Review Index:
Feedback

Frame Rating: High End GPUs Benchmarked at 4K Resolutions

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: Various

Sleeping Dogs - $999 Level

Sleeping Dogs (DirectX 11)


 

Welcome to Hong Kong, a vibrant neon city teeming with life, whose exotic locations and busy streets hide one of the most powerful and dangerous criminal organizations in the world: the Triads. In this open world game, you play the role of Wei Shen, an undercover cop trying to take down the Triads from the inside out. You'll have to prove yourself worthy as you fight your way up the organization, taking part in brutal criminal activities without blowing your cover. Torn between your loyalty to the badge and a criminal code of honor, you will risk everything as the lines between truth, loyalty and justice become permanently blurred

Our settings for Sleeping Dogs

For 3840x2160 testing we lowered AA to "High"

View Full Size

View Full Size

With the new prototype driver the Radeon HD 7990 and the GTX 690 are running neck and neck, with maybe a VERY slight nod to the AMD card.  The currently available drivers put the HD 7990 in an opposite position though, way at the bottom of our observed frame rate data.  The Titan finds itself well behind the performance of the GTX 690 as well.

View Full Size

The frame time data tells the story of the charts above in more detail.  The observed frame rate of the HD 7990 with the 13.5 beta driver is much lower due to the runt frame issues we have seen over and over on CrossFire setups.  The prototype driver makes a huge difference though and we are hoping AMD can get that driver out and ready for the June/July time frame.  The GTX Titan as the tightest frame time result though the GTX 690 is not far behind.

View Full Size

Clearly the prototype driver is an important project for AMD. With it, the HD 7990 competes well with the GTX 690 but without it...things aren't impressive at all.  Interestingly, the GTX Titan is much slower than the GTX 690 in this case (31%) even though it has more consistent frame times.

View Full Size

Both lines for the GTX Titan and the GTX 690 show very low frame time variance with the HD 7990 using the prototype driver right behind it. 

 

View Full Size

View Full Size

The NVIDIA GeForce GTX Titan cars are scaling very well as we reach up into the world of triple SLI.  There are a couple of noticeable dips in average frame rate that would indicate some frame time drops.

View Full Size

Sleeping Dogs frame times look fantastic in single and dual-GPU configs but vary a bit more once we start using the third GTX Titan.  Still, the performance does increase with the addition of that third card and the gains seem worth it - if you have the budget.

View Full Size

Average frame rates jump from 35 FPS with a single card to 68 FPS with a pair of Titans (1.94x) and then to 97 FPS with three Titans (2.77x)!

View Full Size

Frame time variance is definitely higher on the 3-Way SLI GTX Titans but we are still very low on the scale.

 

Looking for native 4K captures of our Sleeping Dogs gameplay?  Have fun!

Download the MP4 (270MB)

May 6, 2013 | 08:11 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I found this just now browsing my bookmarks.

http://benchmark3d.com/micro-stutter-checker

May 8, 2013 | 02:54 PM - Posted by BHawthorne (not verified)

It amuses me that the 30hz limitation is unimportant in the review. It shows a fundamental lack of understanding on people's computing needs. Get back with me when we have DisplayPort 1.2 on the thing and some real bandwidth to push practical hz.

May 10, 2013 | 02:23 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have this display hooked into a WC titan/ OC 3770K rig. Once you get into the service menu and turn off the TV signal processing crap and adjust the lighting, the Seiki works wonderfully as a monitor for anything windows 2D... No mouse lag or skipping whatsoever. So its QED from that perspective... Simply astonishing clarity and real estate.

Gaming? Again, disable all the tV SP crap... You are still limited by 1) signal transmission tech, and 2) this $1100 panel (yes... Search for it) can only do 30Hz refresh at UHD. At lower rez it does much higher refresh. 60Hz UHD will be a year or more before it's "affordable". At 1440p this panel looks amazing when gaming.

May 12, 2013 | 01:54 PM - Posted by Ted G (not verified)

Question for you...
I purchased this TV and have a 4K up-scaling receiver. I would like to try it on my computer but my GTX 550 can't run that resolution. I am not a gamer but do a lot with photoshop & video editing. Is there a less expensive solution for video cards (must have HDMI out)? There isn't a lot on the internet about this subject.

May 12, 2013 | 03:33 PM - Posted by Ted G (not verified)

Question for you...
I purchased this TV and have a 4K up-scaling receiver. I would like to try it on my computer but my GTX 550 can't run that resolution. I am not a gamer but do a lot with photoshop & video editing. Is there a less expensive solution for video cards (must have HDMI out)? There isn't a lot on the internet about this subject.

May 12, 2013 | 04:39 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

For desktop work, any low end 7-series AMD or 6-series NVidia should do it. You really do not need a high end card for windows desktop work.

Seiki just pubed a firmware update that some say addresses occasional (and very panel specific) handshake loos (1sec) BUT it knocks out the audio! Seiki responded that they are working on the problem. Seems like a lot of postprocessing and special EFX pros are buying these. (see reduser.net forum).

May 12, 2013 | 04:40 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

check reduser.net forum

May 13, 2013 | 08:32 AM - Posted by Ted G (not verified)

Thanks

July 9, 2013 | 09:20 PM - Posted by Amtrak (not verified)

Which Radeon 7990 did you use and did it require an adapter to do HDMI?

July 10, 2013 | 01:52 AM - Posted by Mattycee (not verified)

I grabbed on these Seiki TV's and currently am using it as a monitor. I have a GTX680 and am looking at upgrading to a GTX690.
What I wanted to make sure is that the DVI-D to HMDI adapter is enough to run the full resolution of the TV? I am sure that it is as you have tested it as I dont think that GTX690's have HDMI do they?

Hope you can advise?

Thanks

July 31, 2013 | 05:44 AM - Posted by Anonying (not verified)

teeeeheeeeeee

August 4, 2013 | 07:47 PM - Posted by Nikos (not verified)

Who would "invest in a 4K TV", taking into consideration that prices will only go down over time?

September 7, 2013 | 10:56 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

anything
My seiki 39" can do 2560x1440 @100hz
1920x1080 @120hz using gtx 680 4gb sli. I have come across this website a lot and watched the lengthy videos without ever finding this important piece of information. (create the resolutions and test them on the NVidia control panel).

September 19, 2013 | 08:08 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

AA is useless in 4K screen, even most of ps3 games don't use aa at 720P.

October 28, 2013 | 01:32 AM - Posted by Rob (not verified)

No point in running 4k? Haha what a joke I run quad sli GTX690's and a 4k panel and there is no way in hell I would ever consider dropping back to a lower resolution. The difference is massive

March 29, 2014 | 03:21 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

LOL try and play at 5760x1080

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.