Review Index:
Feedback

Frame Rating: High End GPUs Benchmarked at 4K Resolutions

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: Various

Crysis 3 - $999 Level

Crysis 3 (DirectX 11)


 

Master the power of the Nanosuit. Armor, Speed, Strength and the ability to cloak are the ingredients of the most effective tactical combat armor ever created. Suit up! It's all yours in Crysis 3.

Crysis 3 was run at 3840x2160 with FXAA enabled and High texture settings, High presets

 

View Full Size

View Full Size

The results from BF3 seem to be mostly repeated here with Crysis 3 in our $999 card level.  The Radeon HD 7990 with the prototype driver is able keep up with the GTX 690 at 4K resolutions and leaves the GTX Titan is 10 FPS average or more lower.  For today though, both NVIDIA options are well ahead of the experience you get with the HD 7990 and the 13.5 beta driver.

View Full Size

Frame times are much better with the prototype driver than with the current driver, but there are still some instances of frame runts that stand out.  The GTX 690 is a much more consistent experience and it shows in our real-world testing options here.  The Titan continues to be the most consistent, though is slower than the GTX 690 and HD 7990 with the new driver.

View Full Size

The GTX 690 and the HD 7990 with the prototype driver are running neck and neck, nearly 10 FPS faster than the GTX Titan. 

View Full Size

The prototype driver definitely improves frame variance and potential for game play stutter but the NVIDIA GTX 690 and Titan cards offer much better performances in this regard.

 

View Full Size

View Full Size

In our pure Titan testing you will see that we seem to have hit a CPU limit of some kind - the scaling between the 2-Way and 3-Way SLI configurations is pretty minimal. 

View Full Size

We definitely did not have Vsync or anything else turned on, but the performance of Crysis 3 would kind of indicate that we have hit some kind of wall.  The blue line that represents the set of three GTX Titan cards seems stuck at the 16 ms mark, give or take some spikes up or down. 

View Full Size

How did the scaling work?  The single card average frame rate was about 30 FPS, two Titans in SLI jump to 51 FPS (70%) and three Titans goes to 63 FPS (23%).  Not only that but the frame rate definitely trends downwards after the 85th percentile, ending in a 99th percentile performance actually under that of two card SLI.

View Full Size

Frame variance rates are pretty low on the 2-Way SLI but they do get more apparent as we jump to 3-Way SLI.

 

Looking for native 4K captures of our Crysis 3 gameplay?  Have fun!

Download the MP4 (631MB)

May 5, 2013 | 11:19 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

So as I understand this new 4k tech - for desktop use only - does HDMI 1.4 spec only support 30hz refresh rates? If so, that would mean some very stuttery mouse movements (such as the difference between using 1080i and 1080p on the desktop). Very jittery mouse movement.

I am far less interested in what this new "inexpensive" new Seiki monitor can do for me in gaming and more for what it is capable of as far as desktop productivity. If my mouse if jumping around, or when trying to relocate a window, is terribly jittery and craptacular - then I will be waiting for the next gen of graphics support that will enable smooth desktop useage.

I am inclined to believe that it "should" be smooth, considering that 'eyefinity" can handle 6x1080p monitors smoothly. I would certainly love to replace the need for 6 monitors with 2 of these - which would technically provide more usable space.

Any input on this greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

May 6, 2013 | 08:11 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I found this just now browsing my bookmarks.

http://benchmark3d.com/micro-stutter-checker

May 8, 2013 | 02:54 PM - Posted by BHawthorne (not verified)

It amuses me that the 30hz limitation is unimportant in the review. It shows a fundamental lack of understanding on people's computing needs. Get back with me when we have DisplayPort 1.2 on the thing and some real bandwidth to push practical hz.

May 10, 2013 | 02:23 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have this display hooked into a WC titan/ OC 3770K rig. Once you get into the service menu and turn off the TV signal processing crap and adjust the lighting, the Seiki works wonderfully as a monitor for anything windows 2D... No mouse lag or skipping whatsoever. So its QED from that perspective... Simply astonishing clarity and real estate.

