Review Index:
Feedback

ASUS Radeon R9 290X DirectCU II Graphics Card Review

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: ASUS

Battlefield 3

Battlefield 3 (DirectX 11)


 

Battlefield 3™ leaps ahead of its time with the power of Frostbite 2, DICE's new cutting-edge game engine. This state-of-the-art technology is the foundation on which Battlefield 3 is built, delivering enhanced visual quality, a grand sense of scale, massive destruction, dynamic audio and character animation utilizing ANT technology as seen in the latest EA SPORTS™ games.

Frostbite 2 now enables deferred shading, dynamic global illumination and new streaming architecture. Sounds like tech talk? Play the game and experience the difference!

Our Settings for Battlefield 3

Here is our testing run through the game, for your reference.

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

In BF3 the new ASUS R9 290X is definitely a step above the reference design with an average frame rate that is improved by 11%.  It isn't enough to catch the GTX 780 Ti but it closes the gap considerably.

December 18, 2013 | 01:34 PM - Posted by Daniel Meier Nielsen (not verified)

Damn, did not expect it to actually do this well. Nice review Ryan.

December 18, 2013 | 01:35 PM - Posted by Imre (not verified)

Awesome:ooo

December 18, 2013 | 01:36 PM - Posted by Imre (not verified)

Please Jesus:((

December 19, 2013 | 08:07 AM - Posted by StewartGraham (not verified)

Jesus can't help you.

December 18, 2013 | 01:42 PM - Posted by OneAgainstOne (not verified)

Exactly, let's wait til these actually come out and what Nvidia is going to do to counter this cause we it could cause a TI drop to reasonable pricing. Thanks Ryan as always!!

December 21, 2013 | 03:29 AM - Posted by nobodyspecial (not verified)

NV doesn't have to respond with anything. You can buy an MSI 780ti gaming card for $699 that is 1020/1085. So a FREE OC is already priced at REF MSRP. It won all benchmarks at hardwarecanucks review of this 290x card except for Dirt Showdown which nobody plays (I say that because it hasn't sold 100K copies yet according to vgchartz which is what it takes to show up on their charts, total failure). Also it won everything without OCing, which nets another 10% as it runs up to 1225 as they show.

Tried to put a link in to hardwarecanucks but caught for spam. I'm sure anyone can get there on their own anyway (newegg below also).

You should be testing at MSI speeds since you can get an OC card for ref pricing. You are testing an OC card here (290X asus) vs. REF 780ti and asking if they took the crown? NOPE. Because you can get OC 780ti for $699 already that easily wins.

The EVGA REF model is now $680 also on newegg once in the cart. More expensive than 290x maybe, but comes with gsync, 3 AAA games, cooler etc.

December 21, 2013 | 01:01 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

You really are a Nvidia fanboy. This 290x beats the 780 TI through and through. Not only does it run slightly cooler, the frame rate is the exact same. OH wait, its $150 cheaper and if Nvidia fanboys can't realize that Nvidia does need to respond with a price drop, they will be seriously hurting. I know fanboys like you will always keep them in business though because you're paying for an overpriced piece of crap. I don't know where you get that the EVGA Ref card is cooler, but it isn't. Look at the 4 degrees difference. Also AMD comes with the Never Settle Bundles, so you have zero point there with the AAA titles. Gsync is pointless. Drivers are far better on AMD now. What's that? OH wait...Games like BF4 AMD dominates Nvidia in every shape and form and this is all before mantle. Is Nvidia in the PS4 or Xbox? Nope. If Mantle does well, is every game from here on out going to adpot it? Yep. So basically Nvidia has an overpriced card that does the same things as the 290x but for way more money and....No thats pretty much it. Have a nice day.

December 21, 2013 | 03:19 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

fanboy, lol me think you can't read graphs, only one where it comes out on top. Then you have the 780ti direct cu2 which eats your AMD fanboy ass

December 22, 2013 | 12:18 PM - Posted by snook

This is the first 290X non-reference card out. If you think there aren't going to be faster non-reference 290Xs released, you've lost it.

enjoy the crow when it's served.

December 22, 2013 | 01:10 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Yes kudos to ASUS for fixing a broken product. Ryan , put it up against the Gigabyte 780ti Ghz Edition or the EVGA SC ACX, would be interested in the results for non ref v non ref
Cheers

December 22, 2013 | 01:07 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

>g-sync is pointless
What?
You do know what g-sync does right?

