Review Index:
Feedback

Frame Rating Dissected: Full Details on Capture-based Graphics Performance Testing

Sleeping Dogs – HD 7970 versus GTX 680

View Full Size

Our Sleeping Dogs testing shows that the game is quite a bit more GPU intensive (at least at our quality settings) than I had originally thought.  The initial test results have the HD 7970 a solid margin faster than the GTX 680 and HD 7970s in CrossFire an even bigger advantage ahead of GTX 680s in SLI.

View Full Size

But, just as we witnessed with BF3 and Crysis 3, there is definitely a problem brewing for AMD.  At 1920x1080 the frame times are very consistent for the single cards and NVIDIA’s SLI solution but for the AMD cards in CrossFire, the experience is a mess, filled with runt frames.

View Full Size

The result is an observed frame rate average well below what would be reported by FRAPS and essentially no faster than a single HD 7970 graphics card.  Interestingly, the spikes of higher observed frame rate match up perfectly with the very few “tight” areas of our frame time map.

View Full Size

The good news for AMD is that the HD 7970 is consistently faster than the GTX 680 in a single card test scenario and the results are very even.  The very bad news of course is that two Radeon HD 7970s in CrossFire are only as fast as a single card when looking at your perceived frame rates.  That gives the GTX 680s in SLI the win almost by default.

View Full Size

Our ISU based stutter graphic shows a very similar story with the CrossFire frame times easily pull away from the rest of the group by the 80th percentile.

 

View Full Size

At 2560x1440 the story starts once again with the HD 7970 outpacing the GTX 680 and CrossFire running much faster than the GTX 680s in SLI.

View Full Size

The plot of frame times tells the whole story though and the inconsistent frame times and runts that are plaguing the CrossFire technology. 

View Full Size

Thus, the observed FPS we see here is much much lower than what FRAPS sees and in fact is just barely faster than the performance of a single card!

View Full Size

The minimum FPS percentile graph shows another angle of the same problem for AMD – the frame rates are identical for single and dual GPU combinations.  Despite the fact that NVIDIA’s GTX 680 is slower than the HD 7970, with SLI working correctly and efficiently it is able to scale Sleeping Dogs from 24 FPS average through the entire run to about 46 FPS.

View Full Size

Our graph of ISU actually shows us that when we take out the runts the frame time variance from the CrossFire cards is actually kind of minimal up until the 90th percentile after which it skyrockets.

 

View Full Size

We couldn’t get appropriate results with the 5760x1080 testing on Sleeping Dogs and the HD 7970 CrossFire setup so instead we are looking at just another 3 card set of graphs.  At this setting we have turned down the AA from the Extreme setting to High, which explains the capability for these GPUs to run at all in this resolution.  The GTX 680 is once again slower than the HD 7970 though the 680s scale correctly and quite well taking performance from 30 FPS on average to 51 FPS or so.

View Full Size

There is a bit more frame time variance than I would like to see with the GTX 680s in SLI with a few dozen hitches obviously seen in our image above.  Single card results continue to be level and reliable for both AMD and NVIDIA.

View Full Size

The observed frame rate remains the same from the FRAPS metrics.

View Full Size

The Min FPS percentile graph shows us the value of consistent frame times on the GTX 680 – it is nearly a straight line across the screen, starting at 30 FPS at the 50% mark and only dropping to 27 FPS at the 99% level. 

View Full Size

The frame time variance graph (our ISU) shows a very flat pattern with the GTX 680 and HD 7970 cards all the way through the test runs though the SLI configuration does see more potential for stutter with a rising line as we hit the 99th percentile.

March 28, 2013 | 07:20 AM - Posted by Beany (not verified)

I agree. I have 2x 6970 and the Crossfire results here are just embarrassing for AMD. It clearly don't work well and i've noticed myself with certain games, because you don't need graphs and stuff, as often you can see it with your own eyes. It's just BAD.

I used to build hundreds of PC's with both Nvidia and AMD, and from that experience i also noticed that 1) NV's drivers are generally better and less problematic and 2) Crossfire don't work as well as SLI.

The only reason i use AMD is for image quality. Not 3D/gaming stuff but general image output on the desktop. Colours and whites look better and more intense with AMD cards on my high-end monitors (but without being saturated), and no amount of tweaking on NV hardware will get this stuff to look as good. I've tried it with multiply different monitors and AMD just looks better. NV hardware is washed out in comparison. Most people wont be able to tell the difference and you need a good IPS diplay to properly notice but it's always bothered me because i'm a graphics designer and image quality freak. If NV sort this out i'll switch to them instantly.

March 28, 2013 | 07:20 AM - Posted by Beany (not verified)

I agree. I have 2x 6970 and the Crossfire results here are just embarrassing for AMD. It clearly don't work well and i've noticed myself with certain games, because you don't need graphs and stuff, as often you can see it with your own eyes. It's just BAD.

I used to build hundreds of PC's with both Nvidia and AMD, and from that experience i also noticed that 1) NV's drivers are generally better and less problematic and 2) Crossfire don't work as well as SLI.

