Review Index:
Feedback

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 448 Core Limited Edition Graphics Card Review

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: NVIDIA

EVGA Classified Performance

While I didn't have as much time with the EVGA card as I would have liked, I did want to show you a few benchmarks to see what the added frequency on the Classified model added out of the box.

View Full Size

Here you can see we are running at 797 MHz compared to the 750 MHz on the MSI model and 732 MHz on the reference cards that will be in the market. 

View Full Size

View Full Size

In our graphics-only portion of 3DMark11 the EVGA card is about 5% faster than the MSI option.

View Full Size

View Full Size

In Battlefield 3 we see another ~5% gain with the clock speed increase on the EVGA Classified model and that it is able to push past the GTX 570 completely.  

View Full Size

View Full Size

The boost here is pretty minimal as we are in a game that doesn't show the GPU scaling that BF3 does. 

While the 47 MHz difference between the EVGA and the MSI cards in our review might seem minimal, there are definitely out-of-the-box performance advantages to getting the higher overclocked model.  If you are comfortable using overclocking sofware, including MSI's Afterburner or EVGA's Precision, you will be able to reach higher speeds that 797 MHz with BOTH cards.

November 29, 2011 | 09:34 AM - Posted by Tim (not verified)

Hmm nothing at Newegg yet, and one at Amazon thats over MSRP. I'm hoping the limited availability of these won't drive the prices up.

November 29, 2011 | 10:05 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Yes, that is a fear...we'll see if NVIDIA and it's partners can keep the consumer's at the front of their minds in the next few weeks.

November 29, 2011 | 12:29 PM - Posted by Tim (not verified)

Yea one can hope. I wouldn't mind this driving down the regular 560 ti prices too.

November 29, 2011 | 10:46 AM - Posted by shellscriptz

i wonder if you can unlock these vis a vis the gtx 465 to 470 conversion method.

November 29, 2011 | 11:38 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

In the past, NVIDIA has done a much better job locking their GPUs down than AMD has. There has never been a way to unlock the GTX 570 to a 580, for example.

November 29, 2011 | 11:20 AM - Posted by Chaitanya Shukla (not verified)

By limited edition nvidia plan to run these limited quantities? As the specs are pretty similar to GTX570 and I reckon they might hurt the GTX570 in sales badly.

November 29, 2011 | 03:17 PM - Posted by Mark (not verified)

A. These are defective parts not good enough to be a 570 or 580.

B. These are crippled parts.

I REALLY think the marketing team goofed by calling this a 560 TI 448. It should be called a 565, no questions asked.

I dont' wanna use the word deceptive to describe any of this cause its just a damn GPU SKU but gesh....

November 30, 2011 | 11:28 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I think calling them "defective" or "crippled" is a bit of an overstatement. Is a 570 a "defective" 580? I wouldn't say that. Just different bins and different SKUs based on the ways the silicon world works.

November 29, 2011 | 08:54 PM - Posted by Sonic4Spuds

Now I wish I had waited a week to order my new computer build, I bought the 560 TI for rendering. Is it possable to use this and a 560 TI in the same system?

November 29, 2011 | 11:25 PM - Posted by Sunfighter (not verified)

No, a 448 cant be used to SLI with a regular 560TI, treat them as if they are two totally different cards, because well.... they are. GF114 vs a GF110 chip.

November 30, 2011 | 05:19 PM - Posted by Craig (not verified)

I read this review to get info and details on the Evga Classified card. You didn't provide hardly any. What about the non-reference pcb, or the 6 phase vrm?... why did you even write a review on it if you didn't want to go in-debth on the details?

November 30, 2011 | 05:34 PM - Posted by Jeremy Hellstrom

"due to some complications with the EVGA card (that were all solved on the software side of things on my testing machine) our benchmarks use the MSI version initially."

... and he doesn't get to keep the cards forever. It is too bad there wasn't more time to test the card that you were more interested in but you can see the performance difference on the last page ... as in not much.

December 1, 2011 | 05:00 AM - Posted by Craig (not verified)

The Evga card should have been left out of the equation completely then, instead of saying "here's a review of this card" and then telling your readers "actually we couldnt get it to work" .... so dumb.

December 1, 2011 | 11:16 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

How did we treat the EVGA and MSI cards any differently?

December 1, 2011 | 11:16 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Oh yeah, and did you read this page?

http://www.pcper.com/reviews/Graphics-Cards/NVIDIA-GeForce-GTX-560-Ti-44...

December 3, 2011 | 07:22 AM - Posted by Thaedor (not verified)

Amazon has the EVGA single fan version for $279.99. Thinking of getting three of them. One to update my E8500 system that will soon be donated to the kids and the other for a new build in SLI mode.

Is the Classified version worth the $30 premium(price/taxes/shipping) over the FTW version?

I understand the other companies jacking up prices for what the market will bear, but good on EVGA.

December 3, 2011 | 07:31 AM - Posted by Thaedor (not verified)

Sorry, price is $289.99.(the 279.99 was for the base 560Ti).

So the premium would only be around $20.

January 14, 2012 | 11:26 PM - Posted by Full Metal Monkey (not verified)

Just ordered the EVGA Classified version of this card from dabs.com (uk retailer) and after looking at some of the benchmark results I'm really glad I did as I very nearly brought a 570 instead.

Im just pinching myself now as I said I was going to wait for the 600 series to be released before upgrading but then my GT230 is really starting to show its age now.

Can't wait for this to be delivered.

January 29, 2012 | 10:22 PM - Posted by Michael (not verified)

Hello I am just trying to understand is the NVIDIA GTX 560 Ti 448 Cores faster then the GTX 560 Ti Superclocked 384 CUDA Cores and by how much thanks

March 11, 2012 | 09:44 AM - Posted by ricknau (not verified)

Where can I get the 285.88 drivers?

I have an MSI GeForce GTX 560 Ti 448 Power Edition. It came with the 285.66 drivers on the installation CD. I can find no other drivers at the Nvidia website (or anywhere else) that will work with it.

March 28, 2012 | 10:31 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

When I was a girl, I tried to do the same thing and nearly ruined myself.

March 8, 2013 | 02:45 AM - Posted by Rupert Fontelroy (not verified)

Hello where does the graphic card go into? Did I stick it in?

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.