Review Index:
Feedback

Frame Rating: High End GPUs Benchmarked at 4K Resolutions

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: Various

Far Cry 3 - $999 Level

Far Cry 3 (DirectX 11)


 

Beyond the reach of civilization lies a lawless island ruled by violence. This is where you find yourself stranded, caught in a bloody conflict between psychotic warlords and indigenous rebels.  Encounter a disturbed and memorable cast of characters as you take a gritty journey to the dark side of humanity. Unravel a deep and emotional story of survival, written by a Writers Guild Award winner.

Our Settings for Far Cry 3

View Full Size

View Full Size

Now that we are up to the $999 cards we are seeing some more impressive performance.  The HD 7990 with the prototype driver is definitely looking the best, though the observed frame rates are lower than the FRAPS frame rates.  The gap is nothing compared to the HD 7990 with the 13.5 beta driver though.

View Full Size

Wow...that is...ugly.  The GTX Titan is the only card that has a reasonable frame time graph; it is very tight, especially in comparison to the other cards in our sets.  The blue line of the GTX 690 is better than either HD 7990 option but the prototype driver sees a big improvement over the currently 13.5 beta.

View Full Size

Even though the average frame rate (50th percentile) of the HD 7990 with the prototype driver is higher than the GTX 690, the frame rate quickly drops down the curve, going below the GTX 690 at the 55th percentile and below the GTX Titan at the 70th. 

View Full Size

The frame time variance shows the problems with multi-GPU options in Far Cry 3, especially at 4K resolutions.  The GTX Titan stays very low while the GTX 690 is adding 20 ms of frame variance for about 10% of the frames rendered.  The HD 7990 with the current driver is adding 20 ms for 75% of frames though!  With the updated prototype driver we see that decrease to 28% of frames.  Obviously the GTX 690 is the best multi-GPU card for Far Cry 3 at this quality level.

 

View Full Size

View Full Size

Our Titans appear to be scaling pretty well with two and three cards - with the exception of the nasty spike down at the end of the test run, seen in both 2-Way and 3-Way result. 

View Full Size

The frame times still show some scaling problems with SLI as we can tell the graphs are not nearly as tight and clean with two or three cards as they are with a single.  Interestingly though, the 3-Way result is a bit LESS variant than 2-Way!

View Full Size

Frame rates scale from 20 FPS to 38 FPS and to 52 FPS as we add in more GTX Titan cards, an impressive scaling rate of 1.9x and 2.6x.

View Full Size

Frame time variance is relatively low for the GTX Titan as we add more GPUs, indicating that the 6GB frame buffer is making a big difference for the GK110 architecture.  Also interesting to see is that the 3-Way configuration is indeed less variant than the 2-Way SLI result.

 

Looking for native 4K captures of our Far Cry 3 gameplay?  Have fun!

Download the MP4 (650MB)

May 5, 2013 | 08:19 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

So as I understand this new 4k tech - for desktop use only - does HDMI 1.4 spec only support 30hz refresh rates? If so, that would mean some very stuttery mouse movements (such as the difference between using 1080i and 1080p on the desktop). Very jittery mouse movement.

I am far less interested in what this new "inexpensive" new Seiki monitor can do for me in gaming and more for what it is capable of as far as desktop productivity. If my mouse if jumping around, or when trying to relocate a window, is terribly jittery and craptacular - then I will be waiting for the next gen of graphics support that will enable smooth desktop useage.

I am inclined to believe that it "should" be smooth, considering that 'eyefinity" can handle 6x1080p monitors smoothly. I would certainly love to replace the need for 6 monitors with 2 of these - which would technically provide more usable space.

Any input on this greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

May 6, 2013 | 05:11 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I found this just now browsing my bookmarks.

http://benchmark3d.com/micro-stutter-checker

May 8, 2013 | 11:54 AM - Posted by BHawthorne (not verified)

It amuses me that the 30hz limitation is unimportant in the review. It shows a fundamental lack of understanding on people's computing needs. Get back with me when we have DisplayPort 1.2 on the thing and some real bandwidth to push practical hz.

