Review Index:
Feedback

EVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 2Win 2GB Dual-GPU Graphics Card Review

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: EVGA

Metro 2033

Metro 2033 (DirectX 11)


 

Metro 2033 is one of the best looking PC games in years.  By utilizing some advanced DX11 features as well as impressively high-quality shading routines this title pushes our graphics in way we have seen since the first days of Crysis.  

 
 
 
 
We ran Metro 2033 with Advance DOF disabled because it brought all of the cards but the GTX 480 to an unplayable state. 

 

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

The first results are pretty impressive showing the EVGA GTX 560 Ti 2Win with a 33% advantage over the GTX 580 at both the 1680x1050 and the 1920x1200 resolutions.  The issue arises at our 2560x1600 test and it is clear that the 1GB frame buffer just isn't enough to run Metro 2033 at our quality settings.  

November 4, 2011 | 05:05 AM - Posted by Mark (not verified)

The reason products like this arnt common cause it seems they cant make them cheaper then 2 cards. They need to price this 400-500, not over 500...

November 4, 2011 | 08:32 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

While I am sure that would help them sell more cards, look at where it performs - better than a GTX 580 and close to the level of the GTX 590. I think its pricing is pretty much justifiable from that.

November 4, 2011 | 09:26 AM - Posted by Kayden

I think the performance is great for the price point. I personally would be hard pressed to consider this card though. I would rather go with 1 580 and look at going SLI further down the road, when they become cheaper. It is a good solution for those with only one PCIE over the 590, with out a doubt. I just doubt it will be plausible to put in those cases that only have one PCIE with it's considerable length in mind. If you're going to go with a 560ti, spend a little more and get this if your case & psu supports it. Overall nice review.

November 4, 2011 | 10:38 AM - Posted by Yapa (not verified)

Hmm good idea but has 1 major flaw... and its a MAJOR flaw... 1Gb of memory is not enough for SLI systems which usually are for people who run large resolution monitors.

BF3 for example uses over 1GB on High settings and a lot more on ultra with 4x MSAA

November 4, 2011 | 03:16 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

The card 1Gb memory per chip, giving it 2 Gb memory in total.

November 4, 2011 | 05:38 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

It doesn't work that way tardo.

November 11, 2011 | 09:39 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Hey now, no need to get mean

November 4, 2011 | 05:38 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

SLI and Crossfire both do not work that way. You do not have 2Gb of total framebuffer space. Each GPU needs to contain the entire contents of the scene since they both render the same thing. Even 4 way SLI with 1Gb cards would result in 1Gb of total vram.

November 4, 2011 | 05:39 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Yeah but with SLI enabled you have 1GB in Total.

November 4, 2011 | 09:25 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

"This card can even run NVIDIA Surround and 3D Vision Surround modes with three displays"

So where are the benchmarks with three displays?

November 5, 2011 | 01:55 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Due to the quick launch we didn't do any. I can hook it up and run some tests next week if you want.

November 5, 2011 | 02:15 AM - Posted by monkeyswithguns (not verified)

Too bad you can't run 2

November 5, 2011 | 01:56 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Agreed. Or at least add in a third 560 Ti single GPU card.

November 6, 2011 | 03:53 PM - Posted by pdjblum

Ryan,

Great job once again. It behooves me to understand why other reviewers do not get the importance of minimum frame rate. It is probably the most important metric for me.

On that score, do you think the better smoothness you saw with the 580, despite the lower frame rates, was a result of lower min on the 2Win, or is it related to SLI?

November 6, 2011 | 07:51 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

If I had to put my house on it one way or the other, I would bet on SLI.

November 7, 2011 | 06:31 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

They should have made this SLI compatible for people with mid-tower cases it's nice to have 4-way SLI in a compact space.

November 10, 2011 | 09:06 PM - Posted by ThorAxe

Interesting comments on BF3. I use a GTX 570 SLI system and it has been butter smooth at 2560x1440 even with 4xMSAA on, though MSAA does slow it down. It's best to turn this off anyway when using Nvidia cards as FSAA is just as good without a large the performance hit.

Regarding the GTX 560 Ti 2Win, my feeling is that this is likely a combination of a tiny lack of speed but largely the limitation of 1GB onboard memory when 4xMSAA is applied.

November 10, 2011 | 09:59 PM - Posted by Markon101 (not verified)

I bet it is a folding monster. Nice review :D

November 17, 2011 | 05:22 AM - Posted by Lt Kernel

Hey Ryan, did you ever hear back from EVGA or Nvidia regarding the BF3 results?

You might want to try the following to smooth out gameplay...http://www.pcgameshardware.com/aid,852914/Solved-Battlefield-3-lag-issue-with-DirectX-10-Geforce-cards/Practice/

November 23, 2011 | 06:54 PM - Posted by David (not verified)

I read it gives off twice the heat as a GTX580 So if you have a large case with plenty of out-let fans you may be ok, Id prefer the GTX 590 OR GTX 580 Personally.

November 23, 2011 | 07:19 PM - Posted by David (not verified)

the GTX 460 2 Win is much, much cheaper at £300 compared to £419 FOR THIS GTX 560 2 Win. okay the 560 has the edge but for an extra £119... Dunno? what do you guys think?

March 30, 2012 | 05:57 AM - Posted by Robert van Husen (not verified)

Can i install N.2 EVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 2Win in order to work in SLI (4xSli)?

October 23, 2014 | 07:59 AM - Posted by http://Wiki.Shol.ru (not verified)

La cirugía con lipo láser es un procedimiento ambulatorio y
se realiza por norma general en el consultorio del médico.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.