Review Index:
Feedback

Frame Rating: AMD Improves CrossFire with Prototype Driver

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: Various

Crysis 3

Crysis 3 (DirectX 11)


 

Master the power of the Nanosuit. Armor, Speed, Strength and the ability to cloak are the ingredients of the most effective tactical combat armor ever created. Suit up! It's all yours in Crysis 3.

 

View Full Size

First results with the new driver are identical to the first numbers from the 13.5 beta drivers.

View Full Size

Well look at that, another great result for the new prototype driver from AMD - the new results from the FRAPS and the observed frame rate are nearly identical.  And compared to the orange line from our initial review there appear to be no runt frame issues!

View Full Size

The frame times are indicative of the changes with the prototype driver changes - the black line is much more consistent than the orange line though not quite up to the levels of the GTX 690.

View Full Size

Much like we saw with the Battlefield 3 results the revised driver on the HD 7990 is completely changing the performance aspects of the card.  The average frame rate of 36 FPS is higher than the 34 FPS of the GTX 690 and the 25 FPS of the GTX Titan.

View Full Size

Our frame time variance data shows the changes in another light - while there are still some instances of 5 ms over the 90th percentile it is significantly improved over our 13.5 beta results.

And now for some video evidence of this new driver in action, I present a side-by-side comparison!  For the best viewing, be sure to download the original 60 FPS MP4 file though you might still be able to see the differences in the Flash-based 30 FPS YouTube embeds.

Download the 250MB MP4 from Mega.co.nz

Reports from most users are telling us that you NEED to download these files for a solid comparison!

Crysis 3 - 13.5 beta vs Prototype 2 Comparison

April 25, 2013 | 09:44 AM - Posted by Wild Thing (not verified)

OMG have look at this bloke...
Dude you need some medical help it seems.
Is that you Lonbjerb?

Nice work on the review thanx Ryan.

April 25, 2013 | 01:02 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

If stating the truths we have all seen is considered a mental problem for you, then you of course are a raging fanboy in denial.

As I've told you fools many times before, the ONLY way we have ever seen amd improve their drivers is with strong criticism from review sites - unfortunately the last round of harshness from hardocp with terry mekdon in there concerning crossfire has turned out to be this lousy dropped and runted frames "fix".

So yes, even I was wrong when I praised hardocp for finally complaining about crossfire failure and amd "fixing it".

Instead, "the fix was in".

These are facts, not "blokes opinions", and certainly not omg look at this bloke crap that you spewed.

MAN UP and face the facts, like a man, not a crybaby fanboy filled with lies.

April 25, 2013 | 01:13 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)


Unfortunately. the "newest amd card" will always have the latest renewed and unprecedented set of multiple driver fiasco problems.

...

If stating the truths we have all seen is considered a mental problem for you, then you of course are a raging fanboy in denial.

If you're going to present that as a fact, you'd best back that up with references, or you'd be no better than any fanboy. You're stating that every release of a new AMD card (or lets say, new architecture) is plagued with driver troubles, and implying that such is not the case with NVidia cards, right? If it's as bad as you say, you'd have no problems finding sources that tell it like that.

May 7, 2013 | 09:01 PM - Posted by PClover (not verified)

Running crossfire setup with RadeonPro, everything is fine.
Dude, go with nVi, you pay higher price and get better support. We save our bucks with our AMD and a little tweak, it's fair and square.

April 24, 2013 | 02:15 AM - Posted by Mountainlifter

A small error in the last sentence on the Far Cry 3 page, Ryan. It should be "followed by the GTX 690" , not titan.

April 24, 2013 | 08:31 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Thanks!

April 24, 2013 | 04:46 AM - Posted by rrr (not verified)

More fantastic job, PCPer is now my goto sites for GPU reviews, maybe alongside with [H].

April 24, 2013 | 07:47 AM - Posted by Nathan (not verified)

Will the fixes AMD is applying here also apply to 6xxx crossfire setups?

April 24, 2013 | 08:25 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

I would imagine so, it is a completely software driven utility, so it should be able to be ported to previous CrossFire based cards.

April 24, 2013 | 06:46 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

lol- with very different architectures... by the ghost town cat amd team...

