Review Index:
Feedback

Frame Rating: Eyefinity vs Surround in Single and Multi-GPU Configurations

Author:
Manufacturer: Various

Summary of Events

In January of 2013 I revealed a new testing methodology for graphics cards that I dubbed Frame Rating.  At the time I was only able to talk about the process, using capture hardware to record the output directly from the DVI connections on graphics cards, but over the course of a few months started to release data and information using this technology.  I followed up the story in January with a collection of videos that displayed some of the capture video and what kind of performance issues and anomalies we were able to easily find. 

My first full test results were published in February to quite a bit of stir and then finally in late March released Frame Rating Dissected: Full Details on Capture-based Graphics Performance Testing which dramatically changed the way graphics cards and gaming performance was discussed and evaluated forever. 

Our testing proved that AMD CrossFire was not improving gaming experiences in the same way that NVIDIA SLI was.  Also, we showed that other testing tools like FRAPS were inadequate in showcasing this problem.  If you are at all unfamiliar with this testing process or the results it showed, please check out the Frame Rating Dissected story above.

At the time, we tested 5760x1080 resolution using AMD Eyefinity and NVIDIA Surround but found there were too many issues and problems with our scripts and the results they were presenting to give reasonably assured performance metrics.  Running AMD + Eyefinity was obviously causing some problems but I wasn’t quite able to pinpoint what they were and how severe it might have been.  Instead I posted graphs like this:

View Full Size

We were able to show NVIDIA GTX 680 performance and scaling in SLI at 5760x1080 but we only were giving results for the Radeon HD 7970 GHz Edition in a single GPU configuration.

 

Since those stories were released, AMD has been very active.  At first they were hesitant to believe our results and called into question our processes and the ability for gamers to really see the frame rate issues we were describing.  However, after months of work and pressure from quite a few press outlets, AMD released a 13.8 beta driver that offered a Frame Pacing option in the 3D controls that enables the ability to evenly space out frames in multi-GPU configurations producing a smoother gaming experience.

View Full Size

The results were great!  The new AMD driver produced very consistent frame times and put CrossFire on a similar playing field to NVIDIA’s SLI technology.  There were limitation though: the driver only fixed DX10/11 games and only addressed resolutions of 2560x1440 and below.

But the story won’t end there.  CrossFire and Eyefinity are still very important in a lot of gamers minds and with the constant price drops in 1920x1080 panels, more and more gamers are taking (or thinking of taking) the plunge to the world of Eyefinity and Surround.  As it turns out though, there are some more problems and complications with Eyefinity and high-resolution gaming (multi-head 4K) that are cropping up and deserve discussion.

Continue reading our investigation into AMD Eyefinity and NVIDIA Surround with multi-GPU solutions!!

September 17, 2013 | 07:22 PM - Posted by Alien0227

PcPer.com, I am one of those "that are invested in the HD 7000-series of graphics cards and have already purchased their Eyefinity configurations on the promise of a great experience".

I thank you for your hard work PcPer! I am truly grateful!

Because of it so far, I have seen a dramatic improvement in single screen Xfire game play with my 2 HD 7870s.

I did however invest in triple 1920 x 1080p screens, 2 HD 7870s and I wish I could be rewarded with the performance expectations I paid for. The experience would be awesome.

I only hope AMD will strive to keep me as a loyal customer by listening to your findings and offer a solution shortly to this Eyefinity-CrossFire problem.

You and AMD will have my undying loyalty and gratitude for it.

If AMD does, it will surely make them the king of the hill in value, for dollar per dollar performance...

Are you listening AMD? Is this make or break time for your company? My next GPU purchase depends on how you react. I wish AMD great success!

p.s. Ryan and PcPer.com Team. Please be confident that you are doing a great service to AMD in the long run and their customers.

Marc Senecal
Fort Myers, FL

September 17, 2013 | 09:42 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Marc, thank you very much for your comments and feedback.  We greatly appreciate the support!

September 18, 2013 | 04:10 AM - Posted by j (not verified)

I'm sorry but I have to correct you: gaming equipment is not an INVESTMENT. Unless you're a pro gamer is a consumer spending.

Anyway, I wish you all the best fun with your new hardware :)

September 18, 2013 | 10:21 AM - Posted by Aranyszin (not verified)

This is no place for a grammar Nazi, and you aren't even correct in the first place.

Yes, the word "investment" is often associated with money spent expecting a monetary return. However, that is not the only usage of the word.

The poster clearly is "invested" considering the amount of money he spent, which he spent anticipating a return - in this case, a return in performance.

