Review Index:
Feedback

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST 2GB Graphics Card Review - Revised GK106

Author:
Manufacturer: NVIDIA

The GTX 650 Ti Gets Boost and More Memory

In mid-October NVIDIA released the GeForce GTX 650 Ti based on GK106, the same GPU that powers the GTX 660 though with fewer enabled CUDA cores and GPC units.  At the time we were pretty impressed with the 650 Ti:

The GTX 650 Ti has more in common with the GTX 660 than it does the GTX 650, both being based on the GK106 GPU, but is missing some of the unique features that NVIDIA has touted of the 600-series cards like GPU Boost and SLI.

Today's release of the GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST actually addresses both of those missing features by moving even closer to the specification sheet found on the GTX 660 cards. 

Our video review of the GTX 650 Ti BOOST and Radeon HD 7790.

View Full Size

Option 1: Two GPCs with Four SMXs

Just like we saw with the original GTX 650 Ti, there are two different configurations of the GTX 650 Ti BOOST; both have the same primary specifications but will differ in which SMX is disabled from the full GK106 ASIC.  The newer version will still have 768 CUDA cores but clock speeds will increase from 925 MHz to 980 MHz base and 1033 MHz typical boost clock.  Texture unit count remains the same at 64.

Continue reading our review of the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST graphics card!!

View Full Size

Option 1: Three GPCs with Four SMXs

The changes to the memory configuration are even more dramatic as we see the shift from a 128-bit memory bus to the same 192-bit memory bus found on the GTX 660 along with a larger L2 cache, more ROP units and a huge increase in memory bandwidth (86.4 GB/s to 144.2 GB/s).  Memory frequency increases to 6.0 Gbps as well.

View Full Size

With the added clock speed, memory speed and even an increase to 2GB of frame buffer (though a 1GB version of the GTX 650 Ti BOOST is coming later), NVIDIA has increased the TDP from 110 watts to 140 watts. 

The addition of GPU Boost means that you can expect typical in-game clock speeds to be well above the 980 MHz base clock rates and closer to the 1033 MHz level.  This simply translates into more performance from this low cost graphics card.  Also, because the original GTX 650 Ti did not include support for SLI, the GTX 650 Ti BOOST will be the lowest priced option from NVIDIA to allow for multi-GPU scaling.

View Full Size

Physically, the GTX 650 Ti BOOST card looks pretty much identical to the GTX 660 reference design.  The PCB is quite a bit shorter than the stock cooler and we expect partner cards to once again end up shorter than the one we are using for our review. 

View Full Size

The display connections on the GTX 650 Ti BOOST are consistent with the other Kepler reference cards on the market with two DVI ports, an HDMI and a full-size DisplayPort.

View Full Size

Looking at the back of the card clearly shows the difference in PCB length and cooler length.

View Full Size

Like the GTX 660 and the GTX 650 Ti, the new BOOST model only requires that single 6-pin power connector meaning you'll be able to use this GPU on smaller systems and those with lower wattage power supplies.  The single SLI connector allows for two card to be paired together for multi-GPU usage; the original GTX 650 Ti did NOT support SLI.

March 26, 2013 | 05:54 AM - Posted by Howie Doohan (not verified)

Nice review but gees do we really need ANOTHER low-mid range card? Couldn't Nvidia have given the GTX660 a price cut to match the 7850? Seems like an unnecessary release to me, just bring on the 7 series.

March 26, 2013 | 07:40 AM - Posted by PapaDragon

Competition Competition, too bad AMD doesn't have anything to offset the Titan's Inflated Price, anyhow,thanks for the review and the video Ryan! Great cards for the money.

March 26, 2013 | 01:02 PM - Posted by Casecutter (not verified)

I don't know if either this Boost card or the 7790 as actual vying as competition to one another, but rather plugging their suspected holes. AMD plugged their hole between 7770 and 7850 1Gb ($115-165) and Nvidia between the GTX650Ti and GTX 660 ($135-225).

