Review Index:
Feedback

Battlefield 3 (BF3) System Build Guide - What you need to succeed

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: PC Perspective

1680x1050 - Medium Settings

So, you want to play Battlefield 3 but you don't have a need for a high end system to do it - you just want to make sure you aren't left behind.  Your monitor might be a bit behind the times with a resolution of 1680x1050 but that doesn't mean you can't still snipe some Eyefinity-using-punks avatar from 600m, right?  Here is the system we think you need to do it all at medium quality settings.

View Full Size

CPU: Core i5-2500k - $219

MB: ASUS P8Z68-V LE - $129

Memory: 2 x 2GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 - $32

The most expensive part in this system is going to be your processor - the Core i5-2500k and you won't hurt my feelings at all if you decide to step down to a lower cost Sandy Bridge part here and stick with the same motherboard or even if you decide to go with the AMD platform instead. 

For only $169 you can grab the Phenom II X4 980 3.7 GHz processor and easily pick up a 990FX motherboard for the $140 range that will get you running and more than adequate speeds for BF3 and prepare for the pending launch of AMD's Bulldozer 8-core CPU.  As I mentioned on the first page the CPU platform of choice doesn't really make much a difference in the performance of this game but we like you to be prepared for future titles as well that just MIGHT use the CPU more heavily.

GPU: Zotac AMP! GeForce GTX 560 1GB (overclocked) - $220

View Full Size

My testing has shown that to really reach that 60 FPS mark that is our target for the best gameplay experience, the best card to reach that at Medium quality settings in BF3 is the GTX 560 or the GTX 560 Ti.  The reason I selected this Zotac overclocked model is just because of its price and how much it is overclocked from reference speeds: 950 MHz versus 810 MHz!  Even though it has fewer shader units than the GTX 560 Ti card I still think for the money this card will get you to your BF3 goals the cheapest.  

Oh, and with most of the GeForce cards in this little article, you get a free copy of the upcoming Batman: Arkham City game - a $50 value for what is likely to be a pretty sweet game.

GPU alternate: Gigabyte Radeon HD 6870 1GB (overclocked) - $190

View Full Size

If you want to go the route of the AMD Radeon lineup then the lowest priced card to meet our quality goals for this system would likely be the Radeon HD 6870 card though in my testing it is a bit slower than the GTX 560 series.  This overclocked model likely has some more headroom you can push out of the GPU as it is only clocked at 950 MHz (compared to the 900 MHz stock setting).

Base Components Cost: $600

This is definitely a higher cost than our budget system on our Hardware Leaderboard but Battlefield 3 is a tough game on your system, so this is where I think you should be starting at. 


October 3, 2011 | 01:16 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I would buy Battlefield 3 if it wasn't for the horrible piece of crap software that is Origin.

October 3, 2011 | 06:06 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

"Wake up"

October 3, 2011 | 08:12 PM - Posted by Corhen (not verified)

i feel the exact same way.

i will NOT get BF3 UNLESS its on steam, and i DONT have to install Origon

October 10, 2011 | 10:30 AM - Posted by biggles1000 (not verified)

Yeah, I completely agree. Steam is a pain, but Origin is AWFUL. Just like I want to get BC2's Vietnam, but would have to go through Origin to get it (as I bought the physical copy of BFBC2). I've currently been having a blast of a time (heavy sarcasm) with Origin, having the 'pleasure' of trying to download the beta :/

January 2, 2012 | 04:21 AM - Posted by crunzaty (not verified)

Just relax, they are trying to fix it. And they have got the Origin "stable" for now^^

October 3, 2011 | 02:11 PM - Posted by JR

Thank you sir. This cuts a lot of my homework out of the way.
Geosys

October 3, 2011 | 03:03 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Glad to help!

October 4, 2011 | 12:01 PM - Posted by Dan (not verified)

Hey Ryan,

How does this run on your Alienware m17x? I have one with a 580m and would like to know what the performance is going to be like.

October 5, 2011 | 04:56 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

It ran great on our at 1080p resolution, though we are using a Radeon HD 6990m.