Honestly, contribute something useful to the topic or stay quiet. This thread is about obtaining a correction to a product flaw, not "How to parse nomenclature".

September 18, 2013 | 10:03 PM - Posted by Roy Taylor (not verified)

Dear Marc, yes we are definitely listening. Drop me a line direct.

best regards
Roy

January 28, 2014 | 08:20 AM - Posted by Roy Taylor (not verified)

hi Marc, I can assure you that myself and several other senior executives and engineers at AMD are deeply committed to making sure you get the experience you deserve.

We believe that Ryan treats this subject fairly, reports accurately and he works closely with us. We are grateful of his recognition of our leadership where we have it, even if I dont personally agree about our competitors 'sexyness'!

We will back with more on this shortly,
thanks

August 20, 2014 | 01:59 AM - Posted by Lyn (not verified)

{
{I have|I've} been {surfing|browsing} online more than {three|3|2|4} hours today, yet I never found any interesting article
like yours. {It's|It is} pretty worth enough for me. {In myy opinion|Personally|In my view}, iif all {webmasters|site owners|website owners|web owners} and bloggers made good content as you did, the {internet|net|web} will be {much more|a lot more} useful than ever before.|
I {couldn't|could not} {resist|refrain from} commenting.
{Very well|Perfectly|Well|Exceptionally well} written!|
{I will|I'll} {right away|immediately} {take holkd of|grab|clutch|grasp|seize|snatch} your
{rss|rss feed} aas I {can not|can't} {in finding|find|to find} your {email|e-mail} subscription {link|hyperlink} or {newsletter|e-newsletter} service.
Do {you have|you've} any? {Please|Kindly} {allow|permit|let} me {realize|recognize|understand|recognise|know} {so that|in order that} I {may just|may|could} subscribe.

Thanks.|
{It is|It's} {appropriate|perfect|the best} time to make some plans for the future and
{it is|it's} time to be happy. {I have|I've} read this podt
and if I could I {want to|wish to|desire to} suggest yyou {few|some} interesting
things or {advice|suggestions|tips}. {Perhaps|Maybe} you {could|can} write next articles referring tto this article.
I {want to|wish to|desire to} read {more|even more} things about it!|
{It is|It's} {appropriate|perfect|the best} time
to make {a few|some} ploans for {the future|the longer term|the long
run} and {it is|it's} time to be happy. {I have|I've} {read|learn} this {post|submit|publish|put up} and if I {may just|may|could} I
{want to|wish to|desire to} {suggest|recommend|counsel} you {few|some}
{interesting|fascinating|attention-grabbing} {things|issues} or {advice|suggestions|tips}.
{Perhaps|Maybe} yyou {could|can} write {next|subsequent} articles {relating to|referring to|regarding} this article.
I {want to|wish to|desire to} {read|learn} {more|even more}
{things|issues} {approximately|about} it!|
{I have|I've} been {surfing|browsing} {online|on-line} {more than|greater
than} {three|3} hours {these days|nowadays|today|lately|as of
late}, {yet|but} I {never|by no means} {found|discovered}
any {interesting|fascinating|attention-grabbing} article like
yours. {It's|It is} {lovely|pretty|beautiful} {worth|value|price} {enough|sufficient} for
me. {In my opinion|Personally|In my view}, if all {webmasters|site owners|website owners|web owners} and bloggers made
{just right|good|excellent} {content|content material} as {you did|you
probably did}, the {internet|net|web} {will be|shall be|might be|will probably be|can be|will likely be} {much more|a
lot more} {useful|helpful} thzn ever before.|
Ahaa, its {nice|pleasant|good|fastidious} {discussion|conversation|dialogue} {regarding|concerning|about|on the topic of}
this {article|post|piece of writing|paragraph} {here|at this place} aat this {blog|weblog|webpage|website|web site}, I
have read all that, sso {now|at tbis time}
me also commenting {here|at this place}.|
I am sure this {article|post|pieceof writing|paragraph} has touched all the internet {users|people|viewers|visitors}, its
really really {nice|pleasant|good|fastidious} {article|post|piece of writing|paragraph} on building up new {blog|weblog|webpage|website|web site}.|
Wow, this {article|post|piece of writing|paragraph} is {nice|pleasant|good|fastidious}, my {sister|younger sister} is analyzing {such|these|these kinds of} things, {so|thus|therefore}
I am going to {tell|inform|let know|convey}
her.|
{Saved as a favorite|bookmarked!!}, {I really like|I like|I love} {your blog|your site|your web site|your website}!|
Way cool! Some {very|extremely} valid points! I apprecfiate you {writing this|penning this}
{article|post|write-up} {and the|and also the|plus the}
rest of the {site is|website is} {also very|extremely|very|also really|really} good.|
Hi, {I do believe|I do think} {this is an excellent|this is a great}
{blog|website|web site|site}. I stumbledupon itt ;
){I will|I am going to|I'm going to|I may} {come back|return|revisit} {once again|yet again} {since I|since i have} {bookmarked|book
marked|book-marked|saved as a favorite} it.
Money and freedom {is the best|is the greatest} way too change,
may you be rich and continue to {help|guide} {other people|others}.|
Woah! I'm reallly {loving|enjoying|digging} the template/theme
of this {site|website|blog}. It's simple, yet effective. A lot of
times it's {very hard|very difficult|challenging|tough|difficult|hard} to get
that "perfect balance" between {superb usability|user friendliness|usability} and {visual appearance|visual
appeal|appearance}. I must say {that you've|you have|you've}
done a {awesome|amazing|very good|superb|fantastic|excellent|great}
job with this. {In addition|Additionally|Also}, the blog
loads {very|extremely|super} {fast|quick} for me on {Safari|Internet explorer|Chrome|Opera|Firefox}.
{Superb|Exceptional|Outstanding|Excellent} Blog!|
These are {really|actually|in fact|truly|genuinely} {great|enormous|impressive|wonderful|fantastic}
ides in {regarding|concerning|about|on the topic of} blogging.
You have touched some {nice|pleasant|good|fastidious} {points|factors|things} here.
Any way keep up wrinting.|
{I love|I really like|I enjoy|I like|Everyone loves} what you guys {are|are usually|tend too be}
up too. {This sort of|This type of|Such|This kind of} cleverr wortk and {exposure|coverage|reporting}!

