Review Index:
Feedback

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB Kepler Graphics Card Review

Author:
Manufacturer: NVIDIA

Another GK104 Option for $299

If you missed our live stream with PC Perspective's Ryan Shrout and NVIDIA's Tom Petersen discussing the new GeForce GTX 660 Ti you can find the replay at this link!!

While NVIDIA doesn't like us to use the codenames anymore, very few GPUs are as flexible and as stout as the GK104.  Originally released with the GTX 680 and then with the dual-GPU beast known as the GTX 690 and THEN with the more modestly priced GTX 670, this single chip has caused AMD quite a few headaches.  It appears things will only be worse with the release of the new GeForce GTX 660 Ti today, once again powered by GK104 and the Kepler architecture at the $299 price point.

View Full Size

While many PC gamers lament about the lack of games that really push hardware today, NVIDIA has been promoting the GTX 660 Ti as the upgrade option of choice for gamers on a 2 -4 year cycle.  Back in 2008 the GTX 260 was the mid-range enthusiast option while in 2010 it was the GTX 470 based on Fermi.  NVIDIA claims GTX 260 users will see more than 3x the performance increase with the 660 Ti all while generating those pixels more efficiently. 

View Full Size

I mentioned that the GeForce GTX 660 Ti was based on GK104 and what you mind find interesting is that it is nearly identical to the specifications of the GTX 670.  Both utilize 7 SMXs for a total of 1344 stream processors or CUDA cores and both run at a reference clock speed of 915 MHz base and 980 MHz Boost.  Both include 112 texture units though the GeForce GTX 660 Ti does see a drop in ROP count from 32 to 24 and L2 cache drops from 512KB to 384KB.  Why?

Continue reading our review of the new NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB Graphics Card!!

The only other major specification to change is the memory bus width: the GeForce GTX 660 Ti will have a 192-bit memory bus while the GTX 670 and the GTX 680 run at 256-bit.  While the memory will still run at 6.0 GHz, the total available memory bandwidth drops from 192.2 GB/s down to 144.2 GB/s - a decrease of 35%.  How that will play out in actual gaming will be shown on the benchmark pages but I can tell you that it altered performance more than I expected it to.

View Full Size

Here is the full breakdown of specifications as detailed above with other notable change seen in the TDP decrease of 20 watts

View Full Size

For this launch NVIDIA didn't send us any reference cards and instead we got partner overclocked solutions from Galaxy, MSI, EVGA and Zotac.  (We are going to follow up this week with a quick roundup.)  Because of that, our pictures are going to vary from card to card and design to design, but we'll use the MSI option for our descriptions here. 

View Full Size

The output configuration could vary but we expect all the GeForce GTX 660 Ti cards to include a pair of DVI connections, a full size HDMI and a full size DisplayPort.

View Full Size

Like the GTX 670, the GeForce GTX 660 Ti only requires a pair of 6-pin PCIe power connections.

View Full Size

3-Way SLI support continues here as well!

View Full Size

If you remember, the reference GTX 670s used a smaller length PCB and while our MSI and Galaxy cards for the GeForce GTX 660 Ti launch do NOT, the EVGA and Zotac options did, seen here. 

View Full Size

For gamers looking to pick up a GeForce GTX 660 Ti right away, you might be stoked to find out that NVIDIA is including a copy of Borderlands 2 with MOST of the retail units.  Considering how successful we expect this game to be, that $50-60 value really is great to see for a launch like this. 

NVIDIA sent along this video that demonstrates Borderlands 2 OF COURSE with a PhysX emphasis - why not include it here to get you excited for the game?

August 16, 2012 | 09:20 AM - Posted by Chaitanya Shukla (not verified)

nvidia has a beast of a video card with 660ti compared to 7950 even with an updated bios.

February 20, 2013 | 02:47 AM - Posted by Nickolas (not verified)

Thank you for sharing your info. I really appreciate your efforts and I will
be waiting for your next post thanks once again.

Feel free to surf to my web site booking hotels

August 16, 2012 | 09:26 AM - Posted by Jesse (not verified)

All the retailers say there are non listed. I hope I don't miss the wave before they oos :/

August 16, 2012 | 10:36 AM - Posted by Mikesheadroom (not verified)

I am looking forward to the upcoming price drops from AMD. Isn't competition great!?

August 16, 2012 | 01:06 PM - Posted by mAxius

i cant wait till the fall/winter when amd releases the 8xxx series of cards then nv sits and waits for a year than updates its lineup

August 16, 2012 | 01:16 PM - Posted by APhamX

Low TDP, cuda cores, and the MSI Twin Frozr looks promising to overclock. I might just move on from my 6970 to this card. 1344 Cuda cores should help in AE rendering.

