Review Index:
Feedback

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti 1GB Review - GK106 Kepler for $150

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: NVIDIA

Power Consumption, Temperatures and Noise

View Full Size

While its easy to see I wasn't really impressed with the performance of the GTX 650 Ti in our benchmarks, it's hard to argue the performance and efficiency of the Kepler designs.  Here you can see that under a full load, the GTX 650 Ti is using 90 watts less power than the GTX 560 and 40 watts less than the Radeon HD 7850.  In fact, it uses the same power as the HD 7770, one of the best perf/watt GPUs when it was released, even though it performs better in all of our gaming tests. 

View Full Size

Interestingly, using the reference cooler, the GTX 650 Ti was the coolest GPU of the four cards here.  Note that the Radeon HD 7850 1GB was utilizing a custom cooler from MSI's Twin Frozr line.

View Full Size

Also good news, the reference cooler on the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti was the quietest in our test suite at both idle and load.  While we have some concerns about the GPU in terms of gaming performance, it would appear to make a great HTPC discrete upgrade with lower power and lower noise than most other cards on the market.

October 9, 2012 | 09:18 AM - Posted by Humanitarian

Nice write up, makes me wonder how much cutting gpu boost really saved them. I couldn't imagine boost making that much of a difference anyway. Still, as you said, why throw away that tech altogether?
Overall decent price as long as those AC3 keys last, although seen a xfx 7850 being bundled with 5 free games for £136 a few days ago.

October 9, 2012 | 09:23 AM - Posted by j0hndoe

Awesome write up, Ryan. Very informative.

I'm in the market for a new gfx card, and I've been waiting for the reviews to come out about this one. I think I've made my decision now :).

October 9, 2012 | 02:17 PM - Posted by deowll (not verified)

My main computer has an i7-920 processor but came with a GTX 260 with 1.8 gig of ram which has to be pretty lame but it does drive my dell 30 inch monitor with no issues for normal use. I would modestly like a better video card and the price seems okay but your review leaves me wondering how much that card would like this much resolution.

October 9, 2012 | 03:04 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

If you are trying to game on a 30-in 2560x1600 display, you'll need a GTX 660 Ti or better for the best experience.

October 9, 2012 | 04:13 PM - Posted by HUU (not verified)

wouldn't a 7950 (32ROPs, 384bit memory) be more suited to 1600p?

as for the 650 Ti, it's decent enough I guess, but I agree that the price should be lower...

also, gotta love the "variable" specs...

October 10, 2012 | 12:01 PM - Posted by Angry

Between removing gpu boost and sli on this card, and also not allowing voltage control on the higher end versions, nvidia is really digging themselves a hole. At least for me.
I was wanting to switch to green, but im sticking to red, And if i wamt physx ill go hybrid If i want it that bad.

October 10, 2012 | 04:58 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I know a lot of people that are thinking this same thing...

October 10, 2012 | 11:00 PM - Posted by Angry

Dont get me wrong I like thier cards, but the last gen series of these cards often had those features. Minus boost of course, but after reading and hearing from several places that board manufacturers like evga, ended up removing evbot because nvidia told them no voltage control was allowed, And msi got burned as well. And if they did allow it, nvidia would allocate less kepler chips to sell to them, which pretty much blackmail. Amd lets board partners run wild....

October 14, 2012 | 01:35 AM - Posted by Benhaube (not verified)

I was thinking about getting this card in my bedroom pc build. It's going to be my DVR, blueray player, and a gaming computer. I don't need huge graphic performance. The tv it's going on is a 32in 1080p tv. Will this card be my best choice? Im looking to spend 120-160 on my video card.

October 16, 2012 | 02:08 PM - Posted by Casecutter (not verified)

The price is really out-of-bounds for what this "stubby" or as I call them "elfin-petite". With nothing more than extruded aluminum cooler and 128-bit, it’s offering compensatory construction and components of 7750’s and those already have hit $80.

Egg's had that XFX Radeon HD 7850 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 after code and $20 rebate for $142 and Two Worlds II game coupon, while that nice VaporX 1100Mhz OC Sapphire 7770 has been $135 –AR$15 with Nexuiz game coupon. AC3 is a top notch new game, but it's still the card and there's not any value given it's de-contented manufacturing. At most a mild OC GTS650Ti should've started at $140!

February 2, 2013 | 04:13 PM - Posted by johneyjerry

Hello Ryan, My Girl Friend name kate have that Nvidia GeForce GTX card but there fan is not working properly? We have no idea that what we do now? Maybe dust have entered in it and We have no knowledge that How we remove that?

October 11, 2013 | 02:03 AM - Posted by Blair (not verified)

I got a MSI GTX 650ti from Newegg for 114$ plus 25$ dollar rebate. And yes you can adjust the voltage on it. That was one thing I was surprised to see actually. It runs a 28c leaving lots of oc room. (Thats more than likely why there are different OC versions) But I would say its cheaper just to use afterburner. I see good improvements in games over my old 5850.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.