Keep up the {superb|terrific|very good|great|good|awesome|fantastic|excellent|amazing|wonderful} works guys
I've {incorporated||added|included} you guys to {|my|our||my personal|my own}
blogroll.|
{Howdy|Hi there|Hey there|Hi|Hello|Hey}! Someonme
in my {Myspace|Facebook} group shared ths {site|website} with us so I came to {give it a
look|look it over|take a look|check it out}. I'm definitely {enjoying|loving} the information.
I'm {book-marking|bookmarking} and wilol be tweetijg this to my followers!

{Terrific|Wonderful|Great|Fantastic|Outstanding|Exceptional|Superb|Excellent} blog and {wonderful|terrific|brilliant|amazing|great|excellent|fantastic|outstanding|superb} {style and design|design and style|design}.|
{I love|I really like|I enjoy|I like|Everyone loves} what you guys {are|are usually|tend to be} up too.
{This sort of|This type of|Such|This kind of} clever ork and {exposure|coverage|reporting}!

Keep up the {superb|terrific|very good|great|good|awesome|fantastic|excellent|amazing|wonderful} works guus I've {incorporated|added|included} you guys too
{|my|our|my personal|my own} blogroll.|
{Howdy|Hi there|Hey there|Hi|Hello|Hey} would you mind {stating|sharing} which
blog platform you're {working with|using}? I'm {looking|planning|going} to start my ownn blog {in the near future|soon} but I'm having a {tough|difficult|hard} time {making a
decision|selecting|choosing|deciding} between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and
Drupal. The reason I ask is because your {design and style|design|layout}
seems different then most blogs and I'm looking for something {completely unique|unique}.
P.S {My apologies|Apologies|Sorry} for {getting|being} off-topic but I had to ask!|
{Howdy|Hi there|Hi|Hey there|Hello|Hey}
would you mind letting me know which {webhost|hosting company|web host} you're {utilizing|working with|using}?
I've loaded your blolg in 3 {completely different|different} {internet
browsers|web browsers|browsers} and I must say this blog loads a lot {quicker|faster} then most.
Can you {suggest|recommend} a good {internet hosting|web hosting|hosting}
provider at a {honest|reasonable|fair} price?

{Thanks a lot|Kudos|Cheers|Thqnk you|Many thanks|Thanks}, I appreciate it!|
{I love|I really like|I like|Everyone loves} iit {when people|when individuals|when folks|whenever
people} {come together|get together} and share
{opinions|thoughts|views|ideas}. Great {blog|website|site}, {keep iit
up|continue the good work|stick with it}!|
Thank you for the {auspicious|good} writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
Look advanced tto {far|more} added agreeable from you!
{By the way|However}, how {can|could} we communicate?|
{Howdy|Hi there|Hey there|Hello|Hey} just wanted
to give you a quick heads up. The {text|words} in your
{content|post|article} seem to be running off the screen in {Ie|Internet
explorer|Chrome|Firefox|Safari|Opera}. I'm not sure
if this is a {format|formatting} issue or something to do with
{web browser|internet browser|browser} compatibility but
I {thought|figured} I'd post too let you know. The {style and design|design and style|layout|design} look
great though! Hope yyou get the {problem|issue} {solved|resolved|fixed} soon. {Kudos|Cheers|Many
thanks|Thanks}|
This is a toppic {that is|that's|which is} {close to|near to} my heart...

