Review Index:
Feedback

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB Kepler Graphics Card Review

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: NVIDIA

3DMark11

3DMark11 (DirectX 11)


 

3DMark 11 is the latest version of the world’s most popular benchmark. Designed to measure your PC’s gaming performance 3DMark 11 makes extensive use of all the new features in DirectX 11 including tessellation, compute shaders and multi-threading. Trusted by gamers worldwide to give accurate and unbiased results, 3DMark 11 is the best way to consistently and reliably test DirectX 11 under game-like loads.

  • Graphics Test 1
    • Based on the Deep Sea scene
    • No tessellation
    • Heavy lighting with several shadow casting lights
  • Graphics Test 2
    • Based on the Deep Sea scene
    • Medium tessellation
    • Medium lighting with few shadow casting lights
  • Graphics Test 3
    • Based on the High Temple scene
    • Medium tessellation
    • One shadow casting light
  • Graphics Test 4
    • Based on the High Temple scene
    • Heavy tessellation
    • Many shadow casting lights
  • Physics Test
    • Rigid body physics simulation with a large number of objects
    • This test runs at a fixed resolution regardless of the chosen preset
  • Combined Test
    • Runs rigid body physics simulation on a moderate number of objects
    • Soft body physics using DirectCompute and the Bullet physics library running on the GPU
    • Medium tessellation
    • Medium lighting
 
 
 

 

View Full Size

View Full Size

3DMark11 gives the edge to the GeForce GTX 660 Ti over the HD 7950 3GB Boost at the Extreme preset and the new card sees a 7-8% perf gap between it and the GTX 670. 

View Full Size

View Full Size

Again both GPUs are scaling, but the NVIDIA configuration does much better in our synthetic benchmark.

August 16, 2012 | 09:20 AM - Posted by Chaitanya Shukla (not verified)

nvidia has a beast of a video card with 660ti compared to 7950 even with an updated bios.

February 20, 2013 | 02:47 AM - Posted by Nickolas (not verified)

Thank you for sharing your info. I really appreciate your efforts and I will
be waiting for your next post thanks once again.

Feel free to surf to my web site booking hotels

August 16, 2012 | 09:26 AM - Posted by Jesse (not verified)

All the retailers say there are non listed. I hope I don't miss the wave before they oos :/

August 16, 2012 | 10:36 AM - Posted by Mikesheadroom (not verified)

I am looking forward to the upcoming price drops from AMD. Isn't competition great!?

August 16, 2012 | 01:06 PM - Posted by mAxius

i cant wait till the fall/winter when amd releases the 8xxx series of cards then nv sits and waits for a year than updates its lineup

August 16, 2012 | 01:16 PM - Posted by APhamX

Low TDP, cuda cores, and the MSI Twin Frozr looks promising to overclock. I might just move on from my 6970 to this card. 1344 Cuda cores should help in AE rendering.

August 16, 2012 | 01:45 PM - Posted by Freshie

How much more performous would you get if you have a gtx 670 and want to run that with the 660ti as sli

August 16, 2012 | 01:57 PM - Posted by Terminashunator (not verified)

I doublt you can SLI a 660ti and a 670 together, and a 660ti is about 5-10% less powerful than a 670.

September 4, 2012 | 10:57 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

no you SLI a 660 ti and a 670 because are different cards you dick, you can only SLI the same card but they can be different makes. e.g MSI and EVGA, but they have to be the same GPU!

August 16, 2012 | 02:47 PM - Posted by brayan m (not verified)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UkNgL9VpyfY&feature=g-all-u

August 29, 2012 | 01:37 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

For building an SLI-System you need to use SAME GPUs.
2x GTX 670 OR 2x GTX 660 Ti.
GTX 670 + 660 Ti is not able to run in SLI-Mode.

September 11, 2012 | 12:58 AM - Posted by YOYO (not verified)

660ti SLI is about a 20% performance increase from a single 680

May 21, 2013 | 04:43 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Gtx 660 ti sli is in some cases even more powerful than the gtx Titan

August 16, 2012 | 01:46 PM - Posted by simieon (not verified)

how does sli scale on this card? will it be worth it towards highly oc'ed 600$ cards?

August 16, 2012 | 01:49 PM - Posted by João (XxLeloxX) (not verified)

Hi, i play in a 25' Monitor, and i'm going to buy a 660Ti When the 660Ti goes "Cheap" here in Brazil ( A Lot Expensive here :\ ), but the question is i can Run the 660Ti i have risk of lose the 660ti With a 400w Power Supply ? with a core i3 2120 and 8 gb Kingston Memory ? Thank You. And Sorry for The bad english, i'm Training.

August 16, 2012 | 01:56 PM - Posted by Terminashunator (not verified)

What brand PSU is it? A seasonic, thermaltake, or corsair 400w PSU likely would be okay, but the 660ti like a 450+. Other than that, your next upgrade would likely be a Quad Core i5, but even then the difference would be marginal between an i3 and an i5.

August 16, 2012 | 02:12 PM - Posted by João (XxLeloxX) (not verified)

I Have a Corsair, but i was seeing that probably i will need to change my power suplly, i have Corsair 400CX, that only have a 6 pin connector.

August 16, 2012 | 02:08 PM - Posted by NakedFable

Will faster GPUs help productivity with Folding at Home?

August 29, 2012 | 01:35 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

If you use the GPU-Client it will. The faster the card, the more points you'll get.
But in Folding@home the Radeons are much faster, then the GTXs.

June 15, 2013 | 01:57 AM - Posted by Louisa (not verified)

Piece of writing writing is also a fun, if you be
familiar with afterward you can write or else
it is complicated to write.

Also visit my web site ... JJ Usher

August 16, 2012 | 02:08 PM - Posted by MFpterodactyl (not verified)

Question for Tom:
--------------------
Do you think the 660 has been nerfed enough so that overclocked versions won't exceed a more expensive 670? Because that was a real problem with the 670 vs 680!
--------------------

August 16, 2012 | 02:47 PM - Posted by Arb (not verified)

at lower rez like 1080 don't think would take much OC to get it to around 670 speed, but that disabled memory controller is a ~25% memory bandwidth hit which would be a pretty size-able OC to get that back. I would say it could get in 670 ball park. This card was aimed at single monitor people.

August 16, 2012 | 04:31 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

wish i haddent bought a hd 7850

September 11, 2012 | 12:57 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Why the 660Ti is between the 7870 and 7850 check out a real review on TomsHardware.com

August 16, 2012 | 05:28 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Unless I missed it in my rather quick glance at this review (which has been discarded because of this fact), you should have included the 560 Ti. Did you just assume that no one was interested in the increase of power between the generation gap?

Should have used the 560 Ti, 570, and a 670 as a bench mark competitor - this review is useless with out it.

September 9, 2012 | 11:37 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

560ti is marginally faster than the 470.

August 16, 2012 | 07:57 PM - Posted by Angry

You missed it, because its quiet obvious with as close as the 660ti performs to the 670.

And that comparison probably in the works anyway....

August 16, 2012 | 08:15 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

what Catalyst version you used for the test?

August 17, 2012 | 10:29 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

12.6 for AMD, 305.37 for NVIDIA.  Article updated!

August 27, 2012 | 07:23 AM - Posted by TinkerToyTech

Can this one card be used to drive an HD TV, and 3 monitors in or out of eyefinity? I want to display a TV on on screen and have 3 monitor computing, not hardcore gaming but along those lines. I don't play many games, but I'm looking for a card that can do this. I currently run 3 heads off of a 6950/70 and run the TV off the z68 gigabyte iSSD mobo. THe current setup works, but I'm looking to upgrade...

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.