Review Index:
Feedback

Frame Rating: GeForce GTX Titan, GeForce GTX 690, Radeon HD 7990 (HD 7970 CrossFire)

Summary Thus Far

Because of the complexity and sheer amount of data we have gathered using our Frame Rating performance methodology, we are breaking it up into several articles that each feature different GPU comparisons.  Here is the schedule:

Welcome to the second in our intial series of articles focusing on Frame Rating, our new graphics and GPU performance technology that drastically changes how the community looks at single and multi-GPU performance.  In the article we are going to be focusing on a different set of graphics cards, the highest performing single card options on the market including the GeForce GTX 690 4GB dual-GK104 card, the GeForce GTX Titan 6GB GK110-based monster as well as the Radeon HD 7990, though in an emulated form.  The HD 7990 was only recently officially announced by AMD at this years Game Developers Conference but the specifications of that hardware are going to closely match what we have here on the testbed today - a pair of retail Radeon HD 7970s in CrossFire. 

View Full Size

Will the GTX Titan look as good in Frame Rating as it did upon its release?

If you are just joining this article series today, you have missed a lot!  If nothing else you should read our initial full release article that details everything about the Frame Rating methodology and why we are making this change to begin with.  In short, we are moving away from using FRAPS for average frame rates or even frame times and instead are using a secondary hardware capture system to record all the frames of our game play as they would be displayed to the gamer, then doing post-process analyzation on that recorded file to measure real world performance.

Because FRAPS measures frame times at a different point in the game pipeline (closer to the game engine) its results can vary dramatically from what is presented to the end user on their display.  Frame Rating solves that problem by recording video through a dual-link DVI capture card that emulates a monitor to the testing system and by simply applying a unique overlay color on each produced frame from the game, we can gather a new kind of information that tells a very unique story.

View Full Size

The capture card that makes all of this work possible.

I don't want to spend too much time on this part of the story here as I already wrote a solid 16,000 words on the topic in our first article and I think you'll really find the results fascinating.  So, please check out my first article on the topic if you have any questions before diving into these results today!

 

Test System Setup
CPU Intel Core i7-3960X Sandy Bridge-E
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Memory Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 16GB
Hard Drive OCZ Agility 4 256GB SSD
Sound Card On-board
Graphics Card NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN 6GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 690 4GB
AMD Radeon HD 7970 CrossFire 3GB
Graphics Drivers AMD: 13.2 beta 7
NVIDIA: 314.07 beta (GTX 690)
NVIDIA: 314.09 beta (GTX TITAN)
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Operating System Windows 8 Pro x64

 

On to the results! 

Continue reading our review of the GTX Titan, GTX 690 and HD 7990 using Frame Rating!!

March 30, 2013 | 01:40 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Personally, I'll be the first to say that I could care less about ANY of this shit since I own a Sparkle Calibre 680 and a Galaxy 680 White to complement it.

:)

March 30, 2013 | 01:44 AM - Posted by Anon (not verified)

Just because you can post doesn't mean you have to.

March 30, 2013 | 06:35 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

The same applies to you as well.

June 2, 2013 | 11:11 PM - Posted by clearlice (not verified)

Soon after all these years I had been undertaking this exercising
pondering it was going to whip me in shape, wow!

March 31, 2013 | 12:02 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U8HVQXkeU8U&list=PLLpjKzWIuEfmHcyTF7Qxuh1...

^

Battlefield 4 running at 60FPS, 3K resolution on an AMD Radeon 7990.

PCPER=Fail!

March 31, 2013 | 03:20 PM - Posted by renz (not verified)

60 fps won't matter if it doesn't play as smooth as it should be. hence the whole point of these article

April 4, 2013 | 03:22 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

you mean at a reported 60 fps. as you can see by the charts above, reported versus actual is about a 2:1 ratio. so take that as the radeon running at 30 fps.

April 5, 2013 | 09:50 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

how stupid is this hole page comparing two 7970's and not a 7990

July 8, 2013 | 09:39 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

How stupid are you for not spelling whole right?

March 30, 2013 | 02:00 AM - Posted by rezes

you using still old drivers!!

AMD: 13.2 beta 7 ????

March 30, 2013 | 03:38 AM - Posted by Edge86 (not verified)

As you should have noticed also the NV Drivers where older (314.07 & 314.09 for TITAN). This is because he started a time ago to make these time-consuming tests. At that Moment the AMD Driver wasn't old. :)

Thanks Ryan for the interesting Frame Rating tests so far (and upcoming). Would it be possible the add 3-way & 4-way MGPU-Setups for an extra review in future?