{Cheers|Many thanks|Besst wishes|Take care|Thank you}!
{Where|Exactly where} are your contact details though?|
It's very {easy|simple|trouble-free|straightforward|effortless} to find ouut any {topic|matter} on {net|web} as compared too {books|textbooks},as I found thi {article|post|piece
of writing|paragraph} at this {website|web site|site|web page}.|
Does your {site|website|blog} have a contact page?
I'm having {a tough time|problems|trouble} locating it but, I'd like to {send|shoot} you an {e-mail|email}.
I've got some {creative ideas|recommendations|suggestions|ideas} for your blog
you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great {site|website|blog}
and I look forward to seeing it {develop|improve|expand|grow} over time.|
{Hola|Hey there|Hi|Hello|Greetings}! I've been {following|reading} youjr {site|web site|website|weblog|blog}
for {a long time|a while|some time} now and finally got the {bravery|courage} to
go ahead and give you a shoit out from
{New Caney|Kingwood|Huffman|Porter|Houston|Dallas|Austin|Lubbock|Humble|Atascocita} {Tx|Texas}!

Just wanted to {tell you|mention|say} keep up the {fantastic|excellent|great|good} {job|work}!|
Greetings from {Idaho|Carolina|Ohio|Colorado|Florida|Los angeles|California}!
I'm {bored to tears|bored to death|bored} at work so
I decided to {check out|browse} your {site|website|blog} on my iphone during lunjch break.
I {enjoy|really like|love} the {knowledge|info|information} you
{present|provide} here and can't wait to take a look when I get home.
I'm {shocked|amazed|surprised} at how {quick|fast} your
blog loaded on my {mobile|cell phone|phone} .. I'm not even using WIFI, just
3G .. {Anyhow|Anyways}, {awesome|amazing|very good|superb|good|wonderful|fantastic|excellent|great}
{site|blog}!|
Its {like you|such aas you} {read|learn} my {mind|thoughts}!

You {seem|appear} {to understand|to know|to grasp} {so much|a lot} {approximately|about} this, {like you|such as you}
wrote the {book|e-book|guide|ebook|e book} in it or something.

{I think|I feel|I believe} {that you|that you simply|that you just}
{could|can} do with {some|a few} {%|p.c.|percent}
to {force|pressure|drive|power} the message {house|home}
{a bit|a little bit}, {however|but} {other than|instead of}
that, {this is|that is} {great|wonderful|fantastic|magnificent|excellent} blog.

{A great|An excellent|A fantastic} read. {I'll|I will} {definitely|certainly} be back.|
I visited {multiple|many|several|various} {websites|sites|web sites|web pages|blogs} {but|except|however} the aaudio {quality|feature} for auio
songs {current|present|existing} at this {website|web site|site|web page} is {really|actually|in fact|truly|genuinely} {marvelous|wonderful|excellent|fabulous|superb}.|
{Howdy|Hi there|Hi|Hello}, i read your blog {occasionally|from time too time} and i own a similar one and i was
just {wondering|curious} if you get a llot of spam {comments|responses|feedback|remarks}?
If so how do you {prevent|reduce|stop|protect against} it,
any plugin or anything you can {advise|suggest|recommend}?

I get so much latelky it's driving me {mad|insane|crazy} so any
{assistance|help|support} is very much appreciated.|
Greetings! {Very helpful|Very useful} advice {within this|in this particular} {article|post}!

{It is the|It's the} little changes {that make|which wll make|that produce|that
will make} {the biggest|the largest|the greatest|the most
important|the most significant} changes. {Thanks
a lot|Thanks|Many thanks} for sharing!|
{I really|I truly|I seriously|I absolutely} love {your
blog|your site|your website}.. {Very nice|Excellent|Pleasant|Great} colors & theme.