May I have 10,000 puts on that prospective with 100x leverage please.

April 24, 2013 | 08:29 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I think eventually that might be the case, but I don't think it is yet.  This driver we tested was VERY specific in its hardware support because it is so early in development.

April 25, 2013 | 01:52 AM - Posted by Nilbog

It would be very interesting to see 6900 results whenever you get a new version

April 24, 2013 | 08:06 AM - Posted by Martin Trautvetter

Thanks for putting in the extra work and compiling the videos, the differences are startling and impressive!

April 24, 2013 | 09:11 AM - Posted by drbaltazar (not verified)

If you install as per amd instruction?everything is way worst then if you install the Microsoft way (a LA compatibility) like clean install)ms not speaking to amd or vice versa,,methodology whise?ya!again corp trying to outsmart os maker!

April 24, 2013 | 09:11 AM - Posted by drbaltazar (not verified)

If you install as per amd instruction?everything is way worst then if you install the Microsoft way (a LA compatibility) like clean install)ms not speaking to amd or vice versa,,methodology whise?ya!again corp trying to outsmart os maker!

April 24, 2013 | 09:20 AM - Posted by Randomoneh (not verified)

Hey Ryan, is it possible for you to upload the xlm files so we could take a look at times in ms for every frame?

April 26, 2013 | 12:23 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Yeah, I think this is something we can start to include for readers.

April 27, 2013 | 10:25 AM - Posted by Randomoneh

Splendid! I hope I was clear, I wanted FCAT / Rivatuner Statistics server, not FRAPS timings.

I think your Indiegogo projects works so well exactly because you are willing to take advice / requests from us.

Thank you for that.

April 24, 2013 | 09:21 AM - Posted by drbaltazar (not verified)

Isn't the value set to 7.8 microsecond on most motherboard?if so sweat spot would be what 10 12 microsecond for Intel(sorry my processor math is very rusted might need Intel for accurate value.

April 24, 2013 | 10:06 AM - Posted by MarkT (not verified)

These are the articles that set pcper apart from everybody else.

The articles that put in the hard work and analysis are the articles that get u avid readers.

Ryan and crew keep it up!

April 24, 2013 | 10:24 AM - Posted by ATIMarcps (not verified)

When out this driver?

April 24, 2013 | 06:48 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Late June, July, Aug...

April 24, 2013 | 10:44 AM - Posted by yasamoka (not verified)

Amazing article. Thorough, detailed, excellent read! Thanks!

Have 2x 7970s here, I use VSync all the time so no microstutter. I am currently downloading these drivers to test.

Thumbs up AMD as well!

April 26, 2013 | 12:24 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Thank you!

April 24, 2013 | 02:03 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Impressive article, great improvement from AMD, my 7970 CF config might yet have a bright future to look forward to. Wish i could get my hands into that prototype driver right now :P

April 24, 2013 | 05:32 PM - Posted by JOE_E

hey ryan do you know if the runt frame problem exists with the older generation ati/amd cards in crossfirex? i have a system with 2 5770 cards in crossfire and i had a lot of issues while playing games, and i was just wondering if maybe that was the problem the whole time.

April 24, 2013 | 06:52 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

YES, of course it does. DUH. AMD sucks, and is a foaming at the mouth evil corp, unlike nVidia, the exact opposite of what the monkees preached to everyone for years on end.

In any case there's no chance the data won't come out, but the reviewers are busy catching up on the very current right now, so a bit more patience and full of the horrors will be seen, mark my words, there is no chance it isn't coming.

April 26, 2013 | 12:25 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Honestly not sure.  It's something I would like to test but I don't know if we have the bandwidth for it at this point in the cycle.

April 24, 2013 | 05:48 PM - Posted by RedNekTek (not verified)

Any chance that you'll get to frame rating 3-way/Quad Crossfire/SLI? I would love to see the variance and improvements that could be achieved. Especially for someone interested in 7990x2+ configurations.

April 24, 2013 | 09:05 PM - Posted by Jonathan Llamas (not verified)

I feel honored that were on the eve of having a new and much better way of measure perofrmance.
Ryan, i dont doubt that eventually you'll be known as the father of frame rating.

Keep up the awesome work, and ignore teh bias comments.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.