Review Index:
Feedback

Galaxy GeForce GT 640 GC 1GB DDR3 Review - GK107 is no GK104

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: Galaxy

Analysis and Conclusions

Performance

There really isn’t much good news in this part of our story to tell you guys about – the NVIDIA GeForce GT 640, with 384 CUDA cores running at 950 MHz, falls well behind the performance of the similarly priced Radeon HD 7750 card and that is BEFORE the newer, higher clocked HD 7750s made their way to our office. Even with a 50 MHz overclock (5.5%), the Galaxy GeForce GT 640 GC 1GB card is behind in every single gaming test we threw at it, sometimes by as much as 50% or more. That not only gives the AMD card the win, but really puts the GT 640 in a completely different, and lower, class of gaming card.

View Full Size

In order for the GT 640 to make sense to consumers and to OEMs, NVIDIA and its partners are going to need to bring down that price.

Features

The one shining point for NVIDIA is that the GT 640 can support as many as 4 displays on a single card, though our Galaxy model only supported three. For NVIDIA, that is a good change of pace from being stuck in the dual display realm for years after AMD introduced Eyefinity. I am sure that more users will purchase the GT 640 with this feature as the ability to run three monitors at the same time is definitely an exciting prospect to those previously only using a single display.

Of the gaming features that made it to the GT 640, only Adaptive Vsync remains, a great technology to help smooth out gameplay and remove visual tearing about 60 FPS. There has been no integration of GPU Boost here though as NVIDIA seems to be saving that for the higher end cards only for now.

Pricing and Availability

At $99, the GeForce GT 640 is going to need some help to convince processor graphics users to upgrade to it rather than with the competing solutions. Here is the pricing summary:

The $10 price difference between the GT 640 and the HD 7750 shouldn’t be overlooked as at this market segment that is a 10% difference – notable for cost-conscious buyer and OEMs. Still, the 10% price increase seems more than worth it considering the often times HUGE performance advantages the Radeon HD 7750 accomplishes.

And of course the GT 640 will soon be the only option from NVIDIA in this exact price segment - with the GTX 450 slowly fading into the ether, users looking for an NVIDIA option will only find the new Kepler GK107 to replace it.

Final Thoughts

The Galaxy GeForce GT 640 GC 1GB card brings the world of NVIDIA Kepler and the new GK107 GPU with features like triple display support, Adaptive Vsync and a pretty cool flip up cooler design for really easy cleaning.

View Full Size

The problem is that is really all the Galaxy card has to offer – the GT 640 GPU just isn’t impressive in any other light at the $99 price tag. If Galaxy and NVIDIA were to offer this at the $70 mark we might be able to make a case for the price differential relative to the performance gap, but as it stands now, that is nearly impossible to do.

June 21, 2012 | 03:53 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

If this is not a complete waste of a card i dont know what is. looks like im buying a 6770... or an ageing 450...

June 21, 2012 | 10:18 AM - Posted by HM (not verified)

did you try some overclock on this card? particularly the core,
this card as it is is far from a good choice at its price point, BUT with DDR5 and a higher clock it could probably compete well with the 550 Ti,
and that's one of the reasons why I think there is no GT 640 DDR5 right now... high demand for gk107 on mobile and OEM!? and still significant stocks of old gf106 stuff for sale (GTS 450, GTX 550 Ti)?
it's the only explanation I can see...

June 21, 2012 | 10:14 PM - Posted by God (not verified)

Would this make a good dedicated physx card?

June 23, 2012 | 07:08 AM - Posted by rrr (not verified)

Damn, that's pretty bad.

June 30, 2012 | 09:36 PM - Posted by Raghar (not verified)

Where is comparison to GT 440? Comparing GT 640 to GTS 450 is like comparing GTX 550 TI to GTX 460.

BTW can you post synthetic from CUDA-Z, I'd like to see if float to double precision, and float to integer, ratios are the same as on GF 104.

July 4, 2012 | 06:59 AM - Posted by rrr (not verified)

If prices are as they are now, this is a perfectly valid comparison.

July 14, 2012 | 01:51 PM - Posted by Bertisevil (not verified)

You wouldn't believe the amount of DDR5 GTS 450's & gen 2 460's im selling. Hell, the DDR5 440's outsell the 610,620 etc. 5-1.

GTS450 and the slim 550's are VERY popular for (ATX) HTPC use right now. With the exception of the 670,680 the entire 600 line is a total dud thus far..At least that what the consumers are saying with their wallets.

August 7, 2012 | 08:17 PM - Posted by Marcus (not verified)

One good use for the GT 640 - works OOB in a Mountain Lion hackintosh. Much faster than integrated HD 3000

August 12, 2012 | 02:34 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Which GT 640 did you use? The one reviewed here?