Did you {create|develop|make|build} {this website|this site|this web site|this
amazing site} yourself? Please reply back as I'm {looking to|trying to|planning to|wanting to|hoping to|attempting to} create {my own|my verdy own|my own personal} {blog|website|site} andd
{would like to|want to|would love to} {know|learn|find out} where you got
this from orr {what the|exactly what the|just what the} theme {is called|is named}.
{Thanks|Many thanks|Thank you|Cheers|Appreciate it|Kudos}!|
{Hi there|Hello there|Howdy}! This {post|article|blog post} {couldn't|could not} be written {any
better|much better}! {Reading through|Looking at|Going
through|Looking through} this {post|article} reminds mee of my previous roommate!
He {always|constantly|continually} kept {talking about|preaching about}
this. {I will|I'll|I am goping to|I most certainly
will} {forward|send} {this article|this information|this
post} to him. {Prstty sure|Fairl certain} {he will|he'll|he's going to} {have a
good|have a very good|have a great} read. {Thank you for|Thanks for|Maany thanks for|I appreciate
you for} sharing!|
{Wow|Whoa|Incredible|Amazing}! This blog looks {exactly|just} like my old one!
It's on a {completely|entirely|totally} different {topic|subject} but it has pretty much the
same {layout|page layout} and design. {Excellent|Wonderful|Great|Outstanding|Superb} choice of colors!|
{There is|There's} {definately|certainly} {a lot to|a great deal to} {know about|learn about|find ouut about} this {subject|topic|issue}.
{I like|I love|I really like} {allthe|all of the} points
{you made|you've made|you have made}.|
{You made|You've made|You have made} some {decent|good|really good} points there.
I {looked|checked} {on the internet|on the web|on the net} {for
more info|for more information|to find out more|to learn more|for
additional information} about the issue and found {most individuals|most people} will go along with your views on {this website|this site|this web site}.|
{Hi|Hello|Hi there|What's up}, I {log on to|check|read} your {new
stuff|blogs|blog} {regularly|like every week|daily|on a
regular basis}. Your {story-telling|writing|humoristic} style is {awesome|witty}, keep {doing
what you're doing|up the good work|it up}!|
I {simply|just} {could not|couldn't} {leave|depart|go away} our {site|web site|website} {prior to|before} suggesting that I {really|extremely|actually} {enjoyed|loved} {the
standard|the usual} {information|info} {a person|an individual} {supply|provide} {for your|on your|in your|to
your} {visitors|guests}? Is {going to|gonna} be
{back|again} {frequently|regularly|incessantly|steadily|ceaselessly|often|continuously} {in order to|to} {check up on|check out|inspect|investigate cross-check} new posts|
{I wanted|I needed|I wawnt to|I need to} to thank you for this
{great|excellent|fantastic|wonderful|good|very good} read!!
I {definitely|certainly|absolutely} {enjoyed|loved} every {little bit of|bit of} it.