May 10, 2013 | 11:23 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have this display hooked into a WC titan/ OC 3770K rig. Once you get into the service menu and turn off the TV signal processing crap and adjust the lighting, the Seiki works wonderfully as a monitor for anything windows 2D... No mouse lag or skipping whatsoever. So its QED from that perspective... Simply astonishing clarity and real estate.

Gaming? Again, disable all the tV SP crap... You are still limited by 1) signal transmission tech, and 2) this $1100 panel (yes... Search for it) can only do 30Hz refresh at UHD. At lower rez it does much higher refresh. 60Hz UHD will be a year or more before it's "affordable". At 1440p this panel looks amazing when gaming.

May 12, 2013 | 10:54 AM - Posted by Ted G (not verified)

Question for you...
I purchased this TV and have a 4K up-scaling receiver. I would like to try it on my computer but my GTX 550 can't run that resolution. I am not a gamer but do a lot with photoshop & video editing. Is there a less expensive solution for video cards (must have HDMI out)? There isn't a lot on the internet about this subject.

May 12, 2013 | 12:33 PM - Posted by Ted G (not verified)

Question for you...
I purchased this TV and have a 4K up-scaling receiver. I would like to try it on my computer but my GTX 550 can't run that resolution. I am not a gamer but do a lot with photoshop & video editing. Is there a less expensive solution for video cards (must have HDMI out)? There isn't a lot on the internet about this subject.

May 12, 2013 | 01:39 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

For desktop work, any low end 7-series AMD or 6-series NVidia should do it. You really do not need a high end card for windows desktop work.

Seiki just pubed a firmware update that some say addresses occasional (and very panel specific) handshake loos (1sec) BUT it knocks out the audio! Seiki responded that they are working on the problem. Seems like a lot of postprocessing and special EFX pros are buying these. (see reduser.net forum).

May 12, 2013 | 01:40 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

check reduser.net forum

May 13, 2013 | 05:32 AM - Posted by Ted G (not verified)

Thanks

July 9, 2013 | 06:20 PM - Posted by Amtrak (not verified)

Which Radeon 7990 did you use and did it require an adapter to do HDMI?

July 9, 2013 | 10:52 PM - Posted by Mattycee (not verified)

I grabbed on these Seiki TV's and currently am using it as a monitor. I have a GTX680 and am looking at upgrading to a GTX690.
What I wanted to make sure is that the DVI-D to HMDI adapter is enough to run the full resolution of the TV? I am sure that it is as you have tested it as I dont think that GTX690's have HDMI do they?

Hope you can advise?

Thanks

July 31, 2013 | 02:44 AM - Posted by Anonying (not verified)

teeeeheeeeeee

August 4, 2013 | 04:47 PM - Posted by Nikos (not verified)

Who would "invest in a 4K TV", taking into consideration that prices will only go down over time?

September 7, 2013 | 07:56 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

anything
My seiki 39" can do 2560x1440 @100hz
1920x1080 @120hz using gtx 680 4gb sli. I have come across this website a lot and watched the lengthy videos without ever finding this important piece of information. (create the resolutions and test them on the NVidia control panel).

September 19, 2013 | 05:08 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

AA is useless in 4K screen, even most of ps3 games don't use aa at 720P.

October 27, 2013 | 10:32 PM - Posted by Rob (not verified)

No point in running 4k? Haha what a joke I run quad sli GTX690's and a 4k panel and there is no way in hell I would ever consider dropping back to a lower resolution. The difference is massive

March 29, 2014 | 12:21 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

LOL try and play at 5760x1080

July 23, 2014 | 09:00 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I got a seiki 4k tv 39in led and with vsync off yes I get screen tearing in some parts but with the 7990 it scales extremely well. It looks fantastic batman arkham origins looks phenomenal and it plays great. Crysis 3 I had to limit to medium settings and it played great as well. As long as you disable vsync you'll get similar fps to playing in 60hz. I got the tv on sale at tigerdirect for 300 bucks! Hell might as well try it! If you have the gpu to push it you will see a difference. All of my friends that came over did they were highly impressed.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.