August 16, 2012 | 01:45 PM - Posted by Freshie

How much more performous would you get if you have a gtx 670 and want to run that with the 660ti as sli

August 16, 2012 | 01:57 PM - Posted by Terminashunator (not verified)

I doublt you can SLI a 660ti and a 670 together, and a 660ti is about 5-10% less powerful than a 670.

September 4, 2012 | 10:57 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

no you SLI a 660 ti and a 670 because are different cards you dick, you can only SLI the same card but they can be different makes. e.g MSI and EVGA, but they have to be the same GPU!

August 16, 2012 | 02:47 PM - Posted by brayan m (not verified)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UkNgL9VpyfY&feature=g-all-u

August 29, 2012 | 01:37 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

For building an SLI-System you need to use SAME GPUs.
2x GTX 670 OR 2x GTX 660 Ti.
GTX 670 + 660 Ti is not able to run in SLI-Mode.

September 11, 2012 | 12:58 AM - Posted by YOYO (not verified)

660ti SLI is about a 20% performance increase from a single 680

May 21, 2013 | 04:43 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Gtx 660 ti sli is in some cases even more powerful than the gtx Titan

August 16, 2012 | 01:46 PM - Posted by simieon (not verified)

how does sli scale on this card? will it be worth it towards highly oc'ed 600$ cards?

August 16, 2012 | 01:49 PM - Posted by João (XxLeloxX) (not verified)

Hi, i play in a 25' Monitor, and i'm going to buy a 660Ti When the 660Ti goes "Cheap" here in Brazil ( A Lot Expensive here :\ ), but the question is i can Run the 660Ti i have risk of lose the 660ti With a 400w Power Supply ? with a core i3 2120 and 8 gb Kingston Memory ? Thank You. And Sorry for The bad english, i'm Training.

August 16, 2012 | 01:56 PM - Posted by Terminashunator (not verified)

What brand PSU is it? A seasonic, thermaltake, or corsair 400w PSU likely would be okay, but the 660ti like a 450+. Other than that, your next upgrade would likely be a Quad Core i5, but even then the difference would be marginal between an i3 and an i5.

August 16, 2012 | 02:12 PM - Posted by João (XxLeloxX) (not verified)

I Have a Corsair, but i was seeing that probably i will need to change my power suplly, i have Corsair 400CX, that only have a 6 pin connector.

August 16, 2012 | 02:08 PM - Posted by NakedFable

Will faster GPUs help productivity with Folding at Home?

August 29, 2012 | 01:35 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

If you use the GPU-Client it will. The faster the card, the more points you'll get.
But in Folding@home the Radeons are much faster, then the GTXs.

June 15, 2013 | 01:57 AM - Posted by Louisa (not verified)

Piece of writing writing is also a fun, if you be
familiar with afterward you can write or else
it is complicated to write.

Also visit my web site ... JJ Usher

August 16, 2012 | 02:08 PM - Posted by MFpterodactyl (not verified)

Question for Tom:
--------------------
Do you think the 660 has been nerfed enough so that overclocked versions won't exceed a more expensive 670? Because that was a real problem with the 670 vs 680!
--------------------

August 16, 2012 | 02:47 PM - Posted by Arb (not verified)

at lower rez like 1080 don't think would take much OC to get it to around 670 speed, but that disabled memory controller is a ~25% memory bandwidth hit which would be a pretty size-able OC to get that back. I would say it could get in 670 ball park. This card was aimed at single monitor people.

August 16, 2012 | 04:31 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

wish i haddent bought a hd 7850

September 11, 2012 | 12:57 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Why the 660Ti is between the 7870 and 7850 check out a real review on TomsHardware.com

August 16, 2012 | 05:28 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Unless I missed it in my rather quick glance at this review (which has been discarded because of this fact), you should have included the 560 Ti. Did you just assume that no one was interested in the increase of power between the generation gap?

Should have used the 560 Ti, 570, and a 670 as a bench mark competitor - this review is useless with out it.

September 9, 2012 | 11:37 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

560ti is marginally faster than the 470.

August 16, 2012 | 07:57 PM - Posted by Angry

You missed it, because its quiet obvious with as close as the 660ti performs to the 670.

And that comparison probably in the works anyway....

August 16, 2012 | 08:15 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

what Catalyst version you used for the test?

August 17, 2012 | 10:29 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

12.6 for AMD, 305.37 for NVIDIA.  Article updated!

August 27, 2012 | 07:23 AM - Posted by TinkerToyTech

Can this one card be used to drive an HD TV, and 3 monitors in or out of eyefinity? I want to display a TV on on screen and have 3 monitor computing, not hardcore gaming but along those lines. I don't play many games, but I'm looking for a card that can do this. I currently run 3 heads off of a 6950/70 and run the TV off the z68 gigabyte iSSD mobo. THe current setup works, but I'm looking to upgrade...

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.