{I have|I've got|I have got} you {bookmarked|book
marked|book-marked|saved ass a favorite} {to check out|to lopk at} new {stuff
you|things you} post…|
{Hi|Hello|Hi there|What's up}, just wanted to {mention|say|tell you}, I {enjoyed|liked|loved} this {article|post|blog post}.
It was {inspiring|funny|practical|helpful}. Keep on posting!|
{Hi there|Hello}, I enjnoy reading {all of|through}
your {article|post|article post}. I {like|wanted} to write a liittle comment
to sulport you.|
I {always|constantly|every time} spent my half an hour too
rewd this {blog|weblog|webpage|website|web site}'s {articles|posts|articles or reviews|content} {everyday|daily|every day|all the time} along with a
{cup|mug} of coffee.|
I {always|for all time|all the time|constantly|every
time} emailed thiss {blog|weblog|webpage|website|web site} post page to all my {friends|associates|contacts},
{because|since|as|for the reason that} if like to read
it {then|afterthat|next|afterward} my {friends|links|contacts} will too.|
My {coder|programmer|developer} is trying to {persuade|convince} me to move to .net from PHP.
I have always disliked the idea because of the {expenses|costs}.
But he's tryiong none the less. I've been using {Movable-type|WordPress} on {a number of|a variety of|numerous|several|various} websites for about a year and aam {nervous|anxious|worried|concerned} about switching to another platform.
I have heard {fantastic|very good|excellent|great|good} thiongs about blogengine.net.
Is there a way I can {transfer|import} all my wordpress {content|posts} into it?
{Any kind of|Any} help would be {really|greatly} appreciated!|
{Hello|Hi|Hello there|Hi there|Howdy|Good day}!
I could have sworn I've {been to|visited} {this blog|this web site|this website|this site|your blog}
before but afer {browsing through|going through|looking
at} {some of the|a few of the|many of the} {posts|articles} I realized it's new to
me. {Anyways|Anyhow|Nonetheless|Regardless}, I'm {definitely|certainly} {happy|pleased|delighted} {I
found|I discovered|I came across|I stumbled upon} it and I'll be {bookmarking|book-marking} it and checking back
{frequently|regularly|often}!|
{Terrific|Great|Wonderful} {article|work}! {This
is|That is} {the typee of|the kind of} {information|info} {that are meant to|that are supposed to|that should} bbe shared {around
the|across the} {web|internet|net}. {Disgrace|Shame} oon {the {seek|search} engines|Google}
for {now not|not|no longer} positioning this {post|submit|publish|put up} {upper|higher}!
Come on ofer and {talk oger with|discuss with|seek advice from|visit|consult with} my {site|web site|website}
. {Thank you|Thanks} =)|
Heya {i'm|i am} for the first time here. I {came across|found}
this board and I find It {truly|really} useful & it helped me out {a lot|much}.
I hope to give something back and {help|aid} others like you
{helped|aided} me.|
{Hi|Hello|Hi there|Hello there|Howdy|Greetings},
{I think|I believe|I do believe|I do think|There's nno doubt that} {yoursite|your website|your
web site|your blog} {might be|may be|could be|could possibly
be} having {browser|internet browser|web browser} compatibility {issues|problems}.
{When I|Whenever I} {look aat your|take a look att your}
{website|web site|site|blog} in Safari, it looks fine {but when|however
when|however, if|however, when} opening inn {Internet Explorer|IE|I.E.},
{it has|it's got} some overlapping issues. {I just|I
simply|I merely} wanted to {give you a|provide you with a}
quick heads up! {Other than that|Apaart from that|Besides that|Aside from that}, {fantastic|wonderful|great|excellent} {blog|website|site}!|
{A person|Someone|Somebody} {necessarily|essentially} {lend a hand|help|assist} to maje {seriously|critically|significantly|severely} {articles|posts} {I would|I might|I'd} state.
{This is|That is} the {first|very first} time I frequented your {web page|website
page} and {to this point|so far|thus far|up tto now}?

I {amazed|surprised} with thee {research|analysis} you made to {create|make} {this actual|this
particular} {post|submit|publish|put up} {incredible|amazing|extraordinary}.
{Great|Wonderful|Fantastic|Magnificent|Excellent} {task|process|activity|job}!|
Heya {i'm|i am} for {the primary|the first} time here.
I {came across|found} this board and I {in finding|find|to find} It {truly|really}
{useful|helpful} & it helped me out {a lot|much}. {I
am hoping|I hope|I'm hoping} {to give|to offer|to provide|to present} {something|one thing}{back|again} and {help|aid} others {like you|such as you} {helped|aided} me.|
{Hello|Hi|Hello there|Hi there|Howdy|Good day|Hey there}!
{I just|I simply} {would like to|want to|wish to} {give
you a|offer you a} {huge|big} thumbs up {for the|for your} {great|excellent} {info|information} {you have|you've got|you have got} {here|right here} on this post.
{I will be|I'll be|I am} {coming back to|returning to} {your blog|your
site|your website|your web site} for more soon.|
I {always|all the time|every time} used to {read|study} {article|post|piece of writing|paragraph} in news ppapers but now as I
am a user of {internet|web|net} {so|thus|therefore}
from now I am using net for {articles|posts|articles or reviews|content}, thanks to web.|
Your {way|method|means|mode} of {describing|explaining|telling} {everything|all|the
whole thing} in this {article|post|piece of writing|paragraph} is {really|actually|in fact|truly|genuinely} {nice|pleasant|good|fastidious}, {all|every one} {can|be able to|be capable
of} {easily|without difficulty|effortlessly|simply} {understand|know|be aware of} it,
Thaks a lot.|
{Hi|Hello} there, {I found|I discovered} your {blog|website|web site|site} {by means of|via|by the use of|by way of} Google {at the same time as|whilst|even as|while} {searching for|looking for} a {similar|comparable|related} {topic|matter|subject},
your {site|web site|website} {got here|came} up, iit {looks|appears|seems|seems
to be|appears too be like} {good|great}. {I have|I've} bookmarked it iin my google bookmarks.

{Hello|Hi} there, {simply|just} {turned into|became|was|become|changed into} {aware of|alert to} your {blog|weblog} {thru|through|via} Google, {and found|and located} that {it is|it's} {really|truly} informative.
{I'm|I am} {gonna|going to} {watch out|be careful}
for brussels. {I will|I'll} {appreciate|be grateful} {if you|should you|when you|in the event
you|in case you|for tnose who|if you hapen to} {continue|proceed} this {in future}.
{A lot of|Lots of|Many|Numerous} {other folks|folks|other people|people} {will be|shall be|might be|will
probably be|can be|will likely be} benefited {from your|out of your} writing.

