Review Index:
Feedback

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 2GB Review - GK104 at $250

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: NVIDIA

3DMark, 3DMark11, Unigine Heaven

Now that we have taken a look at our gaming tests using our Frame Rating metrics and testing methods, we are including a set of tests from more standard benchmarks like 3DMark 11, Unigine Heaven and the newer 3DMark benchmark. 

I consider these tests to be somewhat of a "best case" for all the cards in our comparison.  We aren't using our frame capture system, we aren't measuring frame latency, nothing like that; I think this should give you an idea of graphics performance if each vendor had the best result for each game.

View Full Size

 

View Full Size

View Full Size

 

View Full Size

Okay, so what do our synthetic tests from 3DMark and Unigine have to say about this debate?  For the GTX 760 vs. Radeon HD 7950 Boost battle, 3DMark 2013 gives the advantage to the AMD card at both Normal and Extreme presets, fitting it in between the two AMD graphics cards.  3DMark11 tells a different story – there the HD 7950 Boost is slower than the GTX 760 at the Extreme preset. 

The Unigine Heaven benchmark gives the edge of NVIDIA in both Normal and Extreme tessellation presets.

June 26, 2013 | 07:11 PM - Posted by pdjblum

Ryan,

If you found a chance to read the latest podcast comments you will know how much respect I have for you. That being said, I am not loving this abstruse testing data, though it might be that my mind is too obtuse to deal with it. It seems that outside of amd crossfire, and sometimes nvidia sli, testing results for the observed fps verse fraps track very well. I feel as if all these graphs are overkill and beating a dead dog. You have already made a monumental impact in the industry by getting amd to own up to the issue and address it. But I feel it makes for a not very readable review; and less so instructive outside of your conclusions. It would also have been nice if you could have compared in a simple table--cores, memory, memory width, for instance--between the different nvidia cards.

I am apparently the odd one out here, but consider what I am saying. Remember, I think what have done with frame rating is tremendous.

June 27, 2013 | 07:20 AM - Posted by Trey Long (not verified)

Love the frame rate and runt frame testing. Its long overdue,as for years consumers relied on fps numbers for some solutions that clearly did not reflect actual gaming performance. Great job!!!

June 28, 2013 | 06:07 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have total respect for PCPER for explaining framerating and outing AMD for their poor performance in this area.
Such an eye-opener !

June 28, 2013 | 01:00 AM - Posted by SethAdams (not verified)

Also want to say so many of us out here can't thank you enough for all the extra testing you do. Please keep up the frame rate testing, thank you so much!

June 28, 2013 | 03:30 PM - Posted by deowll (not verified)

So would this card be a really good choice for a Dell 30 inch monitor?

June 28, 2013 | 03:58 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

PCPER rocks !

June 30, 2013 | 06:17 AM - Posted by Antillus (not verified)

How well do these cards overclock? I am contemplating a desktop build and would like to decide whether I ought to go Red or Green.

June 30, 2013 | 08:29 PM - Posted by wizpig64 (not verified)

Great review, I think I'll pick up two of these rather than a 780 for my 3 monitors.

Regarding the noise levels for the EVGA cooler, could you guys get a hold on one of the gigabyte windforce cards? (preferably this one: http://pcpartpicker.com/part/gigabyte-video-card-gvn760oc2gdrev20)

Like the EVGA ACX cooler, it looks like gigabyte is also using a cheaper lookalike on the 760 compared to the higher end 700 series cards, and I'd love to know how they cool and sound.

Thanks!

July 1, 2013 | 03:24 PM - Posted by Michael Seo (not verified)

Hi Ryan,

You mentioned that the ACX cooler isn't much quieter at all than the reference cooler. However don't the reference coolers have a different sound character? I've heard that the fan motors tend to produce a very faint grinding sound, whereas I'm assuming these open fans only sound like air blowing through heat fins. What was your impression of the sounds?

Thanks for any replies.

December 21, 2013 | 12:22 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Why do I have the feeling that this bosstek guy is just a mouthy kid living in a make believe land, And he acts like he has these connections and a made up business. I swear my gut tells me this guy lives with his mom, And his mom buys him cool computer parts when he whines and begs or throws a fit to get them. Then with all his parts he then creates a website, And then he poses like he is a big business man and makes empty promises he never keeps. But in his mind he kept the promises. My gut also tells me when he gets a product from Nvidia or Corsair in his mind he thinks he is a partner. I knew a guy like this back in high school. I have seen this behavior before. And all the tell tell signs are very present.

December 21, 2013 | 08:29 AM - Posted by LarryLaugher (not verified)

Ok I found a video with the Bosstek guy. I think this is his commercial he did to commemorate his partnership with a big corporation.

http://www.crazyshit.com/cnt/medias/7121-a-very-sick-little-man

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.