Greetings,
Edge

March 30, 2013 | 05:37 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

LOL 13.2 beta 7 is SOO OOLLDD!!  :)

All of our testing was completed as of March 15th, and it was the latest driver as of that date.  And trust me, nothing that affects what we are seeing here is changed with the latest beta drivers. 

As for 3/4 card configs, we can do it, its just a time concern now.  

March 30, 2013 | 06:27 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Talk about being subjective.

Not everyone updates their drives like they change their underwear, dummy.

June 2, 2013 | 11:11 PM - Posted by Darlene (not verified)

Soon after all these years I had been carrying out
this physical exercise considering it was going to whip me in shape,
wow!

March 30, 2013 | 07:03 AM - Posted by Prodeous (not verified)

Totally agreed with you.

March 30, 2013 | 09:38 AM - Posted by rezes

Thank you for answering

March 30, 2013 | 03:46 PM - Posted by technogiant (not verified)

Would be interesting....I've heard else where that tricrossfire eliminates stuttering.....at least subjectively....would be good to shine the truth light of "frame rating" on that statement.

March 30, 2013 | 05:27 PM - Posted by arbiter

I doubt it eliminates the stuttering problem as it just increases FPS to a point you can't see it anymore. nvidia doesn't have stuttering cause its what they do on the hardware to prevent it which AMD doesn't but supportable gonna make a fix for in July which would have to be software fix.

April 2, 2013 | 01:16 AM - Posted by ThorAxe

I'd like to see that too. I used to run 4870x2 + 4870 in Tri-fire and I don't recall stutter. However, I have run 6870s in Crossfire and did notice issues in BFBC2.

I don't have problems with my GTX 570 SLI or GTX 680 SLI PCs.

It would be great to see older cards tested too.

April 1, 2013 | 10:30 AM - Posted by mfpterodactyl (not verified)

Oh, Ryan you rascal! Are you not familiar with the MO of the AMD diehards? These guys are more deluded than the Westboro baptist church.

Let me bring you up to speed.

The latest beta driver, released at 3am the night before, not available on the official AMD website, and available only through obscure links passed around by the AMD diehards, is the JESUS DRIVER THAT WILL FINALLY CHANGE EVERYTHING! It will unlock all the untold power that AMD diehards just KNEW was in their cards all along. This situation repeats EVERY SINGLE TIME a new beta driver is released, publicly or not.

To be perfectly honest you're throwing the diehards way too much of a bone by using beta drivers to begin with. You wouldn't review beta (non-production) hardware, now would you? But that's another discussion for another time.

I really am sorry Ryan for all the venom some people will spit at you now and in the future because you're the first tech journalist in quite a while to actually do some investigative journalism instead of being a press release parrot. There are a lot of people that appreciate all your hard work, please don't forget that. The real value in what you're doing is not just in evaluating current hardware and making better buying decisions, but in shaping the future of the industry. Because of your hard work, future hardware WILL run games more smoothly than they would otherwise, and for that we thank you. Thanks, Ryan.

April 3, 2013 | 12:32 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Hope and beta driver change. Praise be the new frame rate!
The future is here and this is the driver we have been waiting for! Honor be upon Catalyst Maker, the oceans are receding and all crossfire rigs now rise with this tiding of good joy!
Banished are the runts frames, in Abu Dhabi's name.
AlluAMDahkbar!

April 1, 2013 | 09:48 AM - Posted by steen (not verified)

I agree, 3/4-way multi gpu setups might show interesting results.

People are getting too hung up depending on their preference. This is genuinely interesting stuff, that has't been applied by end-user review sites before. Both IHVs have resources that are beyond anyone else. I don't buy for a minute that any of the major IHVs doesn't analyze the render pipeline in great detail.

March 30, 2013 | 02:22 AM - Posted by pdjblum

Ryan,

Great work you have done. Has Scott at techreport had anything to say about it?

March 30, 2013 | 01:19 PM - Posted by pdjblum

Disappointing that I never get a response from the staff. I have been a loyal reader for some time now, and do not get why you guys cannot once in a while respond.

March 30, 2013 | 01:39 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

I love you, and I care for you.  I just have no idea what Scott has communicated with Ryan about.

March 30, 2013 | 01:43 PM - Posted by pdjblum

Back at you Josh. Thanks for replying.

March 30, 2013 | 02:22 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I'd rather keep conversations between Scott and I private. 

March 30, 2013 | 03:01 PM - Posted by pdjblum

I was just hoping he was impressed with how far you have taken this thing. No doubt, your work has nvidia and amd taking notice, which is quite a thing.

March 30, 2013 | 05:29 PM - Posted by arbiter

nVidia made some tools that are used in this testing which pcper is in process of making their own up to move away from using nvidia made tools

April 2, 2013 | 08:45 PM - Posted by Tom Petersen (not verified)

I watch everything Ryan does:)

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.