Review Index:
Feedback

Frame Rating: GeForce GTX Titan, GeForce GTX 690, Radeon HD 7990 (HD 7970 CrossFire)

Summary Thus Far

Because of the complexity and sheer amount of data we have gathered using our Frame Rating performance methodology, we are breaking it up into several articles that each feature different GPU comparisons.  Here is the schedule:

Welcome to the second in our intial series of articles focusing on Frame Rating, our new graphics and GPU performance technology that drastically changes how the community looks at single and multi-GPU performance.  In the article we are going to be focusing on a different set of graphics cards, the highest performing single card options on the market including the GeForce GTX 690 4GB dual-GK104 card, the GeForce GTX Titan 6GB GK110-based monster as well as the Radeon HD 7990, though in an emulated form.  The HD 7990 was only recently officially announced by AMD at this years Game Developers Conference but the specifications of that hardware are going to closely match what we have here on the testbed today - a pair of retail Radeon HD 7970s in CrossFire. 

View Full Size

Will the GTX Titan look as good in Frame Rating as it did upon its release?

If you are just joining this article series today, you have missed a lot!  If nothing else you should read our initial full release article that details everything about the Frame Rating methodology and why we are making this change to begin with.  In short, we are moving away from using FRAPS for average frame rates or even frame times and instead are using a secondary hardware capture system to record all the frames of our game play as they would be displayed to the gamer, then doing post-process analyzation on that recorded file to measure real world performance.

Because FRAPS measures frame times at a different point in the game pipeline (closer to the game engine) its results can vary dramatically from what is presented to the end user on their display.  Frame Rating solves that problem by recording video through a dual-link DVI capture card that emulates a monitor to the testing system and by simply applying a unique overlay color on each produced frame from the game, we can gather a new kind of information that tells a very unique story.

View Full Size

The capture card that makes all of this work possible.

I don't want to spend too much time on this part of the story here as I already wrote a solid 16,000 words on the topic in our first article and I think you'll really find the results fascinating.  So, please check out my first article on the topic if you have any questions before diving into these results today!

 

Test System Setup
CPU Intel Core i7-3960X Sandy Bridge-E
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Memory Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 16GB
Hard Drive OCZ Agility 4 256GB SSD
Sound Card On-board
Graphics Card NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN 6GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 690 4GB
AMD Radeon HD 7970 CrossFire 3GB
Graphics Drivers AMD: 13.2 beta 7
NVIDIA: 314.07 beta (GTX 690)
NVIDIA: 314.09 beta (GTX TITAN)
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Operating System Windows 8 Pro x64

 

On to the results! 

Continue reading our review of the GTX Titan, GTX 690 and HD 7990 using Frame Rating!!

March 30, 2013 | 06:03 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

not trying to be a dick, but ignoring him doesn't make the answer obvious.

April 1, 2013 | 02:41 AM - Posted by CaptTomato (not verified)

Is there romance in the air?

March 30, 2013 | 05:58 AM - Posted by billeman

Hey Guys, these articles really confirm what I saw with a crossfired HD6950 setup, I noticed big stuttering (3dmark11 springs to mind) on a dual-card setup even though the FPS were double than the single card setup.
With one card it was much smoother even though the FPS were half.
I ended up putting one card in a drawer so that was a big waste of money.
Now running a single GTX TITAN.
I will only be running single GPU from now on so I bought the fastest single GPU...... Sorry AMD, been running you for years but you don't have the fastest GPU. Good luck anyway :)

One exception I would like to mention, I remember running Crysis Warhead with crossfire on 1920x1200, enabling VSYNC,
and being able to run at 60 FPS constantly. This setup didn't seem to be stuttering at all so it would be interesting to test crossfire with VSYNC when the game permits at least 60 FPS constantly.

Cheers, keep up to excellent work !

March 30, 2013 | 06:33 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Titan is a fucking POS card and is overpriced to Moon.

Buy either one of these:

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?Edp...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814187196

http://www.amazon.com/MSI-DisplayPort-PCI-Express-N680-2GD5/dp/B0090EC9IS

March 30, 2013 | 09:00 AM - Posted by Humanitarian

Opinions errywhere.

March 30, 2013 | 11:38 AM - Posted by bystander (not verified)

Did you even read the article?

March 30, 2013 | 12:01 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

c

March 30, 2013 | 12:01 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

No, I did not.

I could care less about what the article is on about actually, since the TITAN is THE most stupid card I've EVER seen in my life.