The only reason i use AMD is for image quality. Not 3D/gaming stuff but general image output on the desktop. Colours and whites look better and more intense with AMD cards on my high-end monitors (but without being saturated), and no amount of tweaking on NV hardware will get this stuff to look as good. I've tried it with multiply different monitors and AMD just looks better. NV hardware is washed out in comparison. Most people wont be able to tell the difference and you need a good IPS diplay to properly notice but it's always bothered me because i'm a graphics designer and image quality freak. If NV sort this out i'll switch to them instantly.

March 28, 2013 | 05:24 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Dont know if you read the patch notes for Radeon, But they stated that they have improved crysis 3 and more performance with their latest releases AND that they are working on GREATLY increasing CROSSFIRE performance. Keep an eye open PCPER!

March 28, 2013 | 08:35 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

lol - it's just amazing isn't it. We'll have the same excuse the politicians always give us...

" "Tired of dropping frames instead of opponents? Find a CrossFire™-certified graphics configuration that’s right for you."

" We had no idea!!!! "

I want to know how many YEARS this has been going on.

These tools need to be used on 3870 Cf on up - 4850 4870 5850 5860 6850 6870 6950 6970 and so on....

So for many years we have been fed a complete freaking lie across the board, and from every "scientific unbiased tester website"....
Just wow. If there are conspiracy theorists here, you missed this one, because right now full blown conspiracy (if amd seemed it knew what it was and is doing) would be the conclusion. (instead amd marketing lies and incompetence and pure luck at the massive cover up over many years looks correct)

I also have to say, PALMFACE !

This also SHAMES EVERY REVIEW SITE OUT THERE. lol How stupid they have been - they should have spent far less time attacking nVidia looking and hunting for every tiny chink in their armor they could dream up and squared off at AMD since these COMPLAINTS about Crossfire have been present since DAY ONE.

Just think, all those reviewers, all those tests, all those years, and complete obliviousness till now... and a CONSTANT HAMMERING on people like me who tried in vain to point out the CF issues.
"it's your imagination"
"you're crazy"
"nVidia shill"
"paid operative"
"I don't see anything wrong ! "

Just W O W.

March 29, 2013 | 05:59 AM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

You're a moron and have some real issues.

I ran that HD 2900 CF setup up to 200 HZ and haven't had a SINGLE frametime issue with it.

I was playing Cube on it at 160 HZ on a Diamondtron SB2070 and it didn't skip a SINGLE beat.

March 29, 2013 | 12:01 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

LOL - a single example, untested, swears the amd fanboy, on an obsolete hd2900 said to be the most terrible hd flagship even by amd fanboys, and one game, from the historical mind of the fanboy....

R O F L - and you call me names.

No, we need the entire lineup of amd tested for the YEARS their scam has existed.

I feel a MASSIVE VINDICATION coming.

BTW - hold onto your undies feller, AS THIS SOFTWARE FCAT WITH THE COLOR BANDS IS BEING RELEASED TO THE PUBLIC FIRST ON MSI AFTERBURNER ON MONDAY AND THEN ON EVGA PRESICION X LATER IN THE WEEK !

ROFL - The truth is coming amd fan. NOTHING will stop it now.

March 29, 2013 | 03:31 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Indeed.

I bought those 2900's because they were fucking cheap as hell because I bought them SECOND HAND and had a couple of PULSE Digital PWM's and 512-bit bus with a ton of memory bandwidth and HDCP onboard.

How many words in that text did you had to Google?

April 2, 2013 | 09:15 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Hey I, that's ME, I loved the HD2900, but all the amd fanboys were crying, it lost miserably to the nVidia flagship.
Have a good friend who got a Sapphire hd2900 "pro" version, but it wasn't the pro, as I recall it had an unlisted weird and in between 320 shaders with the 256 bus.
He had EXTENSIVE trouble with it - I spent countless hours hammering out the bugs in every board he ever ran it in - a Dell dimension 4700 for instance kept it locked at 500mhz core and 600mhz memory.
He hammered the crap out of it for years, he broke it three times, I resurrected it three times, then finally against advice he kept the pink rubbery foam strip off the VRMs upon reassembly after cleaning - he was told NOT to but insisted it was just a cushion and not needed - that freaking cooked it for good -
I didn't hate the HD2900 but every amd fanboy did, and said so, it was a crushing blow to their egos, as nVidia stomped it on performance.

March 29, 2013 | 03:50 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

yet another fan boy, this time on the nvidia side. (paid?)
i wish you all disappeared.

March 29, 2013 | 03:52 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

I've never been paid by anybody in my entire life to speak garbage about a product.

You have absolutely no idea who I am, which just goes to show how much of an ignorant idiot you are.

Have a nice and a long life.

April 3, 2013 | 11:17 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

He was replying to me, please be able to follow the threading insets.

Now you were calling whom an idiot ? Uhh, nevermind.

April 10, 2013 | 06:21 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

The more you speak to yourself, the more of a retard you'll realise you are.

