Review Index:
Feedback

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti Overclocked Roundup - EVGA, Galaxy, MSI and Zotac

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: Various

Galaxy GeForce GTX 660 Ti GC

View Full Size

Next up is Galaxy with its GeForce GTX 660 Ti GC graphics card that comes overclocked out of the box, and with a custom cooler and PCB design. 

View Full Size

Galaxy is using a full length PCB for their GC card, and a dual fan cooler that we found to be both very efficient and quiet while under a full load. 

View Full Size

Interestingly, the Galaxy 660 Ti GC card is the only one to feature a 6-pin and an 8-pin power connection as opposed to just a pair of 6-pins.  Whether or not that helps us with overclocking stability is another matter...

View Full Size

Like many of the recent Galaxy cooler designs, the GC model we have here has a "cleaning mode" that allows you to flip up a part of the frame so you can access the fans for dust removal.  It's a nice feature that I have seen a couple of other vendors adopt as well.

View Full Size

Galaxy's PCB has some small holes near the power regulation components of the card that allow air to flow THROUGH the PCB and in theory will help keep those areas of the card a bit cooler. 

View Full Size

The rear display configuration again remains unchanged from the other Kepler designs with a pair of DL-DVI connections and full-size HDMI and DisplayPort.

View Full Size

Probably not accidently, the Galaxy GeForce GTX 660 Ti GC has the same clock speeds as the GTX 680 card – though obviously with a smaller memory bus and fewer CUDA cores – performance isn't going to be that close.  At a 1006 MHz base clock, the Galaxy card is 91 MHz faster (about 10%) than reference designs. 

 
 
August 29, 2012 | 12:45 PM - Posted by jtiger102

Is there any reason to think that the stock version of these cards couldn't overclock to the level of the OC cards?
For example, the regular ZOTAC card looks to have the same cooler and configuration otherwise.

August 29, 2012 | 01:29 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

No, not really, they likely could.  Just a matter of what you want out of the box really.  The one thing you should watch for is the cooler and power configuration.

August 29, 2012 | 01:43 PM - Posted by Pimpsmurf (not verified)

Ryan could you tell us what the idle temps were for these cards? Just to see comparison/jump to load temps.

August 29, 2012 | 02:08 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Sure, I'll try to get these for you.

August 29, 2012 | 01:51 PM - Posted by Yeno (not verified)

Correct me if I'm wrong Ryan, but don't these benchmarks basically show that the 660 ti is somewhat bottle necked by the memory bandwidth?

August 29, 2012 | 02:08 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Correct.  And we thought as much with the drop to a 192-bit memory bus width.

August 29, 2012 | 02:19 PM - Posted by mark (not verified)

Honestly knowing the memory situation, I recommend the card with the highest quality memory that can be overclocked because that alone is the performance boost for this card....I swear I read a review of a 660ti with some special memory chips...I dunno

August 29, 2012 | 02:26 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Haven't seen any like that yet...

August 29, 2012 | 02:20 PM - Posted by mark (not verified)

Oh yea and Kudos to Zotec with the shorter card! Good for smaller cases.

August 29, 2012 | 02:48 PM - Posted by krvi (not verified)

I ordered the Zotac card early (19th) since I have an SFF system and the Zotac card would be the only one to fit it.
I havent recieved it yet, but thank you for reassuring me that it was a good choise.
I have seen some sites claiming that zotac has a GTX 660 Ti Extreme edition in the making. While some say this is only intended for the chinese market, do you have any info on this and perhaps more specifics, like the size, of that card?

August 29, 2012 | 04:18 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Haven't heard anything yet, sorry.

August 29, 2012 | 04:39 PM - Posted by Thedarklord

Great read Ryan.

It is interesting to see just how much Kepler is affected by memory bandwidth and memory type.

Though we are seeing the downsides to GK104 being spread out as a entire product range, since GK104 was "meant" to be mid-range from the start. While the GTX 680/690/670/660 TI are great cards, they still dont target the "sweet spot" in my opinion, which is in the $150 - $250 ranges (aka cards like GTX 460/560 TI/ect).

#Side note: Do you need any more good reviewers/podcasters ;), lol.

August 30, 2012 | 01:33 AM - Posted by jakman220 (not verified)

I was able to overcloxk a stock 660 ti to within 10% of the speed and bandwidth of a GTX 670, which is realy great imho. The temps were below 75*C.

August 30, 2012 | 01:51 AM - Posted by jakman220 (not verified)

Yup I got my O.C. to 1038/1103/1815 w/a temp at 78*C max.

August 30, 2012 | 02:00 AM - Posted by jakman220 (not verified)

The card is a EVGA 660ti. Overclock the memory and you can overcome the bandwidth restriction. Then the $299 card becomes a real value especialy w/the Borderlands game included.

August 30, 2012 | 11:18 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Agreed, the $50-60 value of the game is pretty enticing considering it is just a current and big name title.

August 30, 2012 | 01:07 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

It will be interesting to hear MSI's reason for the 114% Power cap. Could it be intentional to keep the Power Edition 660 Ti from overclocking as high as the more expensive Lightening edition?

September 7, 2012 | 08:24 PM - Posted by Sixlef (not verified)

The gpu temperatures dont are rigthes

i have a msi 660 ti oc and my gpu temperatues all all times higths thand yours .

September 16, 2012 | 02:40 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

got my msi 660ti to 1145/1223 and the memory to 1727mhz resulting in just about 7000mhz with afterburner,3dmark11 standard run P 8735 with those settings P 9237.
pretty good,but the memory bandwith just sucks,metro 2033 on high settings and 4xMsaa and 16xaf i cant get more than 30fps-35fps often dropping below that in intense scenes.
do yourself a favour and spend extra for a gtx 670 as you can run even very high settings and still preform better than a 660ti,and i play only on a 1920x1080 screen.a recent test revealed that even a AMD 7750 performs better with msaa and af settings put to max due to the memory bandwith.

April 3, 2013 | 06:29 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I just purchased 2 EVGA GTX 660 TI SC+ 3GB and they are only hitting 60C under load. I'm not sure if something was changed in the 3GB version or if I just have a good card.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.