I will say AMD miss the mark when it didn't get close to rumored 10% behind a 7850, but going with a $150 price. Nvidia seeing what AMD didn’t hit the mark, goes $170 for a gelding basically matching the 7850 2Gb reference trim. They’ve known for 6mo’s what that card could do and from what I see just "paper launch" this GTX660 boost gelding! Most AIB won’t offer reference cards, they’ll use existing PCB and coolers and ask $180. Nvidia cut the price of this binned gelding and AIB will use existing costs, if there was a bunch of room to budge Nividia/AIB’s would’ve just moved on the GTX660 pricing. Here’s the problem supposedly AMD couldn't move a 212mm2 Pitcairn chip lower, can Nvidia drop the 214mm2 GK106 much more now with three derivatives?

While a follow-up Bonaire at 160mm2 (25% smaller) AMD has room to move the price which they will to $125-130, and that‘s pretty much already assured.

March 26, 2013 | 08:09 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

You're a moron. The so called "boost" s are nothing more than pre factory overclocks.

A "boost" card can overclock more than a non-boost one and vice-versa since it's the exact same thing.

If you look up on how the 7970 Ghz editions overclock, you'll see that they have absolutely nothing different other than having a higher stock clock, which just goes to show how pointless of a card this is to be released.

March 27, 2013 | 02:55 AM - Posted by Howhie Doohan (not verified)

Wow dude, butt hurt much? So u got jipped once just forget about it and game!

March 27, 2013 | 03:09 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

I've never bought a pre-OC'ed card in my lifetime and would also like to inform others not to.

Read you dummy:

http://www.overclock.net/t/1059102/evga-evga-gtx-580-classified/150#post...

And listen:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q49Ww_pg_Ik

Damn that's some high quality shit there.

March 27, 2013 | 06:24 AM - Posted by Howie Doohan (not verified)

DILLIGAF?

http://0-media-cdn.foolz.us/ffuuka/board/a/image/1363/17/1363177404309.jpg

March 27, 2013 | 06:46 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

IDK WTF DILLIGAF means.

And I'm mad? Why the fuck should I listen to slow ass Joe Cocker if I'm mad?

I've argued with those like you a trillion of times before. You aren't worth my time, you're a waste of human being.

And if you were in front of me right now, I'd run you over with my T-Bird.

Have a nice day sir.

March 27, 2013 | 02:40 PM - Posted by Howie Doohan (not verified)

No offence but somehow I doubt you can afford a T-Bird. Anyway this is hilarious so learn more about DILLIGAF here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SzgoXoOqnn0

And yes you mad. Dis-proportionally to the situation it seems. So your words say more than you realize. You should see a doctor about it and have a read here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Selective_serotonin_reuptake_inhibitor

Peace dude.

March 28, 2013 | 01:32 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Seriously... John Doe, the reason that Howie is trying to get this rise out of you is because you are throwing insults (moron, dummy, unworthy human being -or whatever the hell you said-) in each of your posts. There needs to be some sort of etiquette training here for people such as yourself... stop belittling others.

March 29, 2013 | 02:55 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

When I get my new car, I'll be posting a pic of it here.

It'll take some time though.

You two can both suck my weasel as far as I'm concerned.

March 27, 2013 | 05:57 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

85 watts for the 7790 and 140 watts for the 650 Ti Boost?  That is a pretty hefty difference, especially considering the overall performance difference.  Funny to see how things sorta swapped around as compared to the 7970/GTX 680 releases.

March 29, 2013 | 04:33 PM - Posted by Daniel Masterson (not verified)

Did you all enjoy the John D. Show today!? What will he say next? Join us on another thread to see what happens!

March 29, 2013 | 11:18 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

You won't be able to catch it THAT long.

By the time you catch my last words, I'll be over JGuru.

May 30, 2013 | 09:12 PM - Posted by Jck (not verified)

I like pie.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.