Cheers!|
{I am|I'm} curious to find out what blog {system|platform}
{you have been|you happen to be|you are|you're} {working with|utilizing|using}?

I'm {experiencing|having} some {minor|small} security {problems|issues} with my latest {site|website|blog} and
{I would|I'd} like to find something more {safe|risk-free|safeguarded|secure}.
Do you have any {solutions|suggestions|recommendations}?|
{I am|I'm} {extremely|really} impressed with your writing skills {and also|as well as} with the layout on your {blog|weblog}.

Is this a paid theme or did you {customize|modify} it yourself?
{Either way|Anyway} keep up the {nice|excellent} quality writing, {it's|it is} rare to see a {nice|great}
blog like this one {these days|nowadays|today}.|
{I am|I'm} {extremely|really} {inspired|impressed} {with your|together with your|along withh your} writing
{talents|skills|abilities} {and also|as {smartly|well|neatly}
as} wth the {layout|format|structure} {for your|on your|in your|to your} {blog|weblog}.{Is this|Is that this} a
pai {subject|topic|subject matter|theme} or did you {customize|modify}
it {yourself|your self}? {Either way|Anyway} {stay|keep} up the {nice|excellent} {quality|high quality} writing, {it's|it is} {rare|uncommon}
{to peer|to see|to look} a {nice|great} {blog|weblog} lik
this one {these days|nowadays|today}..|
{Hi|Hello}, Neat post. {There is|There's} {a problem|an issue} {with your|together
with your|along with your} {site|web site|website}
in {internet|web} explorer, {may|might|could|would} {check|test} this?
IE {still|nonetheless} is the {marketplace|market} {leader|chief} and {a large|a good|a big|a huge} {part of|section of|component to|portion of|component of|element
of} {other folks|folks|other people|people} will {leave out|omit|miss|pass over} your {great|wonderful|fantastic|magnificent|excellent} writing {due to|because of}
this problem.|
{I'm|I am} not sure where {you are|you're}
getting your {info|information}, but {good|great} topic.
I needs to spennd some tme learning {more|much more} or understanding
more. Thanks for {great|wonderful|fantastic|magnificent|excellent} {information|info} I was looking
for this {information|info} for my mission.|
{Hi|Hello}, i think that i saw you vsited my {blog|weblog|website|web site|site} {so|thus} i
came to “return the favor”.{I am|I'm} {trying to|attempting to}
find things to {improve|enhance} my {website|site|web site}!I suppose its
ok to use {some of|a few of} your idea\

Alsoo visit myy website: Free WiFi Hotspot

September 17, 2013 | 09:33 PM - Posted by Jonny (not verified)

hello
there is 13.10 beta did u test it?

September 17, 2013 | 09:42 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Nope, we were using 13.8 beta.  But 13.10 did not add any changes for Eyefinity / Frame Pacing.

September 18, 2013 | 01:43 PM - Posted by Jonny (not verified)

i got 7950 X2
I had a chance to buy another one at $ 100

Now I'm all out of it and save the next generation of NVIDIA ...
I'm very disappointed that AMD are selling a defective product ..

Thanks for the information.

September 18, 2013 | 04:44 PM - Posted by NvidiaPWNS (not verified)

AMD is always all about selling defective and inferior products. They did it before with their "Tri core" CPUs. Those were just Quad cores that had a 4th core that they couldn't get to work. AMD GPUs and drivers are shit. You get what you pay for.

September 19, 2013 | 06:05 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

You do realize that binning is a key part in the silicon-industry? By your logic, the Titan is crap because it only has 14 of the GK110's 15 SMX units activated.
When a produc-line is announced, there are actually few different dies being produced. 3820, 3930, 60 and 70 are all 8-core "xeons" with cores disabled due yield issues.
EVERYONE do this.

And please, stop spreading the false claim that the drivers are bad. Maybe they were back in good ol' '04, but that is long gone. AMD has actually had better drivers than Nvidia this generation...

September 21, 2013 | 11:13 AM - Posted by NvidiaPWNS (not verified)

In your dreams retard! NVIDIA PWNS YOUR AMD, NUB!

September 18, 2013 | 05:22 PM - Posted by mAxius

Are you sure http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/AMDCatalyst13-10WINBetaDriver...

