Review Index:
Feedback

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 448 Core Limited Edition Graphics Card Review

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: NVIDIA

MSI Power Edition and EVGA Classified Cards

MSI GeForce GTX 560 Ti 448 Power Edition

While both companies are going to be offering "standard" versions of the GTX 560 Ti 448 core card, we were sent the higher end offering from each.  The MSI GeForce GTX 560 Ti 448 Power Edition has the advantage of using the MSI Twin Frozr III cooling solution that was able to keep the GPU running at 57C even under a full load!  

The MSI version runs at a clock speed of 750 MHz core - just a modest boost over the 732 MHz reference.  The key here though is that with a great cooler this GPU should offering very high overclocks - up to 950 MHz if MSI is to be believed.  

View Full Size

If you have seen any of our MSI graphics card reviews recently the design of the cooler on the GTX 560 Ti 448 will look very familiar.  The card is noticeably heavier than the EVGA model below and the dual fans are able to push a good amount of air with below average noise levels.  

View Full Size

The back of the MSI card doesn't reveal much but does show us the pair of SLI connections.

View Full Size

Interestingly, while the GTX 560 Ti does NOT support 3-Way SLI, the new GTX 560 Ti with 448 cores will in fact do so as evident by the pair of SLI connections on the card.

View Full Size

The MSI model includes a pair of 6-pin ATX power connections keeping it in line with the GTX 570 as well as the GTX 560 Ti.

View Full Size

The connection configuration on the card includes a pair of dual-link DVI outputs and a mini-HDMI port for getting Skyrim on that big screen TV of yours.

EVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti Classified

EVGA actually had its Classified board to me before the MSI card showed up but due to some complications with the EVGA card (that were all solved on the software side of things on my testing machine) our benchmarks use the MSI version initially.  

The EVGA Classified uses a custom cooler as well that includes a dual fan design that is just barely louder than the MSI card.

View Full Size

EVGA's card runs at a higher clock speed though - 797 MHz - which is a decent 8.8% boost in speed.  The memory clocks on the EVGA and MSI cards see a very small overclock to 975 MHz over the 950 MHz reference speed.

View Full Size

Primed for overclocking, the EVGA model we have in house actually has a 6-pin as well as an 8-pin ATX power connection to provide a bit more power to the card when it needs it.

View Full Size

The connection configuration is the same - dual dual-link DVI ports and a mini HDMI connection.

Now, let's see how the pricing on these cards stacks up with the currently existing parts and what matchups we want to keep an eye on!

November 29, 2011 | 09:34 AM - Posted by Tim (not verified)

Hmm nothing at Newegg yet, and one at Amazon thats over MSRP. I'm hoping the limited availability of these won't drive the prices up.

November 29, 2011 | 10:05 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Yes, that is a fear...we'll see if NVIDIA and it's partners can keep the consumer's at the front of their minds in the next few weeks.

November 29, 2011 | 12:29 PM - Posted by Tim (not verified)

Yea one can hope. I wouldn't mind this driving down the regular 560 ti prices too.

November 29, 2011 | 10:46 AM - Posted by shellscriptz

i wonder if you can unlock these vis a vis the gtx 465 to 470 conversion method.

November 29, 2011 | 11:38 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

In the past, NVIDIA has done a much better job locking their GPUs down than AMD has. There has never been a way to unlock the GTX 570 to a 580, for example.

November 29, 2011 | 11:20 AM - Posted by Chaitanya Shukla (not verified)

By limited edition nvidia plan to run these limited quantities? As the specs are pretty similar to GTX570 and I reckon they might hurt the GTX570 in sales badly.

November 29, 2011 | 03:17 PM - Posted by Mark (not verified)

A. These are defective parts not good enough to be a 570 or 580.

B. These are crippled parts.

I REALLY think the marketing team goofed by calling this a 560 TI 448. It should be called a 565, no questions asked.

I dont' wanna use the word deceptive to describe any of this cause its just a damn GPU SKU but gesh....

November 30, 2011 | 11:28 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I think calling them "defective" or "crippled" is a bit of an overstatement. Is a 570 a "defective" 580? I wouldn't say that. Just different bins and different SKUs based on the ways the silicon world works.

November 29, 2011 | 08:54 PM - Posted by Sonic4Spuds

Now I wish I had waited a week to order my new computer build, I bought the 560 TI for rendering. Is it possable to use this and a 560 TI in the same system?

November 29, 2011 | 11:25 PM - Posted by Sunfighter (not verified)

No, a 448 cant be used to SLI with a regular 560TI, treat them as if they are two totally different cards, because well.... they are. GF114 vs a GF110 chip.

November 30, 2011 | 05:19 PM - Posted by Craig (not verified)

I read this review to get info and details on the Evga Classified card. You didn't provide hardly any. What about the non-reference pcb, or the 6 phase vrm?... why did you even write a review on it if you didn't want to go in-debth on the details?

November 30, 2011 | 05:34 PM - Posted by Jeremy Hellstrom

"due to some complications with the EVGA card (that were all solved on the software side of things on my testing machine) our benchmarks use the MSI version initially."

... and he doesn't get to keep the cards forever. It is too bad there wasn't more time to test the card that you were more interested in but you can see the performance difference on the last page ... as in not much.

December 1, 2011 | 05:00 AM - Posted by Craig (not verified)

The Evga card should have been left out of the equation completely then, instead of saying "here's a review of this card" and then telling your readers "actually we couldnt get it to work" .... so dumb.

December 1, 2011 | 11:16 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

How did we treat the EVGA and MSI cards any differently?

December 1, 2011 | 11:16 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Oh yeah, and did you read this page?

http://www.pcper.com/reviews/Graphics-Cards/NVIDIA-GeForce-GTX-560-Ti-44...

December 3, 2011 | 07:22 AM - Posted by Thaedor (not verified)

Amazon has the EVGA single fan version for $279.99. Thinking of getting three of them. One to update my E8500 system that will soon be donated to the kids and the other for a new build in SLI mode.

Is the Classified version worth the $30 premium(price/taxes/shipping) over the FTW version?

I understand the other companies jacking up prices for what the market will bear, but good on EVGA.

December 3, 2011 | 07:31 AM - Posted by Thaedor (not verified)

Sorry, price is $289.99.(the 279.99 was for the base 560Ti).

So the premium would only be around $20.

January 14, 2012 | 11:26 PM - Posted by Full Metal Monkey (not verified)

Just ordered the EVGA Classified version of this card from dabs.com (uk retailer) and after looking at some of the benchmark results I'm really glad I did as I very nearly brought a 570 instead.

Im just pinching myself now as I said I was going to wait for the 600 series to be released before upgrading but then my GT230 is really starting to show its age now.

Can't wait for this to be delivered.

January 29, 2012 | 10:22 PM - Posted by Michael (not verified)

Hello I am just trying to understand is the NVIDIA GTX 560 Ti 448 Cores faster then the GTX 560 Ti Superclocked 384 CUDA Cores and by how much thanks

March 11, 2012 | 09:44 AM - Posted by ricknau (not verified)

Where can I get the 285.88 drivers?

I have an MSI GeForce GTX 560 Ti 448 Power Edition. It came with the 285.66 drivers on the installation CD. I can find no other drivers at the Nvidia website (or anywhere else) that will work with it.

March 28, 2012 | 10:31 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

When I was a girl, I tried to do the same thing and nearly ruined myself.

March 8, 2013 | 02:45 AM - Posted by Rupert Fontelroy (not verified)

Hello where does the graphic card go into? Did I stick it in?

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.