Review Index:
Feedback

Frame Rating: High End GPUs Benchmarked at 4K Resolutions

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: Various

Battlefield 3 - $999 Level

Battlefield 3 (DirectX 11)


 

Battlefield 3™ leaps ahead of its time with the power of Frostbite 2, DICE's new cutting-edge game engine. This state-of-the-art technology is the foundation on which Battlefield 3 is built, delivering enhanced visual quality, a grand sense of scale, massive destruction, dynamic audio and character animation utilizing ANT technology as seen in the latest EA SPORTS™ games.

Frostbite 2 now enables deferred shading, dynamic global illumination and new streaming architecture. Sounds like tech talk? Play the game and experience the difference!

Our Settings for Battlefield 3

Here is our testing run through the game, for your reference.

View Full Size

View Full Size

Keeping mind that we are testing the Radeon HD 7990 with both the 13.5 beta and the prototype driver, we see very different behavior.  The currently available driver sees a drop in perceived frame rate thanks to runt frame issues but that is lessened greatly with the driver build targeted for a June/July release.  Without that driver the HD 7990 is much slower than both the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 690 and the GTX Titan...but with it the power of the Tahiti GPUs is much better positioned to be the top performer. 

View Full Size

Frame times tell an interesting story as well, starting with the poor results seen by the current version of the Radeon HD 7990 driver.  The black line of the prototype driver makes a HUGE difference and allows it to nearly have the frame time consistency of the GTX 690.  The GTX Titan is definitely the smoothest performance but is also produces the highest frame times.

View Full Size

The HD 7990 with the prototype driver is able to hit nearly 50 FPS and the GTX 690 follows that with nearly 45 FPS average through the entirety of our run.  The Titan is much lower at 35 FPS but the currently performance of the HD 7990 with 13.5 beta driver falls to nearly 30 FPS.

View Full Size

The prototype driver definitely improves frame variance and lowers the potential stutter on the HD 7990 drastically but both the GeForce GTX 690 and GTX Titan maintain lower variances throughout the majority of our testing.  Only at about the 90th percentile does the GTX 690 surpass the HD 7990 with the prototype driver.

 

View Full Size

View Full Size

With the frame metering technology on the NVIDIA Kepler architecture there is very little variance between the FRAPS and the observed frame rates, though they do vary a bit more with 3-Way SLI.  Being able to run Battlefield 3 at 3840x2160 resolution at nearly 100 FPS is pretty damn impressive!

View Full Size

The hunter green line that represents the single Titan is very smooth and in reality so is the 2-Way SLI result.  The blue line for 3-Way Titan cards though definitely seems more variance - the band of color is thicker. 

View Full Size

50th percentile frame rates (which nearly matched the average) show Titan scaling from 35 FPS to 64 FPS to 93 FPS as we add in more $1000 graphics cards.  That is 82% scaling by adding the second card and another 45% when adding the third (262% from one to three Titans). 

View Full Size

Keeping an eye on the scale on the left hand side shows that even the 3-Way SLI has pretty minimal frame time variance in Battlefield 3. 

 

Looking for native 4K captures of our Battlefield 3 gameplay?  Have fun!

Download the MP4 (350MB)

May 6, 2013 | 08:11 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I found this just now browsing my bookmarks.

http://benchmark3d.com/micro-stutter-checker

May 8, 2013 | 02:54 PM - Posted by BHawthorne (not verified)

It amuses me that the 30hz limitation is unimportant in the review. It shows a fundamental lack of understanding on people's computing needs. Get back with me when we have DisplayPort 1.2 on the thing and some real bandwidth to push practical hz.

May 10, 2013 | 02:23 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have this display hooked into a WC titan/ OC 3770K rig. Once you get into the service menu and turn off the TV signal processing crap and adjust the lighting, the Seiki works wonderfully as a monitor for anything windows 2D... No mouse lag or skipping whatsoever. So its QED from that perspective... Simply astonishing clarity and real estate.

Gaming? Again, disable all the tV SP crap... You are still limited by 1) signal transmission tech, and 2) this $1100 panel (yes... Search for it) can only do 30Hz refresh at UHD. At lower rez it does much higher refresh. 60Hz UHD will be a year or more before it's "affordable". At 1440p this panel looks amazing when gaming.

May 12, 2013 | 01:54 PM - Posted by Ted G (not verified)

Question for you...
I purchased this TV and have a 4K up-scaling receiver. I would like to try it on my computer but my GTX 550 can't run that resolution. I am not a gamer but do a lot with photoshop & video editing. Is there a less expensive solution for video cards (must have HDMI out)? There isn't a lot on the internet about this subject.

May 12, 2013 | 03:33 PM - Posted by Ted G (not verified)

Question for you...
I purchased this TV and have a 4K up-scaling receiver. I would like to try it on my computer but my GTX 550 can't run that resolution. I am not a gamer but do a lot with photoshop & video editing. Is there a less expensive solution for video cards (must have HDMI out)? There isn't a lot on the internet about this subject.

May 12, 2013 | 04:39 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

For desktop work, any low end 7-series AMD or 6-series NVidia should do it. You really do not need a high end card for windows desktop work.

Seiki just pubed a firmware update that some say addresses occasional (and very panel specific) handshake loos (1sec) BUT it knocks out the audio! Seiki responded that they are working on the problem. Seems like a lot of postprocessing and special EFX pros are buying these. (see reduser.net forum).

May 12, 2013 | 04:40 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

check reduser.net forum

May 13, 2013 | 08:32 AM - Posted by Ted G (not verified)

Thanks

July 9, 2013 | 09:20 PM - Posted by Amtrak (not verified)

Which Radeon 7990 did you use and did it require an adapter to do HDMI?

July 10, 2013 | 01:52 AM - Posted by Mattycee (not verified)

I grabbed on these Seiki TV's and currently am using it as a monitor. I have a GTX680 and am looking at upgrading to a GTX690.
What I wanted to make sure is that the DVI-D to HMDI adapter is enough to run the full resolution of the TV? I am sure that it is as you have tested it as I dont think that GTX690's have HDMI do they?

Hope you can advise?

Thanks

July 31, 2013 | 05:44 AM - Posted by Anonying (not verified)

teeeeheeeeeee

August 4, 2013 | 07:47 PM - Posted by Nikos (not verified)

Who would "invest in a 4K TV", taking into consideration that prices will only go down over time?

September 7, 2013 | 10:56 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

anything
My seiki 39" can do 2560x1440 @100hz
1920x1080 @120hz using gtx 680 4gb sli. I have come across this website a lot and watched the lengthy videos without ever finding this important piece of information. (create the resolutions and test them on the NVidia control panel).

September 19, 2013 | 08:08 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

AA is useless in 4K screen, even most of ps3 games don't use aa at 720P.

October 28, 2013 | 01:32 AM - Posted by Rob (not verified)

No point in running 4k? Haha what a joke I run quad sli GTX690's and a 4k panel and there is no way in hell I would ever consider dropping back to a lower resolution. The difference is massive

March 29, 2014 | 03:21 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

LOL try and play at 5760x1080

July 23, 2014 | 12:00 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I got a seiki 4k tv 39in led and with vsync off yes I get screen tearing in some parts but with the 7990 it scales extremely well. It looks fantastic batman arkham origins looks phenomenal and it plays great. Crysis 3 I had to limit to medium settings and it played great as well. As long as you disable vsync you'll get similar fps to playing in 60hz. I got the tv on sale at tigerdirect for 300 bucks! Hell might as well try it! If you have the gpu to push it you will see a difference. All of my friends that came over did they were highly impressed.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.