October 3, 2011 | 02:14 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Does the higher latency on the RAM not really make much of a performance difference?

October 3, 2011 | 02:30 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Not for gaming, nope.

October 3, 2011 | 02:37 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Alright. Saves me a few dollars then. Thanks for the quick reply Ryan!

October 3, 2011 | 02:51 PM - Posted by Berger (not verified)

Hey what is the difference between high and ultra? Other than AA being turned on. I have heard rumors that dice did not include the actual ultra settings in the beta.

Also quick question HBAO vs SSAO? I know HBAO is more intensive, but I can't tell the difference.

Thanks for the article Ryan. I guess I will have to get a second 570 :-\

October 3, 2011 | 03:02 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Check out my previous BF3 articles for some IQ comparisons.

October 3, 2011 | 02:54 PM - Posted by Tim (not verified)

I've been thinking about going for a 6870 Trifire setup. Using the 6870 X2 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814131446) and single 6870 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102948) the cost would be around $600. Any thoughts as to how this would perform in BF3 and Rage?

October 3, 2011 | 03:01 PM - Posted by AndrewM56 (not verified)

I would think 2 6970s would be better for that kind of money, VRAM doesnt scale as in 2 1gig cards does not equal your pc having 2gigs usable vram (so Ive been told)

BF3 is said to use about 1.3gigs of vram ps

October 3, 2011 | 03:03 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

If Andrew's cost comment is right, I think that is a better choice. Two GPUs will scale better (in terms of cost/FPS) than three GPUs will.

October 3, 2011 | 03:17 PM - Posted by AndrewM56 (not verified)

I wanted to be sure so I looked into it and found an article on Toms Hardware:
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/245454-33-crossfire-faqs

Do SLI or CrossFire double the memory ?
No.Adding another card with more memory doesn't double the overall memory of your cards.

October 3, 2011 | 08:04 PM - Posted by ThorAxe

Agreed, 2 GPUs will almost always have a better FPS per dollar ratio than 3. However, I used to run a 4870x2 + 4870 setup and was surprised at just now well tri-fire scaled.

October 3, 2011 | 03:32 PM - Posted by MrBlack2 (not verified)

Will we be seeing BF3 included free with any new cards?
(for us cheap thrifty bastards)

October 3, 2011 | 03:38 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Doesn't look like. It appears the new Batman is the pack in of choice for the fall.

October 4, 2011 | 12:18 PM - Posted by DmanA (not verified)

The 6950 Dirt 3 comes with Dirt 3 and Deus Ex:Human Revolution which most AMD cards come with still. That was the GPU route i went last month, I plan on running two of those eventually so i can get more than the 30fps i'm getting now in Caspian Border on Ultra lol.

October 3, 2011 | 05:34 PM - Posted by malcolmz3o (not verified)

Thanks for the article! I'm running an older Asus 4870x2 with an i7 2600K, Maximus IV Extreme-Z, Vertex 3, and 16GB of Vengeance DDR3-1600. I upgraded recently except for the GPU b/c waiting for the upcoming 28nm GPU's. Any idea when to expect them? Is this a good idea in your opinion? I'm not dissatisfied with the 4870x2 on the demo - it's running in "high" mode. But really looking forward to seeing how a 28nm multi GPU card will do.

October 3, 2011 | 05:45 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

i ran beta with 6770 5770 xfire phenom x4 965 8 gig of crucial 1333 ram at 2048X1154 on whatever settings they recommend (not the highest but must categories were up all the way)and i got 60 fps on fraps, note: it does drop in the 40s at some points but others its up in the 90s.

October 3, 2011 | 06:09 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

This game rocks

October 3, 2011 | 07:16 PM - Posted by Sharpe (not verified)

How is the game's memory usage using 3 1920x1200 monitors? ARMA2 absolutely eats VRAM and 1.5GB isn't enough. Is BF3 much less demanding even with ultra settings?

October 3, 2011 | 09:21 PM - Posted by Nilbog

Great article, thanks for all the in-depth info.

