterested in them?  If so then the bundle doesn’t mean much for you unless you like gifting games! 

 

Final Thoughts

As a reviewer, after doing testing with the GeForce GTX 760 but not yet knowing the price point (why the GPU vendors do this to us beyond me…) I was guessing that NVIDIA would take the standard route and set the MSRP at $299.  Just 3 days before the NDA though they told me it would actually sell at $249 and I have to admit as a consumer that I was really excited.  Not only does the GeForce GTX 760 offer some awesome performance for gamers running single display configurations but NVIDIA was willing to potentially start a pricing battle with it, a solid $50 under the Radeon HD 7950 Boost. 

View Full Size

Will AMD drop prices on its cards?  Usually by now I would have known if they were going to, so my first guess is that they will not.  As a company they have invested a lot of money in the game bundle packages and they need to impart the value that the Never Settle campaign offers gamers.  As a gamer though, it’s great to have options like we have today and the GeForce GTX 760 might just be the best release of the generation.

View Full Size

EVGA GeForce GTX 760 SC 2GB

June 25, 2013 | 09:58 AM - Posted by Poci

Impressive, are the gpu core voltage hardlocked on these cards as well like 6 series was?

Also what about amd 8xxx series, any news? When will they be released?

June 25, 2013 | 10:22 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Lol 1920x1200 in settings but 1920x1080? good price per frame looks like a nice buy for gaming pc'ers on a fair budget-beats 7950 mostly

June 25, 2013 | 10:39 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Yeah, we used 1920x1080 resolution as the graphs indicate.  The screenshots are meant to show the SETTINGS, not really the resolution. 

Because we also test 2560x1440 as well.  :)

March 21, 2014 | 12:44 AM - Posted by Chris, The Reckoner (not verified)

I was wondering what FPS were you getting on the games tested, also, what are the benefits of getting a 4GB version over a 2GB version. EVGA (Just for ease of knowing which card I'm getting) :) Thanks!

June 25, 2013 | 11:16 AM - Posted by Tri Wahyudianto (not verified)

where's review with two new games from review GTX 780M ryan ? that bioshock infinite and that metro last light

can i input more feedback ? Pcper need new website's layout
and new game for the review, more coverage i think, not just FPS, strategy must to, driving, soccer/sport, RPG, sandbox, and other

June 25, 2013 | 11:38 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Thanks for reading man!  I wanted to include new games here but just ran out of time.  Honestly, the Frame Rating process is much more time consuming than most other websites reviews so I am somewhat limited on what we can do.

June 25, 2013 | 12:01 PM - Posted by BossTekBrandon (not verified)

Here's to hoping that cloning is possible and legal soon. Even with supreme multi-tasking skills that would envy a kardashian, these days are just too damn short to do half the stuff needed. I have double our staff, hired a dozen interns, automated almost everything possible, and here I am spending half my morning just checking WHICH emails I can reply to LATER. So I hear that brother.

Also, I disagree with the above. I think you just need to focus on your main new project. Oh that reminds me, need to give you guys some money, please look out for an email from us. We have been meaning to support your new studio project and everything just waiting for BossTek financials to come back.

The first thing we suggest when we get asked for tech advice is, "head over to PCPER, your answers are probably in there."

Best,

June 25, 2013 | 11:53 AM - Posted by TwinShadow (not verified)

Great Article but where is the Overclock review

June 25, 2013 | 12:07 PM - Posted by BossTekBrandon (not verified)

In stead of asking where is this, or where is that? May I suggest you do some testing on your own? Just saying. Not trying to be a jackass here. Can't afford to do that? Get a better job perhaps? Again, NOT trying to be a jackass. The card JUST came out. I was at EVGA yesterday in Brea, and even I have to wait until today to do overclocking, so if you do not want to wait a few hours for the overclocking review, you could perhaps just order the card, and test it yourself. Then you do not have to wait.

(We have a new testing partner program, email me Michael@Boss-Tek.com if you are interested in being a tester for us/EVGA).

Best,

Brandon
CEO & Stuff

June 25, 2013 | 01:14 PM - Posted by TwinShadow (not verified)

or they can just do an Overclock review

June 25, 2013 | 07:22 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I'll try to add some OC testing when I get back from my visit with ARM this week.

Thanks for reading!

June 28, 2013 | 07:32 PM - Posted by TwinShadow (not verified)

Nice Checking out ARM and AMD new server CPUS

February 11, 2014 | 11:17 PM - Posted by Lachlan (not verified)

I do not write a ton of comments, however after looking at
a bunch of responses on this page Reply to comment | PC Perspective.