The only card that matters is the 7990 in this article.

And EVEN that is barely worthwhile, because of all these skipping frametimes and shit.

My weasel is stronger than your fucking stupid TITAN.

March 30, 2013 | 12:28 PM - Posted by bystander (not verified)

Don't you think you have an obligation to know what you are complaining about before you troll?

March 30, 2013 | 12:30 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

I do.

It's explained right in there over the TechSpot site, over TechReport and ON here and on some other tech sites as well, at least, from what I heard.

My weasel is really hot. So will be my new sports car.

April 1, 2013 | 02:43 AM - Posted by CaptTomato (not verified)

Titan is an excellent card, just hideously over overpriced.

March 30, 2013 | 05:31 PM - Posted by arbiter

its his money to spend on what ever he wants.

April 2, 2013 | 10:37 PM - Posted by salesATbossrigsDOTcom (not verified)

You sir, are a f*cking idiot.

May 10, 2013 | 10:08 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Eat a fuckin dick John. And shove ya 680 up your arse

May 10, 2013 | 10:09 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Eat a fuckin dick John. And shove ya 680 up your arse

May 11, 2013 | 12:52 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Eat a fuckin dick John. And shove ya 680 up your arse

March 30, 2013 | 12:21 PM - Posted by billeman

Going to reply to my own comment, it seems people get really exited about this and start trolling and calling people names. Quite disappointing. Now, I'm 41 years old, maybe that's the problem :-) For all those people who are able to give their opinion without being rude to others, kudos, your comments are well appreciated.

March 30, 2013 | 12:33 PM - Posted by Daniel Masterson (not verified)

Here here sir. This guy is 54 years old and has nothing better to do than troll this awesome tech site. If you are interested in a laugh I have started a little thing called the John D. Show. You should check it out!

March 30, 2013 | 12:56 PM - Posted by billeman

-

March 30, 2013 | 12:56 PM - Posted by billeman

-

March 30, 2013 | 12:59 PM - Posted by billeman

John D Geek, the show ? Is that it :)

March 30, 2013 | 08:37 AM - Posted by Mac (not verified)

Maybe I missed it , but is there an explanation as to why the radeons didn't give an data at the highest resolution in some of those runs? what do you mean by "reliable data"?

March 30, 2013 | 07:06 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Check first article page on Eyefinity.

March 30, 2013 | 09:47 AM - Posted by 6GB Guy (not verified)

Grat work Ryan, keep it up. I was considering a crossfire setup but seeing this has helped reassure me to save up for a Titan ... Or two...

March 30, 2013 | 09:48 AM - Posted by Luciano (not verified)

Huge mistake: A 7990 cannot be "emulated" by a pair of 7970 since the the "bridge" is done onboard.

March 30, 2013 | 11:15 AM - Posted by Anon (not verified)

This site is somehow harvesting its momentum with all this AMD bashing.

The unreleased HD7990 can't implement frame metering like Kepler cards do.

Anyway we don't really know how's that Nv's frame metering affecting to input lag.

March 30, 2013 | 02:25 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

That's....just not true. You can precisely emulate it. There will be very little difference. 

March 31, 2013 | 02:12 PM - Posted by Luciano (not verified)

You are right. I was wrong: third parties used a Lucid chip in the past for dual GPU instead of the AMD reference bridge. But the latency remained the same except for the case where the dual-GPU board was paired with at least a third card:

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/radeon-geforce-stutter-crossfire,299...

Interesting note:
Back in 2011, it already took 3 AMD gpus + Lucid Bridge to get the smoothness of 2 nVidia

April 2, 2013 | 01:49 PM - Posted by Truth seeker (not verified)

It also CANNOT be reproduced as the boards that are currently 7970 x 2 are NOT 7990!!!!

The 7990 is going to be based off of a CGN respin similar to the 7790 (respin). The conclusions cannot even accurately refer to the 7990 without pointing out this is an NVIDIA sponsored site, as the 7990 is not even released.

What a joke to discuss an unreleased part and not only that, reflect so negatively on it.

April 2, 2013 | 01:50 PM - Posted by Truth seeker (not verified)

It also CANNOT be reproduced as the boards that are currently 7970 x 2 are NOT 7990!!!!

The 7990 is going to be based off of a CGN respin similar to the 7790 (respin). The conclusions cannot even accurately refer to the 7990 without appearing to be an NVIDIA sponsored site, as the 7990 is not even released.

What a joke to discuss an unreleased part and not only that, reflect so negatively on it.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.