Review Index:
Feedback

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti Overclocked Roundup - EVGA, Galaxy, MSI and Zotac

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: Various

3DMark11

3DMark11 (DirectX 11)


 

3DMark 11 is the latest version of the world’s most popular benchmark. Designed to measure your PC’s gaming performance 3DMark 11 makes extensive use of all the new features in DirectX 11 including tessellation, compute shaders and multi-threading. Trusted by gamers worldwide to give accurate and unbiased results, 3DMark 11 is the best way to consistently and reliably test DirectX 11 under game-like loads.

  • Graphics Test 1
    • Based on the Deep Sea scene
    • No tessellation
    • Heavy lighting with several shadow casting lights
  • Graphics Test 2
    • Based on the Deep Sea scene
    • Medium tessellation
    • Medium lighting with few shadow casting lights
  • Graphics Test 3
    • Based on the High Temple scene
    • Medium tessellation
    • One shadow casting light
  • Graphics Test 4
    • Based on the High Temple scene
    • Heavy tessellation
    • Many shadow casting lights
  • Physics Test
    • Rigid body physics simulation with a large number of objects
    • This test runs at a fixed resolution regardless of the chosen preset
  • Combined Test
    • Runs rigid body physics simulation on a moderate number of objects
    • Soft body physics using DirectCompute and the Bullet physics library running on the GPU
    • Medium tessellation
    • Medium lighting
 
 
 

 

View Full Size

View Full Size

In a very surprising result, the Zotac card is actually SLOWER than the other card results in 3DMark11, though not by very much. 

August 29, 2012 | 12:45 PM - Posted by jtiger102

Is there any reason to think that the stock version of these cards couldn't overclock to the level of the OC cards?
For example, the regular ZOTAC card looks to have the same cooler and configuration otherwise.

August 29, 2012 | 01:29 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

No, not really, they likely could.  Just a matter of what you want out of the box really.  The one thing you should watch for is the cooler and power configuration.

August 29, 2012 | 01:43 PM - Posted by Pimpsmurf (not verified)

Ryan could you tell us what the idle temps were for these cards? Just to see comparison/jump to load temps.

August 29, 2012 | 02:08 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Sure, I'll try to get these for you.

August 29, 2012 | 01:51 PM - Posted by Yeno (not verified)

Correct me if I'm wrong Ryan, but don't these benchmarks basically show that the 660 ti is somewhat bottle necked by the memory bandwidth?

August 29, 2012 | 02:08 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Correct.  And we thought as much with the drop to a 192-bit memory bus width.

August 29, 2012 | 02:19 PM - Posted by mark (not verified)

Honestly knowing the memory situation, I recommend the card with the highest quality memory that can be overclocked because that alone is the performance boost for this card....I swear I read a review of a 660ti with some special memory chips...I dunno

August 29, 2012 | 02:26 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Haven't seen any like that yet...

August 29, 2012 | 02:20 PM - Posted by mark (not verified)

Oh yea and Kudos to Zotec with the shorter card! Good for smaller cases.

August 29, 2012 | 02:48 PM - Posted by krvi (not verified)

I ordered the Zotac card early (19th) since I have an SFF system and the Zotac card would be the only one to fit it.
I havent recieved it yet, but thank you for reassuring me that it was a good choise.
I have seen some sites claiming that zotac has a GTX 660 Ti Extreme edition in the making. While some say this is only intended for the chinese market, do you have any info on this and perhaps more specifics, like the size, of that card?

August 29, 2012 | 04:18 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Haven't heard anything yet, sorry.

August 29, 2012 | 04:39 PM - Posted by Thedarklord

Great read Ryan.

It is interesting to see just how much Kepler is affected by memory bandwidth and memory type.

Though we are seeing the downsides to GK104 being spread out as a entire product range, since GK104 was "meant" to be mid-range from the start. While the GTX 680/690/670/660 TI are great cards, they still dont target the "sweet spot" in my opinion, which is in the $150 - $250 ranges (aka cards like GTX 460/560 TI/ect).

#Side note: Do you need any more good reviewers/podcasters ;), lol.

August 30, 2012 | 01:33 AM - Posted by jakman220 (not verified)

I was able to overcloxk a stock 660 ti to within 10% of the speed and bandwidth of a GTX 670, which is realy great imho. The temps were below 75*C.

August 30, 2012 | 01:51 AM - Posted by jakman220 (not verified)

Yup I got my O.C. to 1038/1103/1815 w/a temp at 78*C max.

August 30, 2012 | 02:00 AM - Posted by jakman220 (not verified)

The card is a EVGA 660ti. Overclock the memory and you can overcome the bandwidth restriction. Then the $299 card becomes a real value especialy w/the Borderlands game included.

August 30, 2012 | 11:18 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Agreed, the $50-60 value of the game is pretty enticing considering it is just a current and big name title.

August 30, 2012 | 01:07 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

It will be interesting to hear MSI's reason for the 114% Power cap. Could it be intentional to keep the Power Edition 660 Ti from overclocking as high as the more expensive Lightening edition?

September 7, 2012 | 08:24 PM - Posted by Sixlef (not verified)

The gpu temperatures dont are rigthes

i have a msi 660 ti oc and my gpu temperatues all all times higths thand yours .

September 16, 2012 | 02:40 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

got my msi 660ti to 1145/1223 and the memory to 1727mhz resulting in just about 7000mhz with afterburner,3dmark11 standard run P 8735 with those settings P 9237.
pretty good,but the memory bandwith just sucks,metro 2033 on high settings and 4xMsaa and 16xaf i cant get more than 30fps-35fps often dropping below that in intense scenes.
do yourself a favour and spend extra for a gtx 670 as you can run even very high settings and still preform better than a 660ti,and i play only on a 1920x1080 screen.a recent test revealed that even a AMD 7750 performs better with msaa and af settings put to max due to the memory bandwith.

April 3, 2013 | 06:29 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I just purchased 2 EVGA GTX 660 TI SC+ 3GB and they are only hitting 60C under load. I'm not sure if something was changed in the 3GB version or if I just have a good card.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.