March 29, 2013 | 03:51 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Well it could just as well be "lazy" game developers not bothering to optimize for AMD and just going with nVidia and then just accepting the faults that comes when using AMD and just hoping no one notices??

March 29, 2013 | 03:51 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Well it could just as well be "lazy" game developers not bothering to optimize for AMD and just going with nVidia and then just accepting the faults that comes when using AMD and just hoping no one notices?

March 29, 2013 | 04:05 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Yes.

April 3, 2013 | 11:15 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

lol

It happens on many AMD Gaming Evolved games that have direct amd/developer input fella.

Nice try but you obviously are clueless and a total amd fan.

March 27, 2013 | 10:50 AM - Posted by JonasMX (not verified)

My only concern is that in my country are a bunch of people don't care about this kind of stuff. They think is too boring and the readers don't care.

We are years behind what you are trying to demostrate and bring to light, but definitly I'll follow you like an example.

Thanks for you hard work

March 27, 2013 | 11:12 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Hi Ryan
I was wondering if you could also post the RUN graphs for the 680 sli. I didn't get a clear picture from the article if the 680 sli also dropped any frames, had any runt frames or totally avoided those behaviors.

March 27, 2013 | 11:25 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I'll do that now!

March 28, 2013 | 08:42 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

No drops no runts for nVidia 680 SLI - NONE

LOL

That's why they were left out... like no news is good news.

I feel so good about myself, so many years, so many attacks on me by so many raging amd lovers.
I sooooo want to see them cover their heads in shame and admit how treasonous they were.
Yes treasonous liars. (lol whatever couldn't think of the word)
I suspect heck would freeze over first.

Oh look at that the river styx has ice skaters on it.

March 27, 2013 | 11:32 AM - Posted by Eriol (not verified)

Great job on the article! This is how GPUs should be benched in the future.

What I would also like to see is how the input latencies are affected by things like vsync or nvidia frame metering. Also, digging deeper into how frame rate limits can help alleviate the stutter issues would be welcome. I found that back when I was testing 6950cf that a 3rd party fps limiter was the best solution combating micro stutter.

In the end CF is just not worth it atm, regardless of vsync or fps limiters. AMD has a lot of work to do to get CF sorted out. I doubt a new driver 2-3 months down the line will be the end of it, but hopefully they're good to go when the next gen arrives.

March 27, 2013 | 07:22 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Input latency testing is my next target!

March 27, 2013 | 11:47 AM - Posted by JLM (not verified)

Great work and great review/article!

I do wish you guys had included the effects of a framerate limiter in addition to vsync, though... I've actually had a better experience using a framerate limiter through Afterburner on 7970 CF than I do with vsync; it seems to almost always remove stutter completely while also preserving the scaling.

March 27, 2013 | 07:30 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I'll definitely be giving that shot!

March 27, 2013 | 12:20 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

What about older Nvidia cards?
What about Crossfire 6970s?

We played a bit of Natural Selection 2 the other day..meh..silly bunny jumpy game..imbalanced..go Marine..
Anyway..

Crossfire enabled 72 FPS
Crossfire disabled 64 FPS
What a ripoff!

Then we tried it on 2 GTX 580s same room and systems and almost the same results..

Multi GPU setups are just a ripoff unless you get Exactly DOUBLE for performance.

March 27, 2013 | 01:35 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Scaling depends on A TON of factors. GPU's, drivers, applications so on and so forth.

You need to understand the basics of these things before you throw out such pointless and silly statements.

If you want to compare scalability, first compare a pair of single cards in FurMark. Then SLi/CF them and compare again.

March 29, 2013 | 03:07 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

CF is failing in half the games across the board, and has been for some time.
TPU for instance is an example where he mentions it if you don't believe me.
That's the other big laugh, shouldn't have been recommended for a long time now.

Maybe AMD will actually do something now, I doubt it though, I suspect apologetics, misdirection, and lies.

March 27, 2013 | 02:26 PM - Posted by Noah Taylor (not verified)

What is or isn't a ripoff is completely subjective and will never be an agreed upon issue. However, you can get a great experience moving to multi gpu setups that isn't necessarily double performance. Hi resolution gaming especially, at 2560x most single cards can't quite get you to >40fps avg with everything turned up in most modern games and what we will see in the next year. If i can get 15 more fps at that resolution it really DOES make all the difference.

However, if I buy 2 graphics cards because AMD says that framerate is how i should rate their cards, and their are frames being counted that detract from the quality of the experience, and essentially bloat their test scores up to 300% over what is actually being displayed, then not only have we been deceived, but AMD has really scammed you, since the extra card is actually detracting from the experience in many ways.

March 27, 2013 | 02:34 PM - Posted by John Doe (not verified)

Moral of the story, get this before it goes out of stock.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814187196

It's a card of limited availibity and is one hell of a damn good, limited custom design.

I'm eagerly waiting for mine to be shipped.

Heh.

March 29, 2013 | 03:58 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

2GB is not enough for 1080p this days.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.