Review Index:
Feedback

Frame Rating: High End GPUs Benchmarked at 4K Resolutions

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: Various

Far Cry 3 - Single GPU Cards

Far Cry 3 (DirectX 11)


 

Beyond the reach of civilization lies a lawless island ruled by violence. This is where you find yourself stranded, caught in a bloody conflict between psychotic warlords and indigenous rebels.  Encounter a disturbed and memorable cast of characters as you take a gritty journey to the dark side of humanity. Unravel a deep and emotional story of survival, written by a Writers Guild Award winner.

Our Settings for Far Cry 3

View Full Size

View Full Size

Single GPU results are consistent but are pretty low as well - we are only able to get 20 FPS on the Ultra preset with the GTX Titan card, so more than likely you should lower these options if you are playing at 4K. 

View Full Size

Frame times for all four cards are pretty consistent with only a handful of spikes/hitches seen in the GTX 680 2GB variant.

View Full Size

The Radeon HD 7970 GHz Edition is slightly faster than the GTX 680s but they are within just a few FPS of each other.

View Full Size

None of these cards showed any significant frame time variance.

 

View Full Size

View Full Size

Doubling up the card count results in much better frame rates start with the GTX Titan that is able to often hit the 40 FPS mark.  The GTX 680 cards scale really well but the Radeon HD 7970 CrossFire configuration with the 13.5 beta driver still has a lot of runt issues resulting much lower performance improvement.

View Full Size

Far Cry 3 and multi-GPU configurations definitely don't get along as even the NVIDIA cards have some noticeable variance.  The orange line though that represents the HD 7970s in CrossFire though look much worse though with a lot of alternating long and short frames.

View Full Size

Our FPS percentile graph points to an average frame rate of 37 FPS for the pair of GTX Titan cards and 26 FPS for both the 2GB and 4GB versions of the GTX 680 in SLI.

View Full Size

Frame time variance is much higher in our dual card testing than in our single card testing above, even for the GTX Titans in SLI, crossing the 10 ms level late its curve.  The GTX 680s in SLI see even more, crossing 10 ms at the 85th percentile.  Still, they are much better than the HD 7970s in CrossFire that hit more than 25 ms at the 80th percentile.

 

Looking for native 4K captures of our Far Cry 3 gameplay?  Have fun!

Download the MP4 (650MB)

May 6, 2013 | 08:11 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I found this just now browsing my bookmarks.

http://benchmark3d.com/micro-stutter-checker

May 8, 2013 | 02:54 PM - Posted by BHawthorne (not verified)

It amuses me that the 30hz limitation is unimportant in the review. It shows a fundamental lack of understanding on people's computing needs. Get back with me when we have DisplayPort 1.2 on the thing and some real bandwidth to push practical hz.

May 10, 2013 | 02:23 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have this display hooked into a WC titan/ OC 3770K rig. Once you get into the service menu and turn off the TV signal processing crap and adjust the lighting, the Seiki works wonderfully as a monitor for anything windows 2D... No mouse lag or skipping whatsoever. So its QED from that perspective... Simply astonishing clarity and real estate.

Gaming? Again, disable all the tV SP crap... You are still limited by 1) signal transmission tech, and 2) this $1100 panel (yes... Search for it) can only do 30Hz refresh at UHD. At lower rez it does much higher refresh. 60Hz UHD will be a year or more before it's "affordable". At 1440p this panel looks amazing when gaming.

May 12, 2013 | 01:54 PM - Posted by Ted G (not verified)

Question for you...
I purchased this TV and have a 4K up-scaling receiver. I would like to try it on my computer but my GTX 550 can't run that resolution. I am not a gamer but do a lot with photoshop & video editing. Is there a less expensive solution for video cards (must have HDMI out)? There isn't a lot on the internet about this subject.

May 12, 2013 | 03:33 PM - Posted by Ted G (not verified)

Question for you...
I purchased this TV and have a 4K up-scaling receiver. I would like to try it on my computer but my GTX 550 can't run that resolution. I am not a gamer but do a lot with photoshop & video editing. Is there a less expensive solution for video cards (must have HDMI out)? There isn't a lot on the internet about this subject.

May 12, 2013 | 04:39 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

For desktop work, any low end 7-series AMD or 6-series NVidia should do it. You really do not need a high end card for windows desktop work.

Seiki just pubed a firmware update that some say addresses occasional (and very panel specific) handshake loos (1sec) BUT it knocks out the audio! Seiki responded that they are working on the problem. Seems like a lot of postprocessing and special EFX pros are buying these. (see reduser.net forum).

May 12, 2013 | 04:40 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

check reduser.net forum

May 13, 2013 | 08:32 AM - Posted by Ted G (not verified)

Thanks

July 9, 2013 | 09:20 PM - Posted by Amtrak (not verified)

Which Radeon 7990 did you use and did it require an adapter to do HDMI?

July 10, 2013 | 01:52 AM - Posted by Mattycee (not verified)

I grabbed on these Seiki TV's and currently am using it as a monitor. I have a GTX680 and am looking at upgrading to a GTX690.
What I wanted to make sure is that the DVI-D to HMDI adapter is enough to run the full resolution of the TV? I am sure that it is as you have tested it as I dont think that GTX690's have HDMI do they?

Hope you can advise?

Thanks

July 31, 2013 | 05:44 AM - Posted by Anonying (not verified)

teeeeheeeeeee

August 4, 2013 | 07:47 PM - Posted by Nikos (not verified)

Who would "invest in a 4K TV", taking into consideration that prices will only go down over time?

September 7, 2013 | 10:56 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

anything
My seiki 39" can do 2560x1440 @100hz
1920x1080 @120hz using gtx 680 4gb sli. I have come across this website a lot and watched the lengthy videos without ever finding this important piece of information. (create the resolutions and test them on the NVidia control panel).

September 19, 2013 | 08:08 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

AA is useless in 4K screen, even most of ps3 games don't use aa at 720P.

October 28, 2013 | 01:32 AM - Posted by Rob (not verified)

No point in running 4k? Haha what a joke I run quad sli GTX690's and a 4k panel and there is no way in hell I would ever consider dropping back to a lower resolution. The difference is massive

March 29, 2014 | 03:21 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

LOL try and play at 5760x1080

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.