October 3, 2011 | 10:36 PM - Posted by Rich (not verified)

I have a 5850 do you think if I add another for the small additional price I will be able to play BF3 on high settings 1080p? or am I still going to be held back by 1gb of VRAM on this game at that res?
I have 6gb RAM and an i7 920 also.

October 4, 2011 | 08:22 PM - Posted by AParsh335i (not verified)

2x 5850 will be plenty if you arent playing eyefinity.

October 3, 2011 | 11:53 PM - Posted by Cr1ms0ngh0st

Guess my old Q6600,750i FTW and 570 may not cut it. lol though I do have a brand new P55 Mobo I won from EVGA almost 2 yrs ago. Don't know if I'd be better off with an i7 or i5. Been trying to build a new machine since I got the board, but damn life keeps getting in the way and sucking up extra funds :)

October 4, 2011 | 08:21 PM - Posted by AParsh335i (not verified)

Depending on your OC on your Q6600 you might still be pretty good

October 4, 2011 | 10:11 PM - Posted by Cr1ms0ngh0st

It is currently clocked @ 3.08 Ghz; I can get it a tad higher particularly now that cooler weather is starting.

October 4, 2011 | 12:41 AM - Posted by Corey (not verified)

Hey guys,

Looking to build a PC for battlefield and are interested in some builds you can check out the builds at: http://newbcomputerbuild.com/newb-computer-build-home/october-2011-gamin...

October 4, 2011 | 02:49 AM - Posted by player-x

Seriously question picking a 580 1.5GB over a 3GB cards in the high-end system.
As its proven that 2560x1600 and specially 5760x1200/1080 are limited by 1.5GB and need at least 2GB of video memory!

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100007709%20...
The ZOTAC AMP2!3GB is only 2x $25,-- more, what are even talking about!

In multimonitor setups like 5760x1200 memory size dose really mater.

I had my self 2x 5870 1GB and sold them for 2x 5870 2GB Matrix cards, my minimum fps literally skyrocketed, from unplayable to good fps.

Got self a water cooled rig whit a i7 970@4.7GHz 3x 5870 2GB cards 5760x1200, and playing BF3 Ultra@60 fps

October 4, 2011 | 02:58 AM - Posted by Irishgamer01

Is it me but sometimes I find my 30 inch monitor is too big for shooters.
I do most of my shooter gaming on my 24 inch system.
I also have an eyefinity setup too but just cannot get it smooth enough, and again I am a stagey fan so eyefinity doesn't work there either.

BTW: I have 10 PC's
Also 580 SLI is the dream video card ticket.

October 4, 2011 | 08:25 PM - Posted by AParsh335i (not verified)

Yeah i used to play on a 26" and i thought that was too big (people sneaking up on me because i cant physically see them on the monitor). I switched to 3x24" and find myself happy with 1x24" for most games.

October 4, 2011 | 01:04 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Just an FYI you have "i7 2500k" listed under the first two, should be i5 2500k. Confused me at first.

October 5, 2011 | 04:58 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Thanks!

October 4, 2011 | 06:53 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Or just buy it on the 360. It will probably look nearly as good for no money spent. How bout da..........

October 4, 2011 | 08:19 PM - Posted by AParsh335i (not verified)

Incorrect.

October 4, 2011 | 08:19 PM - Posted by AParsh335i (not verified)

I personally don't agree with these builds.

On the first system i would have gone i3-2100/h55 motherboard and saved a ton of money, 1080p monitors are only $100, put the saved money to a new monitor.

Second system should have been an i5-2500k overclocked w/ a z68. I'd also rather have 2x 6950 1gbs than 1x GTX 580, and they sell for about the same.

October 7, 2011 | 06:18 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

will laptops be able to play this game?

October 8, 2011 | 06:10 PM - Posted by Peter (not verified)

I'm running a 5830 with a Phenom II x4 965. Runs fine in high. I've currently got 4 gigs of DDR2-800. Would it be worth getting another 2 or 4 gigs of system memory?

