Review Index:
Feedback

Asus R9 270X and 280X DirectCU II TOP Review

Author: Josh Walrath
Manufacturer: Asus

Results: Bioshock Infinite

Another new addition to the benchmark regime!  BI adds all kinds of fancy tricks to the PC to make visuals that are, hyperbole aside, simply stunning.  Or at least new.  It is based on UE 3.0, but still has plenty of bells and whistles to make things look really nice with plenty of interesting effects.  Ultra/DX11/DOF is enabled while using the built-in benchmark.

View Full Size

View Full Size

A bit of a changeup here.  The NVIDIA cards both are faster than the competition.  Scaling in CrossFire does appear to be working in these results (and with the eyeball test).

January 16, 2014 | 09:35 AM - Posted by Daniel Nielsen (not verified)

Looks like very solid cards. I really want to see some custom cooled versions of the 290 soon.

January 16, 2014 | 10:04 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Ryan has already reviewed units from Asus and Sapphire on this here site.

January 16, 2014 | 11:16 AM - Posted by LtMatt

Shame you started using DDOF in Bioshock Ryan. The game looks so much better with it disabled, not to mention the impact it has on performance numbers.

January 16, 2014 | 12:02 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Well, those numbers are worst case scenarios for extreme graphics.  Happily, as a user, you can disable it and get a performance boost with your setup!

January 16, 2014 | 12:39 PM - Posted by BBMan (not verified)

I'm kind of curious as to why I can find 270 boards with 4GB and 280s seem stuck at 3GB.

January 16, 2014 | 01:06 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

The 270s use a 256 bit bus, so they can cram 4 GB of memory on them.  The 280 has a 384 bit bus, so to go above 3 GB they need to use 6 GB.  That is much more expensive than they feel that most users will go for, so they keep them at 3 GB.  Plus, the 280s are already overpriced with just 3 GB right now!  Someone really didn't figure out this demand thing...

January 16, 2014 | 01:04 PM - Posted by snook

great review Josh. After reading this, I'm convinced that miners are responsible for every known world problem. I mean all of them, including excessive cow flatulence!

They have ruined my upgrade plans for the time being. :/

thanks for the review.

January 16, 2014 | 01:13 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Damn those miners!  At least you can get the R9 270x at a decent price... but yeah, no 280X anywhere near the promised $299.

January 16, 2014 | 04:22 PM - Posted by MDWired (not verified)

Is it me or are the graph numbers switched like the min FPS To high and the avg FPS to low on the Unigine Heaven benchmarks.

January 16, 2014 | 05:36 PM - Posted by Josh Walrath

LOL, yup!  Obviously I transposed the numbers.  Just pretend Min is Avg. and Avg. is Min!

January 16, 2014 | 09:07 PM - Posted by DerekR (not verified)

I bought a Gigabyte Windforce R9 270X last November. Having upgraded from an MSI GTX460 with only 768MB of video memory, the 270X was a fantastic deal!

The GTX760 might be the performance equivalent for the 270X, but the price point is mush closer to the older GTX660 here in Japan. Video cards are priced fairly higher than the US. nVidia cards in particular are pricey. When I bought my car a MSI TwinFrozer GTX660 was going for around $200, while the Gigabyte Windforce 270X was only slightly more at $225. Most of the GTX760s that I saw were going for around $370 to $400.

January 17, 2014 | 08:53 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

Yeah, that's a pretty steep increase in price as compared to performance on the R9 270X.  The 270X is still probably the best overall deal in the market for what you get.

January 19, 2014 | 12:13 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Makes me glad I got the HD 7870 for $120 after rebate over a month ago. Not sure if I can bring myself to get the 270X at current prices.

January 21, 2014 | 06:29 PM - Posted by Damian (not verified)

Glad I was able to grab the Asus R9 280x DC2T for my new build before the rush. Snuck it out of Newegg beginning of December for $319...before the gouging began.

Love it.

January 22, 2014 | 08:55 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

It certainly is a nice card.  Good job on grabbing it before the insanity hit.

March 22, 2014 | 10:37 PM - Posted by DrunkenBishop (not verified)

Notice the dif in the fans on the 280X other than the actual card size and such.... Put that on the cooling on the 270X and you could no doubt O.C. more. Gotsa LOVE ASUS....!!!! I do.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.