December 23, 2013 | 11:54 PM - Posted by Niabureth (not verified)

I'll second what Snook said. Until G-sync gets mainstream, (meaning it would be fully compatible with most displays out there) which won't happen anytime soon, I don't really see the point of it. Most people won't be able to use it. And it's not exactly cheap. Don't get me wrong, G-sync is great and all, but it will take some time before it's really a valid argument for going green.

December 22, 2013 | 12:29 PM - Posted by snook

it doesn't come with g-sync. it comes with the ability to use g-sync. huge difference. you get to pay extra for an aftermarket kit (per ryan, limited) or buy a g-sync enabled monitor.

last podcast points out the g-sync limits also. many more than I thought it would have.

December 23, 2013 | 11:42 PM - Posted by Niabureth (not verified)

OMG, you are actually getting really upset about this review, and getting into a defensive position for Nvidia? *The fanboy is strong in this one*

December 18, 2013 | 01:44 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

How much more FPS do you get with the sticker ?
&
Which color combination gives the most FPS ?

December 18, 2013 | 02:19 PM - Posted by D1RTYD1Z619

Actually blue stickers run cooler giving you better overclocks, its science and junk. I have a friend in the "know" that says Asus is saving the blue stickers for the Rev. 2 models.

December 18, 2013 | 02:25 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

speed holes, get out that pickaxe, or shotgun, and make some Holes, at least on those refrence SKUs!

December 18, 2013 | 03:53 PM - Posted by N3n0 (not verified)

Shutup Homer.

December 22, 2013 | 01:11 PM - Posted by Homer, the poet (not verified)

Shut up, pleb.

December 23, 2013 | 11:56 PM - Posted by Niabureth (not verified)

Damn! Can't wait for those.

December 18, 2013 | 02:01 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

how could AMD have not come up with a similarly performing solution for their flagship cards?

AMD have cut their engineering workforce down to almost the bare-bones to stay alive, and maybe AMD should go with a flagship non-refrence design partner, and forgo the costs of thermal engineering to that partner, until AMD rehires/recommits more of its engineering assets towards thermal engineering and cooling/sound design. Yes the parts only cost $20 more, but the engineering costs much more than the materials, and if your engineering workforce is not there, or not available, it is better to get a flagship partner, and utilize that partners engineering workforce.

Alms for the cooling design challenged.

December 18, 2013 | 02:03 PM - Posted by JohnGR (not verified)

Great. But I think most of us knew it for over a month now when many used third party coolers on 290X and had excellent results.
This must be the only time ever that the same gpu that lost the performance crown took it back with just a cooler change.

March 1, 2014 | 03:02 PM - Posted by nashathedog (not verified)

It's shocking how dumb some people are....

December 18, 2013 | 02:49 PM - Posted by Brett from Australia (not verified)

very comprehensive review Ryan, and you have made some good points why AMD could not have done a better job with these cards when they came out of the gate is worrying. These cards do create a lot of heat and as such should have better built in cooling.

December 18, 2013 | 02:59 PM - Posted by envygamer (not verified)

FAWK YEA am selling off my 290 ref!

December 18, 2013 | 03:07 PM - Posted by mikeymike (not verified)

AMD shut up and take my money!!!

December 18, 2013 | 03:08 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Do you run your Skyrim tests with the official HD Textures DLC?

December 18, 2013 | 04:41 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

It's the DLC textures but no mods.

December 21, 2013 | 04:31 PM - Posted by BattMarn (not verified)

Ryan, I know it makes it harder to compare your results with other websites, but I don't know ANYONE who runs Skyrim on PC with no mods.

If you do what TekSyndicate do and run all their tests on a heavily-modded Skyrim, the game will push the GPU further. And so long as none of the mods are ENBs or anything, (so stick to texture and lighting mods) the performance should scale with texture quality, etc.

Might also make Skyrim more relevant as a benchmark, since in most of your latest reviews you've said how pretty much any new GPU can run Skyrim maxed out.

December 31, 2013 | 05:54 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Personally, I wouldn't mind seeing these cards put through their paces with an ENB and DDOF. I noticed on one review - I think an Anandtech review - the AMD cards seemed to react worse to DDOF in Bioshock Infinite than Nvidia ones, and I'd very much like to see if that is a game-specific aberration or a trend.

The beauty of modded Skyrim as a benchmark is that you can test the cards for different kinds of advanced graphics/lighting features from mods and then compare it to vanilla Skyrim as a control.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.