October 9, 2011 | 09:10 AM - Posted by deathbringer2689 (not verified)

i have an i5-2400,8gb 1333mhz ram,msi twin frozer III gtx 560ti hawk. My screen resolution is 1600X900.
Will i be able to play it in High or ultra settings?
will i be getting a steady 60fps assuming that the final build is more hardware friendly?
TY!

October 9, 2011 | 11:08 AM - Posted by Yapa (not verified)

Guys can you please do some proper CPU benchmarks showing scaling with increase of Mhz and increase of cores?

I have a Q9550 @ 4ghz and on caspain 64 player map the CPU sits on 95% and my FPS is sometimes below 30 on High settings, cant even set Ultra.

My GPU's are 2x GTX275 SLI, which never go above 65%... so I believe the bottleneck is the CPU.

You say the CPU does not matter mcuh, have you really tested properly on caspian map with 64 players?

It makes a HUGE difference compared to Metro, my CPU is only at 65% average in Metro yet 85 to 95% in caspian.....

We need some proper CPU tests! I believe in conquest 64 players the CPU matters a lot more.

October 10, 2011 | 12:43 AM - Posted by concept1961

Thanks Ryan for this great review.

It really help put thing in perspectives!

I have a computer with an old Radeon GTX 9800 that is still delivering quite good for some games but I'm now on my way to buy a new system and I was thinking about 2 SLI evga GTX590 classified 3gig with the Asus P8Z68 Deluxe motherboard.

What is your opinion about this set-up and can I expect to be "up-to-date" for a few years on the video specs?

Thank you very much for your help and feedback.

François

October 17, 2011 | 04:46 PM - Posted by DuseX

I went to GeForce Lan 6 this weekend. My latest build I left Nvidia and went with a Sapphire 5870 love the card. But After this lan I think I will purchase 2x 550ti EVGA's and SLI them for BF3. Any thoughts?

October 19, 2011 | 03:56 PM - Posted by mtrush (not verified)

an alternative to the 580gtx would be the 480gtx sc, its only 5% slower with a Overclock. i've played ultra in the beta with 50- 75fps

October 21, 2011 | 01:25 PM - Posted by RockChalk (not verified)

Will you update this article when the release comes out?

October 22, 2011 | 11:47 PM - Posted by JReese (not verified)

Looking to upgrade graphics for BF3 from an EVGA GTX 260 SCC to a EVGA GTX 560 or 560 Ti. What will I benefit more from in BF3; 2GB of RAM on the card with slightly slower clock/mem speeds or 1GB of RAM on the card with faster clock/mem speeds. Rest of the system is a EVGA P55 mobo, Core i7 860 @ 2.8GHz and 8GB of DDR3 1600 RAM running Windows 7 Pro x64.

October 25, 2011 | 09:05 AM - Posted by Houlden (not verified)

Sorry, but this is absolute crap. I can max this game on an AMD 6850 and a Phenom II X4 955 with only 4GBs of DDR3 and still get good frames (40-60). saying you need to spend thousands to hit max is ludicrous, besides, hardly anyone will be playing at 3x 1080p resolutions.

October 25, 2011 | 12:34 PM - Posted by Mas3nk0 (not verified)

Can I reverse the question?

What settings in BF3 do you advise for a system with an i5/4GB/HD5850 to reach 60fps for MP?
Would 1680x1050 with high default settings suffice (possibly with turning of some of the AA/MSAA/HBA functions)?

October 26, 2011 | 05:17 AM - Posted by red1776 (not verified)

well as this is a tech site, You should really make an effort to be up to date on things such as GPU scaling. for instance:

"but the fact is that the GeForce cards have been proven to have better multi-GPU scaling."

No...the fact is that the Nvidia and AMD latest offering (particularly the 6970 and 580's multi GPU scaling are very close to each other overall. There as always some games that favor one or the other as always. Interestingly enough, BF3 multi GPU scaling is within 1% of each other.

October 30, 2011 | 05:47 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Could I get 60 fps @ 1650x1080, bare minimum settings with a GTS 450?

October 30, 2012 | 12:32 PM - Posted by Rex (not verified)

Erm~ Can you do a low quality, full specs with price? pls pls pls pls pls ~T.T~

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.