Review Index:
Feedback

ASUS ROG Matrix GTX 580 Platinum 1.5GB Graphics Card Review - Best of the best?

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: ASUS

Specifications and Testing Configuration

View Full Size

ASUS ROG Matrix GTX 580 Specifications

Despite the highly over-engineered nature of the Matrix GTX 580, most of you will likely be surprised at the relatively tame clock speeds that the card runs at by default.  With a core clock rate of 816 MHz, just a 44 MHz boost over the reference speeds, we expect the performance out of the box to be just slightly higher than all of the other cards on the market.  Memory speeds are running at 1002 MHz, the same as the reference GTX 580s. 

I know a lot of our readers are going to question this - why release a card that is so obviously capable of running at higher speeds with such a minimal overclock?  To many people it will look like ASUS isn't confident in their products enough to back up the overclocking potential that they claim the card is engineered to have.  While that is definitely not the case, I can see that point of view clearly.  ASUS still says that "the majority" of cards will be capable of speeds as high as 950-975 MHz but by keeping the default speeds low, and binning based on power and noise considerations, they can keep stock on this card better than the competition has done with some of their super-high-end models.  We will just have to see.

As you should expect, the ROG Matrix GTX 580 from ASUS comes it at among the highest priced single GPU cards on the market at $529.  Looking at the base price on reference quality GTX 580s though that is only an increase of $60 or about 12%.  I hesitate to say this...but the Matrix GTX 580 might not be a bad deal after all?

Our benchmarking and testing setup remains pretty much unchanged:

  • Testing Configuration
  • ASUS P6X58D Premium Motherboard
  • Intel Core i7-965 @ 3.33 GHz Processor
  • 3 x 2GB Corsair DDR3-1333 MHz Memory
  • Western Digital VelociRaptor 600GB HDD
  • Corsair Professional Series 1200w PSU
  • Benchmarks used: 3DMark Vantage, 3DMark11, Metro 2033, Lost Planet 2, Civilization V, F1 2010, Left 4 Dead 2, 3DMark11
  • NVIDIA Driver: 275.33
  • AMD Driver: 11.7

Let's dive into our performance testing and see how the ASUS ROG Matrix GTX 580 stands up to the competition!

August 25, 2011 | 06:06 AM - Posted by neliz (not verified)

I love how this card is not compared to a superior product, the N580GTX Lightning whihch you had on review 3 weeks ago :)

August 25, 2011 | 09:25 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

The lightning card was reviewed by another editor that lives faarrrr away from me. :)

August 25, 2011 | 08:05 AM - Posted by mark (not verified)

I read in another review that its potential overclock is higher then MSI's extreme lightning.

August 25, 2011 | 10:22 AM - Posted by neliz (not verified)

No, actual statistics from HWBOT.org show that the Average overclocks of Lightning cards is higher under both air and LN2 cooling.

If you take the average OC of the cards it's true and also the current rankings show it: http://hwbot.org/benchmark/3dmark11_-_performance/#cores=1

75% of the 3DMark11 580 scores are from MSI. (including the fastest card and the highest score)

So no, I don't know where you read it but it's false :p

August 25, 2011 | 04:02 PM - Posted by mark (not verified)

hardocp.com

"We managed to get the GPU frequency up to 891MHz, which is 75MHz faster than the out-of-box frequency, and 119MHz faster than a reference GTX 580. Also, because the shaders are locked to the GPU frequency, the shaders were running at 1782MHz, versus a stock GTX 580 of 1544MHz. Looking back at a couple of other evaluations, a MSI N580GTX Lightning video card achieved 893MHz GPU frequency, and an ASUS ENGTX580 DirectCU II video card achieved only 857MHz GPU frequency with no modification. So, this overclock is already better than ASUS's own GTX 580 DirectCU II version, and on par with another high-end custom video card. "

ASUS $530
MSI $600

August 26, 2011 | 02:40 AM - Posted by neliz (not verified)

Nice cherry picking Mark!

the $600 you mention is of the 3GB Lightning Xtreme Edition, the regular Lightning is $525 (oh! cheaper than the Asus!) :)

If you take a wider sample variance instead of just [H] you'll notice he averages are higher for the Lightning.

I was at a local event where they had 20 Lightnings and the average OC of those cards was over 1 GHz!

September 2, 2011 | 06:48 PM - Posted by Pale Rider (not verified)

I really wanted to enjoy this card. NewEgg sent me one that was used. I immediately RMA'd it for another and they sent me yet another used one! I eventually received a refund and bought the MSI Lightning GTX580 Xtreme. It's a monster overclocker, but I still want the ASUS Matrix. Since the ones I received were pre-used I never installed either one. I guess it isn't too early to be thinking about a Christmas present for myself. Especially since Ivy Bridge has been put off for at least another 3 months. Or never?

September 3, 2011 | 11:11 AM - Posted by Ubert3ch (not verified)

This is an awesome card, I picked up one of these, a ROG Crosshair V formula motherboard, and some Gskill 2133 ram, and the setup FAR exceeded my expectations.. (still using AMD Phenom II 955 Black Edition cpu until Zambezi releases)

averaging 50+ fps in Crysis2 DX11 with everything maxed at 1680 x 1050 + hi-res textures

Unigine Heaven demo in Open Suse Linux sees an avg of 66.4 frames with an overall score of 1673 with moderate tesselation setting

April 15, 2012 | 11:19 PM - Posted by alvares3 (not verified)

MATRIX GTX580 P/2DIS/1536MD5 Software – Driver Download
http://www.software-driver.com/asus/assus-matrix-gtx580-drivers-win7vist...

November 7, 2014 | 11:12 PM - Posted by Lou (not verified)

May I simply say what a relief to find a person that really understands what they're talking about on the
net. You actually understand how to bring a problem to light and make it important.
More people really need to read this and understand this
side of your story. I was surprised that you're not more popular since you certainly have the gift.

Feel free to visit my web-site; γραφεια ερευνων αθηνα

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.