Review Index:
Feedback

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti Overclocked Roundup - EVGA, Galaxy, MSI and Zotac

Author:
Manufacturer: Various

Multiple Contenders - EVGA SC

One of the most anticipated graphics card releases of the year occurred this month in the form of the GeForce GTX 660 Ti from NVIDIA, and as you would expect we were there on the day one with an in-depth review of the card at reference speeds. 

View Full Size

The GeForce GTX 660 Ti is based on GK104, and what you might find interesting is that it is nearly identical to the specifications of the GTX 670.  Both utilize 7 SMX units for a total of 1344 stream processors – or CUDA cores – and both run at a reference clock speed of 915 MHz base and 980 MHz Boost.  Both include 112 texture units though the GeForce GTX 660 Ti does see a drop in ROP count from 32 to 24. Also, L2 cache drops from 512KB to 384KB along with a memory bus width drop from 256-bit to 192-bit. 

We already spent quite a lot of time talking about the GTX 660 Ti compared to the other NVIDIA and AMD GPUs in the market in our review (linked above) as well as on our most recent episode of the PC Perspective Podcast.  Today's story is all about the retail cards we received from various vendors including EVGA, Galaxy, MSI and Zotac. We are going to show you each card's design, the higher clocked settings that were implemented, performance differences between them and finally the overclocking comparisons of all four.  

Continue reading our roundup of four NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti cards!!

EVGA GeForce GTX 660 Ti Superclocked

Our first retail GeForce GTX 660 Ti card (in alphabetical order of course) is the EVGA Superclocked variant – a design that EVGA fans will no doubt be very familiar with. 

View Full Size

The card includes the standard set of features and 2GB of frame buffer, and uses as close to a "reference" cooler as any of the cards in our roundup today. 

View Full Size

EVGA's card has a unique texture on the carbon fiber styled front panel that is "tacky" without being sticky.  It looks very nice though in our office it did gather some dust as it was moved around for testing and photos. 

View Full Size

EVGA's model uses the half-length PCB that we first saw introduced on the GTX 670 reference cards.  Because this GPU shares so much DNA with the GTX 670, it makes sense that these same designs would be common. 

View Full Size

The standard connection configuration is at work here with two dual-link DVI ports and full-size HDMI and DisplayPort outputs.  I really do think this is the best hassle-free configuration I have seen on a graphics card to date. 

View Full Size

While all four of these graphics cards had the same kind of standard pack-ins – like DVI to VGA adapter, power adapters, etc – EVGA included a pretty neat set of stickers.  While I usually just pass this stuff straight to the garbage can, I think much of the community relates to the pride associated with building your own rig and these stickers expound on that.

View Full Size

The EVGA Superclocked 660 Ti runs at a 980 MHz base clock with a 1059 MHz Boost clock.  While that is higher than the reference speeds of 915 MHz base and 985 MHz boost, it is the lowest of all the "out of the box" clocks for the four cards we are testing here. 

August 29, 2012 | 09:45 AM - Posted by jtiger102

Is there any reason to think that the stock version of these cards couldn't overclock to the level of the OC cards?
For example, the regular ZOTAC card looks to have the same cooler and configuration otherwise.

August 29, 2012 | 10:29 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

No, not really, they likely could.  Just a matter of what you want out of the box really.  The one thing you should watch for is the cooler and power configuration.

August 29, 2012 | 10:43 AM - Posted by Pimpsmurf (not verified)

Ryan could you tell us what the idle temps were for these cards? Just to see comparison/jump to load temps.

August 29, 2012 | 11:08 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Sure, I'll try to get these for you.

August 29, 2012 | 10:51 AM - Posted by Yeno (not verified)

Correct me if I'm wrong Ryan, but don't these benchmarks basically show that the 660 ti is somewhat bottle necked by the memory bandwidth?

August 29, 2012 | 11:08 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Correct.  And we thought as much with the drop to a 192-bit memory bus width.

August 29, 2012 | 11:19 AM - Posted by mark (not verified)

Honestly knowing the memory situation, I recommend the card with the highest quality memory that can be overclocked because that alone is the performance boost for this card....I swear I read a review of a 660ti with some special memory chips...I dunno

August 29, 2012 | 11:26 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Haven't seen any like that yet...

August 29, 2012 | 11:20 AM - Posted by mark (not verified)

Oh yea and Kudos to Zotec with the shorter card! Good for smaller cases.

August 29, 2012 | 11:48 AM - Posted by krvi (not verified)

I ordered the Zotac card early (19th) since I have an SFF system and the Zotac card would be the only one to fit it.
I havent recieved it yet, but thank you for reassuring me that it was a good choise.
I have seen some sites claiming that zotac has a GTX 660 Ti Extreme edition in the making. While some say this is only intended for the chinese market, do you have any info on this and perhaps more specifics, like the size, of that card?

August 29, 2012 | 01:18 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Haven't heard anything yet, sorry.

August 29, 2012 | 01:39 PM - Posted by Thedarklord

Great read Ryan.

It is interesting to see just how much Kepler is affected by memory bandwidth and memory type.

Though we are seeing the downsides to GK104 being spread out as a entire product range, since GK104 was "meant" to be mid-range from the start. While the GTX 680/690/670/660 TI are great cards, they still dont target the "sweet spot" in my opinion, which is in the $150 - $250 ranges (aka cards like GTX 460/560 TI/ect).

#Side note: Do you need any more good reviewers/podcasters ;), lol.

August 29, 2012 | 10:33 PM - Posted by jakman220 (not verified)

I was able to overcloxk a stock 660 ti to within 10% of the speed and bandwidth of a GTX 670, which is realy great imho. The temps were below 75*C.

August 29, 2012 | 10:51 PM - Posted by jakman220 (not verified)

Yup I got my O.C. to 1038/1103/1815 w/a temp at 78*C max.

August 29, 2012 | 11:00 PM - Posted by jakman220 (not verified)

The card is a EVGA 660ti. Overclock the memory and you can overcome the bandwidth restriction. Then the $299 card becomes a real value especialy w/the Borderlands game included.

August 30, 2012 | 08:18 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Agreed, the $50-60 value of the game is pretty enticing considering it is just a current and big name title.

August 30, 2012 | 10:07 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

It will be interesting to hear MSI's reason for the 114% Power cap. Could it be intentional to keep the Power Edition 660 Ti from overclocking as high as the more expensive Lightening edition?

September 7, 2012 | 05:24 PM - Posted by Sixlef (not verified)

The gpu temperatures dont are rigthes

i have a msi 660 ti oc and my gpu temperatues all all times higths thand yours .

September 15, 2012 | 11:40 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

got my msi 660ti to 1145/1223 and the memory to 1727mhz resulting in just about 7000mhz with afterburner,3dmark11 standard run P 8735 with those settings P 9237.
pretty good,but the memory bandwith just sucks,metro 2033 on high settings and 4xMsaa and 16xaf i cant get more than 30fps-35fps often dropping below that in intense scenes.
do yourself a favour and spend extra for a gtx 670 as you can run even very high settings and still preform better than a 660ti,and i play only on a 1920x1080 screen.a recent test revealed that even a AMD 7750 performs better with msaa and af settings put to max due to the memory bandwith.

April 3, 2013 | 03:29 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I just purchased 2 EVGA GTX 660 TI SC+ 3GB and they are only hitting 60C under load. I'm not sure if something was changed in the 3GB version or if I just have a good card.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.