I'm still wondering about this little gem... "PCI-E bus speed is no longer set to x1 on the secondary GPU when running in CrossFire configurations"

September 19, 2013 | 12:24 AM - Posted by JJ (not verified)

"But 13.10 did not add any changes for Eyefinity / Frame Pacing." - I am curious about this too, as the press release clearly states that it updated something regarding Eyefinity.

September 19, 2013 | 12:50 AM - Posted by JJ (not verified)

I'm fairly technical, but I am getting a little outside my level of knowledge here

1. http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/2010/11/27/pci-express-3-0-explained/
Each lane of PCIe 3.0 only has 1 GB/sec

2. http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/pci-express-scaling-analysis,1572-8....
This is a very old article, but THG did testing graphics cards by limiting the PCIe lanes available to graphics cards, and you can see a very large performance degradation.

3. Back to the "PCI-E bus speed is no longer set to x1 on the secondary GPU when running in CrossFire configurations" Note in the press release.

Would one of the cards in the setup being starved for bandwidth be able to account for these anomalies?

September 19, 2013 | 01:35 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

By AMD's admission, no. This problem listed in the Catalyst 13.10 notes only affects Crossfire configurations that do not use a bridge adapter across the graphics cards. This coming from AMD's own Andrew Dodd.

If this were a fix for our problems AMD would surely be crowing about it.

September 17, 2013 | 10:53 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

You guys rock pcper. Been here for years. Love amd, but they need to get their act together. Emphasis on the good faith part ya know. Don't become the crappy option. Amd has so much great iP if they could only get their software side together they would be SIGNIFCANTLY more competitive.

September 17, 2013 | 11:05 PM - Posted by Nacelle

I hope this fix AMD says they are working on will help with my 6970's too. I know they aren't worth that now, but I paid $700 for the pair, a couple years ago, to power my 3 screens. I'm about to sell them on craigslist and get an nvidia card, if it doesn't.

September 18, 2013 | 12:10 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I honestly don't know if they will fix it, but the 13.8 beta did fix single screen for 6000-series parts so you might get lucky here too.

September 17, 2013 | 11:10 PM - Posted by Paul Keeble (not verified)

Keep hitting them until they fix this. I bought 2x 7970's in January 2012 and I noticed immediately the problem. Its not like AMD has only known about this since the beginning of this year, thousands of users were reporting this problem a year before that. It really put me off dual cards until I got a pair of 680's and found that the grass was much greener on the Nvidia side with SLI.

We need this fixed so we have some competition in the high end of GPUs.

September 18, 2013 | 08:40 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Ryan...let us see your Tiger-Bus !

September 18, 2013 | 12:13 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

How about this?  http://screencast.com/t/uTeQAykAYhJF

:D

September 18, 2013 | 09:51 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

with any luck a fix will be out from AMD a few after the release of the 9000 series, they are so slow with driver updates that I'd see it taking that long ... if they dont just give up ...

September 18, 2013 | 09:52 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

a few *months* after

September 18, 2013 | 10:23 AM - Posted by NLPsajeeth

So you can't run 3 PQ321's on AMD in a 6x1 eyefinity configuration?

I'm glad to see AMD is putting focus on 4K and hope they have a 4K eyefinity solution soon.

The only way NVIDIA will ever support anything other than 3x1 surround is if AMD turns up the heat. NVIDIA if you are listening, you need 2x1 and 2x2 surround support at any resolution to stay competitive on the consumer side. No one is dropping thousands of dollars on Quadro's just to get that one feature.

September 18, 2013 | 12:15 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I think technically YES you can support 3 4K monitors like the ASUS PQ321Q with AMD today...but the main issue is going to be PERFORMANCE.  Even without frame pacing and interleaving problems how much horsepower would you need for that?

More than they have available today.

September 18, 2013 | 02:50 PM - Posted by NLPsajeeth

Just wanted to make sure it was a performance issue not a driver issue. I agree you wouldn't be able to run anything more than simple 3D demos in such a setup.

Agreed, I really hope we will see large GPU performance increases with the next round of silicon so that multi 4K gaming becomes a reality.

Keep up the good work, you guys are really pushing the boundaries of what is possible with 4K!

September 18, 2013 | 10:30 AM - Posted by gamerk2 (not verified)

I can't help but wonder, if the issues seen really are due to lack of proper synchronization, then would there be a FPS impact when AMD makes their changes?

Or in other words: Is AMD cheating on performance (knowingly or not)?

September 18, 2013 | 12:16 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I don't think they were doing it knowingly, no.  That doesn't excuse them though; they should have been able to see these problems before and been trying to fix them before this all started to happen this year.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.