Review Index:
Feedback

Galaxy GeForce GTX 670 GC 4GB Graphics Card Review

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: Galaxy

Unigine Heaven v2.5

Heaven Benchmark (DirectX 11)


 

Heaven Benchmark is a DirectX 11 GPU benchmark based on advanced Unigine™ engine from Unigine Corp. It reveals the enchanting magic of floating islands with a tiny village hidden in the cloudy skies. Interactive mode provides emerging experience of exploring the intricate world of steampunk.

  • Support of DirectX 9, DirectX 10, DirectX 11 and OpenGL 4.0
  • Comprehensive use of tessellation technology
  • Advanced SSAO (screen-space ambient occlusion)
  • Volumetric cumulonimbus clouds generated by a physically accurate algorithm
  • Simulation of changing light conditions
  • Dynamic sky with light scattering
  • Interactive experience with fly/walk-through modes
  • Stereo 3D modes:
    • Anaglyph
    • Separate images
    • 3D Vision
    • iZ3
 
 

Unigine Heaven Test Settings

View Full Size

While the Unigine Heaven test is more shader and tessellation intensive than it is memory bound, the Galaxy card sees a notable boost over the stock GTX 670 and creeps up pretty close to the GTX 680 card.

August 14, 2012 | 08:19 PM - Posted by Nilbog

Great review. What a cool card.
I'm glad you guys did a review on one of these custom cards with the extra VRAM. I'm very interested in the improvements of custom cards vs reference cards.
Clearly there are some advantages.

Just want to comment on the use of VRAM at 1080P. While i don't disagree with you.
I would just like to point out that extra VRAM does come in handy when modding textures and stuff in games, specifically in Bethesda games. I like many others like to install custom textures for Fallout and Skyrim, because the default ones just aren't very impressive anymore. Also because if you have a high end card you have tons of extra headroom horsepower wise. Anyway i have tons of texture mods for Skyrim and Fallout that can end up using literally all of my VRAM on my 6970 at 1080P in many areas.

August 14, 2012 | 11:44 PM - Posted by Badengrish (not verified)

Very nice review.

I've been looking forward to seeing how this card stacks up against its similar competition for using NVSurround. Looks like a GTX 670 GC 4GB is the card to have. I too am looking to use this to texture ME1-3 as well as the monster known as GTAIV and Dragon Age.

Will there ever be a review of these in SLI?

August 27, 2012 | 07:24 AM - Posted by TinkerToyTech

Can this one card be used to drive an HD TV, and 3 monitors in or out of eyefinity? I want to display a TV on on screen and have 3 monitor computing, not hardcore gaming but along those lines. I don't play many games, but I'm looking for a card that can do this. I currently run 3 heads off of a 6950/70 and run the TV off the z68 gigabyte iSSD mobo. THe current setup works, but I'm looking to upgrade...

August 28, 2012 | 09:46 AM - Posted by D1RTYD1Z619

yes it can run a TV and 3 monitors. You just have to use the correct outputs for each display.

October 17, 2012 | 12:18 PM - Posted by smochina4000 (not verified)

I have "ASUS Crosshair II Formula" motherboard. I bought two "Galaxy GTX 670 Gc 4Gb"for SLi. I put them in PCI slots, but they don't work. I flash the CMOS of motherboard, nothig. The computer stay with this image: " NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 VGA Bios V 4293 Version 80.04.31.00.3F Copyright (C) 1996- 2012 Nvidia COrp." What is this? I also have a new motherboard "ASUS Crosshair V FormulA-Z" which I have not installed it yet. What should I do? You have any idea what might be? Thank you.

February 14, 2014 | 10:58 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

reset up your computer with one card
update software enable sli mode in the gpu software then add second card

December 20, 2012 | 10:47 AM - Posted by chris terrill (not verified)

will this work with my computer its a hp and it has a core i7, windows 7 premium, intel family graphics card it think sorry i dont know much about computer spec and what able to run on it and other things like that

December 29, 2012 | 04:21 PM - Posted by Badengrish (not verified)

@Chris
Yes, one of the cards should fit your motherboard. You will most likely have to use the molex adapters that come with the card to properly power it.

January 6, 2013 | 02:51 AM - Posted by chris terrill (not verified)

@badengrish

Thank you very much for the info

January 9, 2013 | 09:08 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

@chris

Unless the psu is from a name brand like enrmax/ozc/antec/thermaltake/beQuiet etc., i would not risk destroying hardware to save a couple of bucks. A psu is the most important part in your system and the more stable the power source is, the better.

I would look at one from corsair (or any monorail/1x 12v rail).
very silent and stable psu with alot of power would be the builder series 600/700w or the TX650. Doesnt need to be modular...

Needs to have at least 35A on the 12v rail incase u wanna look for a different brand..

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.