Gaming? Again, disable all the tV SP crap... You are still limited by 1) signal transmission tech, and 2) this $1100 panel (yes... Search for it) can only do 30Hz refresh at UHD. At lower rez it does much higher refresh. 60Hz UHD will be a year or more before it's "affordable". At 1440p this panel looks amazing when gaming.

May 12, 2013 | 01:54 PM - Posted by Ted G (not verified)

Question for you...
I purchased this TV and have a 4K up-scaling receiver. I would like to try it on my computer but my GTX 550 can't run that resolution. I am not a gamer but do a lot with photoshop & video editing. Is there a less expensive solution for video cards (must have HDMI out)? There isn't a lot on the internet about this subject.

May 12, 2013 | 03:33 PM - Posted by Ted G (not verified)

Question for you...
I purchased this TV and have a 4K up-scaling receiver. I would like to try it on my computer but my GTX 550 can't run that resolution. I am not a gamer but do a lot with photoshop & video editing. Is there a less expensive solution for video cards (must have HDMI out)? There isn't a lot on the internet about this subject.

May 12, 2013 | 04:39 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

For desktop work, any low end 7-series AMD or 6-series NVidia should do it. You really do not need a high end card for windows desktop work.

Seiki just pubed a firmware update that some say addresses occasional (and very panel specific) handshake loos (1sec) BUT it knocks out the audio! Seiki responded that they are working on the problem. Seems like a lot of postprocessing and special EFX pros are buying these. (see reduser.net forum).

May 12, 2013 | 04:40 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

check reduser.net forum

May 13, 2013 | 08:32 AM - Posted by Ted G (not verified)

Thanks

July 9, 2013 | 09:20 PM - Posted by Amtrak (not verified)

Which Radeon 7990 did you use and did it require an adapter to do HDMI?

July 10, 2013 | 01:52 AM - Posted by Mattycee (not verified)

I grabbed on these Seiki TV's and currently am using it as a monitor. I have a GTX680 and am looking at upgrading to a GTX690.
What I wanted to make sure is that the DVI-D to HMDI adapter is enough to run the full resolution of the TV? I am sure that it is as you have tested it as I dont think that GTX690's have HDMI do they?

Hope you can advise?

Thanks

July 31, 2013 | 05:44 AM - Posted by Anonying (not verified)

teeeeheeeeeee

August 4, 2013 | 07:47 PM - Posted by Nikos (not verified)

Who would "invest in a 4K TV", taking into consideration that prices will only go down over time?

September 7, 2013 | 10:56 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

anything
My seiki 39" can do 2560x1440 @100hz
1920x1080 @120hz using gtx 680 4gb sli. I have come across this website a lot and watched the lengthy videos without ever finding this important piece of information. (create the resolutions and test them on the NVidia control panel).

September 19, 2013 | 08:08 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

AA is useless in 4K screen, even most of ps3 games don't use aa at 720P.

October 28, 2013 | 01:32 AM - Posted by Rob (not verified)

No point in running 4k? Haha what a joke I run quad sli GTX690's and a 4k panel and there is no way in hell I would ever consider dropping back to a lower resolution. The difference is massive

March 29, 2014 | 03:21 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

LOL try and play at 5760x1080

July 23, 2014 | 12:00 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I got a seiki 4k tv 39in led and with vsync off yes I get screen tearing in some parts but with the 7990 it scales extremely well. It looks fantastic batman arkham origins looks phenomenal and it plays great. Crysis 3 I had to limit to medium settings and it played great as well. As long as you disable vsync you'll get similar fps to playing in 60hz. I got the tv on sale at tigerdirect for 300 bucks! Hell might as well try it! If you have the gpu to push it you will see a difference. All of my friends that came over did they were highly impressed.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.