I do have a couple of questions for you if it's okay.
Is it just me or do some of these responses come across like they are
written by brain dead individuals? :-P And, if you are posting on other social sites, I would
like to keep up with you. Could you post a list of every one of all your social community pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

My blog ... livejasmin

June 25, 2013 | 12:05 PM - Posted by orvtrebor

at 249.00 that's damn solid

June 25, 2013 | 12:08 PM - Posted by BossTekBrandon (not verified)

What if I told you we sold them for even lower price than that?

#Support #Enthusiasts

June 25, 2013 | 12:19 PM - Posted by KillerTom (not verified)

Would have loved to see 5760x1080 cuz thinking of 2 of these for that or 2 770's. And this would be 300 bucks cheaper.

June 25, 2013 | 07:23 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Sorry about that just didn't have the time honestly.  You can see the results from our GTX 660 Ti testing for a very close estimate: http://www.pcper.com/reviews/Graphics-Cards/Frame-Rating-GeForce-GTX-660-Ti-and-Radeon-HD-7950

June 26, 2013 | 04:30 AM - Posted by KillerTom (not verified)

ok will check out thnx

June 25, 2013 | 02:40 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Wow...great bang for buck !
NVIDIA here I come !

June 25, 2013 | 03:07 PM - Posted by MarkT (not verified)

760 looks stellar when looking up from the bottom BUT I have a few glaring things when crunching the numbers..

A. Can't help but feel they are trying to shift this market higher with this SKU just based off the fact that its "called" a 760 and its not $200

B. "NVIDIA seems to have avoided the issue of the GTX 680/GTX 670 where price differences did not match up with the performance differences" ....the question is tho did they have a choice on the 660 in regards to your statement, I don't think so because they knew they couldn't have a 660 be too good else they woulda called it the 660 ti.

maybe im just jaded and getting old....

June 27, 2013 | 05:48 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Get used to it food has doubled here since our Okong took to trashing the little people's world economy...

So be thankful it's not the new doubled to $400 USD category.

I think the only thing saving us from that is the general reduction in computer component prices over time.

In systems we've had a steady large increase in perf with steady drops in prices - that area is going to rise soon too I'd bet.

Now foreign junk in the stores is getting pricy.

So without the general more for less in the technology curve we'd really be paying more on these vidcards - expecting the next gen for the same price is going bye bye - slower than nearly everything else.

June 25, 2013 | 06:33 PM - Posted by AdamHD (not verified)

The GTX 760 really seems to hit the sweet spot of performance and price. Anyone have any input on how much of an upgrade this will be coming from a GTX 480? I only game 1920x1080, and the GTX 480 (with a mild overclock) still plays the majority of my games maxed out at a solid 60fps...

Main reason I am interested in a GTX 760 is, I think I may pick up an Nvidia Shield. My GTX 480 does not support the PC streaming feature on the Shield.

June 25, 2013 | 07:24 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I honestly don't think your performance will be all that big since you had the top tier 400-series part.

June 26, 2013 | 12:28 AM - Posted by AdamHD (not verified)

Thanks for the reply, Ryan. I'm assuming that the power consumption and noise levels are going to be a major upgrade from my GTX 480 (even if the performance gain is minimal)... I'll probably be pocking up one no matter what, because of my interest in the Shield. Seems like the most cost effecive way to get me into that. One more question, do you think a 650w (80+ gold cert) power supply would be enough to push two GTX 760's SLI?

June 26, 2013 | 02:10 PM - Posted by Tim Verry

Yes, performance wise the 760 will not be a huge leap over the 480 part, however it will use a lot less power and be quieter while still giving you good 1080p gaming performance :). 

You might want to double check, but I believe a good quality 650W PSU should be able to drive two 760s in SLI.

June 25, 2013 | 08:31 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Ryan...my AMD 4850 plays my 1080p games fairly well. Would this card do me any good or should I shoot for the 670-680 range ?
I want to keep my 500 watt power supply and not interested in running dual cards.

June 26, 2013 | 02:16 PM - Posted by Tim Verry

I would say that you are due for an upgrade, if only to take advantage of new technology and better power efficiency/thermals/noise. a 760, 660Ti, or AMD 7950 should be enough horsepower to drive 1080p gaming. I'm not sure where the 4850 stands with the newer gen cards off hand, however. 

June 28, 2013 | 06:56 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Sorry...meant to say I have a AMD 5850 !

June 25, 2013 | 11:09 PM - Posted by Andy. S (not verified)

So now, is it worth to grab a cheap 660ti for SLI or get this new 760?

June 26, 2013 | 07:48 PM - Posted by Dream76 (not verified)

Just bought one from Newegg, thanks for the review Ryan!

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.