Review Index:
Feedback

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST 2GB Graphics Card Review - Revised GK106

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: NVIDIA

Pricing and Test Setup

Our performance testing today on the GTX 650 Ti BOOST will be fairly quick and focus on the 1920x1080 testing that I think this class of card will be targeted at.

View Full Size

Testing Configuration

The specifications for our testing system haven't changed much.

Test System Setup
CPU Intel Core i7-3960X Sandy Bridge-E
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Memory Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 16GB
Hard Drive OCZ Agility 4 256GB SSD
Sound Card On-board
Graphics Card NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti Boost 2GB
Sapphire Radeon HD 7790 OC 1GB
AMD Radeon HD 7850 2GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti 1GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB
Graphics Drivers AMD: 13.2 beta 7
NVIDIA: 314.14 beta (GTX 650 Ti BOOST)
NVIDIA: 314.07 beta
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Operating System Windows 8 Pro x64

View Full Size

What you should be watching for

  1. GTX 650 Ti BOOST vs GTX 650 Ti - How much of a performance increase do we see on these two cards that are essentially only identical in name, with the inclusion of GPU Boost, the 192-bit memory bus and high clocks?
  2. GTX 650 Ti BOOST vs GTX 660 - Can the GTX 650 Ti BOOST compete with the higher priced GTX 660?
  3. GTX 650 Ti BOOST vs HD 7790 - Both of these cards were released this week - which one offers the best performance per dollar?
  4. GTX 650 Ti BOOST vs HD 7850 - The higher end GPU from AMD is a bit more costly than the GTX 650 Ti BOOST but it turns out the fight is a lot closer than we might have though.

On to the benchmarks!

March 26, 2013 | 08:54 AM - Posted by Howie Doohan (not verified)

Nice review but gees do we really need ANOTHER low-mid range card? Couldn't Nvidia have given the GTX660 a price cut to match the 7850? Seems like an unnecessary release to me, just bring on the 7 series.

March 26, 2013 | 10:40 AM - Posted by PapaDragon

Competition Competition, too bad AMD doesn't have anything to offset the Titan's Inflated Price, anyhow,thanks for the review and the video Ryan! Great cards for the money.

March 26, 2013 | 04:02 PM - Posted by Casecutter (not verified)

I don't know if either this Boost card or the 7790 as actual vying as competition to one another, but rather plugging their suspected holes. AMD plugged their hole between 7770 and 7850 1Gb ($115-165) and Nvidia between the GTX650Ti and GTX 660 ($135-225).

I will say AMD miss the mark when it didn't get close to rumored 10% behind a 7850, but going with a $150 price. Nvidia seeing what AMD didn’t hit the mark, goes $170 for a gelding basically matching the 7850 2Gb reference trim. They’ve known for 6mo’s what that card could do and from what I see just "paper launch" this GTX660 boost gelding! Most AIB won’t offer reference cards, they’ll use existing PCB and coolers and ask $180. Nvidia cut the price of this binned gelding and AIB will use existing costs, if there was a bunch of room to budge Nividia/AIB’s would’ve just moved on the GTX660 pricing. Here’s the problem supposedly AMD couldn't move a 212mm2 Pitcairn chip lower, can Nvidia drop the 214mm2 GK106 much more now with three derivatives?

While a follow-up Bonaire at 160mm2 (25% smaller) AMD has room to move the price which they will to $125-130, and that‘s pretty much already assured.

March 26, 2013 | 11:09 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

You're a moron. The so called "boost" s are nothing more than pre factory overclocks.

A "boost" card can overclock more than a non-boost one and vice-versa since it's the exact same thing.

If you look up on how the 7970 Ghz editions overclock, you'll see that they have absolutely nothing different other than having a higher stock clock, which just goes to show how pointless of a card this is to be released.

March 27, 2013 | 05:55 AM - Posted by Howhie Doohan (not verified)

Wow dude, butt hurt much? So u got jipped once just forget about it and game!

March 27, 2013 | 06:09 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

I've never bought a pre-OC'ed card in my lifetime and would also like to inform others not to.

Read you dummy:

http://www.overclock.net/t/1059102/evga-evga-gtx-580-classified/150#post...

And listen:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q49Ww_pg_Ik

Damn that's some high quality shit there.

March 27, 2013 | 09:24 AM - Posted by Howie Doohan (not verified)

DILLIGAF?

http://0-media-cdn.foolz.us/ffuuka/board/a/image/1363/17/1363177404309.jpg

March 27, 2013 | 09:46 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

IDK WTF DILLIGAF means.

And I'm mad? Why the fuck should I listen to slow ass Joe Cocker if I'm mad?

I've argued with those like you a trillion of times before. You aren't worth my time, you're a waste of human being.

And if you were in front of me right now, I'd run you over with my T-Bird.

Have a nice day sir.

March 27, 2013 | 05:40 PM - Posted by Howie Doohan (not verified)

No offence but somehow I doubt you can afford a T-Bird. Anyway this is hilarious so learn more about DILLIGAF here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SzgoXoOqnn0

And yes you mad. Dis-proportionally to the situation it seems. So your words say more than you realize. You should see a doctor about it and have a read here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Selective_serotonin_reuptake_inhibitor

Peace dude.

March 28, 2013 | 04:32 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Seriously... John Doe, the reason that Howie is trying to get this rise out of you is because you are throwing insults (moron, dummy, unworthy human being -or whatever the hell you said-) in each of your posts. There needs to be some sort of etiquette training here for people such as yourself... stop belittling others.

March 29, 2013 | 05:55 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

When I get my new car, I'll be posting a pic of it here.

It'll take some time though.

You two can both suck my weasel as far as I'm concerned.

March 27, 2013 | 08:57 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

85 watts for the 7790 and 140 watts for the 650 Ti Boost?  That is a pretty hefty difference, especially considering the overall performance difference.  Funny to see how things sorta swapped around as compared to the 7970/GTX 680 releases.

March 29, 2013 | 07:33 PM - Posted by Daniel Masterson (not verified)

Did you all enjoy the John D. Show today!? What will he say next? Join us on another thread to see what happens!

March 30, 2013 | 02:18 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

You won't be able to catch it THAT long.

By the time you catch my last words, I'll be over JGuru.

May 31, 2013 | 12:12 AM - Posted by Jck (not verified)

I like pie.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.