October 1, 2012 | 07:36 PM - Posted by Brian (not verified)

Hello guys, just wondering how does this card comapre to the nvidia gt240 i have with 1 gb ram ddr5.im looking to boost the graphics a bit.it has to fit into a hp case at the moment so i cant do a big card and the other limit im having is my 350 watt power supply,are the cuda cores the most important thing to look for or clock speed ?? thanks

December 26, 2012 | 09:43 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

If your on a budget and cant upgrade PSU

Galaxy - GeForce GT 440 1GB DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 Graphics Card

Is about as good as it gets.

I dont recommend buying the 640 if your PSU is rated at 350, because its pushing it, your system uses some of that 350 up already. It might be fine, but might not be either.

December 26, 2012 | 09:40 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Its a valid review, but its missing the big sellingpoint of the NVIDIA 640.

Its a little faster then the 440 or 450 and It uses 350w power vs 300w power.

If your on a budget, don't really game, maybe only play one game like WOW or Diablo III. This is an amazing card.

I really didnt want to spend 200$ and buy a 150$ card + a new PSU just for 20~ fps

This is perfect for modded minecraft and a bit of light work in blender and other art programs.

January 4, 2013 | 06:50 AM - Posted by Roger Willington (not verified)

I am happy with this graphics card but I am no expert. I can run Starcraft 2 on Ultra settings and Train Simulator 2013 on High settings. Milkdrop looks great. I can't run everything at full hd but it runs quietly.

January 14, 2013 | 01:07 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Can the GT 640 support 3 displays out of the box without any active adaptors?

January 22, 2013 | 10:56 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

You guys have absolutely no idea what you're talking about.

This card could easily run any game you throw at it at modest resolutions on medium to high settings.

Unless you're playing on a 40 inch display or multiple 20 - 30 inch displays, you're not going to be able to tell the difference visually between high and ultra in 90% of the games out there.

The GT 640 (And the GT 440) are probably two of the best budget cards on the market from NVidia.

March 22, 2013 | 11:10 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I agree the GT440 DDR5 is one of the most underrated cards, Ive been using it for a couple years now and have it overclocked to almost 900 mhz and it plays all of my games well, not everyone has the money for the high end cards, Im gonna try this card out soon.

April 5, 2013 | 12:12 AM - Posted by Getz (not verified)

I just picked this card up a week ago or so for about 80 dollars at my local best buy. I'm running an aged Core 2 Duo 2.13gh and a limited 375watt psu. I was originally using a GeForce 9500GT...I am in that realm where I don't have money to throw out on a whole bunch of crap for a PC right now - - but I needed a little extra horsepower to play games like Tomb Raider and such. 6 or 8 months from now - -I may be in a better situation...but for now - - I had limited options and took a gamble on the 640 (This exact card, incidentally). So far, it rocks. Paired with this older processor and such...I don't really notice any of the "limitations" drawn from only having DDR3 ram and such. I am not rocking a Core i7 in this thing. I have a Core i7 machine back home with my parents that is running a 560 Ti - but i'm in Virginia..that thing is in Florida - - gotta do what I can with what I got. I'm also running on a 1280x1024 display, so I don't have super high resolutions to try and run at either. And oddly I can play Battlefield 3 Campaign with my presets from my Core i7 machine which are all Ultra. Don't really know why it's playable or if it's just a bug, but it seems to work just fine and without any really noticeable lag, will have to load up fraps and check the framerate. But in the end, for anyone with technical restraints and monetary restraints, I can say that this card is worth it... If you can get it under 100 dollars - - it's definitely worth it, and even more so if on an older machine like me.

December 2, 2013 | 10:35 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

can the galaxy geforce gt 640 support 300w psu?

February 3, 2014 | 02:25 AM - Posted by Josh from Georgia (not verified)

Yes, it can, very suprisingly. Just expect to make a few tradeoffs.

I originally bought this exact card from Best Buy to put in my aging Dell machine on a Pentium 4 3ghz with 4gb of DDR2. FAR from modern modest specs, but I was on a budget.

Recently I upgraded to a budget gaming desktop (Also from Best Buy), the Gateway DX4885, which has a 3.16 ghz Core i5 with 8gb of DDR3. I got the system home and found out that they used a BTX Power Connector with a meager 300w supply, which makes upgrading next to impossible without changing the motherboard or buying from Gateway directly. I plan to eventually change out the board for something mainstream with more features, with an ATX connector, since the case itself is a regulard ATX case with a non-standard motherboard and supply. I have a 450w supply I had only recently purchased when the supply died on the replaced machine.

TL:DR

The GT640 would not boot without disconnecting the DVD drive, due to lack of power wattage. Howevever, removing power to the DVD drive (which I rarely need anyway) left me with enough wattage to power both the graphics card, and to also use the dvd SATA and power connectors for an extra notebook-size 1.5 TB HDD.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.