Review Index:
Feedback

ASUS ROG MARS 760 4GB Dual GPU Graphics Card Review

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: ASUS

Battlefield 3

Battlefield 3 (DirectX 11)


 

Battlefield 3™ leaps ahead of its time with the power of Frostbite 2, DICE's new cutting-edge game engine. This state-of-the-art technology is the foundation on which Battlefield 3 is built, delivering enhanced visual quality, a grand sense of scale, massive destruction, dynamic audio and character animation utilizing ANT technology as seen in the latest EA SPORTS™ games.

Frostbite 2 now enables deferred shading, dynamic global illumination and new streaming architecture. Sounds like tech talk? Play the game and experience the difference!

Our Settings for Battlefield 3

Here is our testing run through the game, for your reference.

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

In a somewhat surprising start, the ASUS ROG MARS 760 has a great showing in the Battlefield 3 test as it is the fastest card of the bunch here, outpacing even the GeForce GTX 780 Ti in our testing at 2560x1440. 

One area to look out for with the MARS 760 is frame time variance; because the card is essentially full time SLI it is possible that we'll see differences in consecutive frame times that affect gaming experiences.  In BF3 we didn't see any of that popping up which is good and means that gamers aren't at a disadvantage with an SLI setup versus a single GPU configuration.

December 17, 2013 | 02:29 PM - Posted by dagnamit

This thing would be amazing with 4gb for each GPU at $600.00. That's where it needs to be for success.

December 20, 2013 | 02:57 AM - Posted by Donut GTX (not verified)

I have to say that as impressive as this card seems, the only value it has is in it's compact design. You are paying for it's size, not it's capabilities. For around $600, (a bit more though) you can get 2 GTX760 with 4Gb memory each and put the bacplates on yourself. Remember, the memory on SLI setups doesn't stack so the Mars doesn't actually have 4Gb of effective memory. I had 2 4Gb 760s in SLI for around the price this card sells for and was very impressed as they outperformed the 780! Now that you can get a 780 for around $500 and a 780TI for around $700, why would you want the middle? Save a couple hundred with the 780 and have great gameplay or toss a couple hundred more out there for the TI and beat a Titian's back side!

December 17, 2013 | 04:47 PM - Posted by mikelbivins

MadeLoveToByASUS is my screen name on the PCPER Podcast because I've never been "F*CKED" by ASUS. They always amaze me with the quality and performance of their products. ASUS is the best in my book and will remain there as long as they continue the path they're on. Love the card, but I have 2 ASUS 780ti's via SLI in my system and it rules all I've ever had. Keep it up ASUS and PC PER. You are both the best.

Love,
ASUS' #1 FAN

December 18, 2013 | 04:34 PM - Posted by Jeremy Hellstrom

Heyyyyyy, is that a shot at my username

December 17, 2013 | 05:46 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

im assuming its like the 690 though and only 2gb are usable?

December 17, 2013 | 11:49 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Well, it's 2GB per GPU.  Its ALL being used, just by separate GPUs.

December 18, 2013 | 01:18 PM - Posted by Ultramar (not verified)

Where's the custom 290 review ? =P

December 18, 2013 | 05:13 PM - Posted by Ultramar (not verified)

Thank you :)

December 18, 2013 | 01:55 PM - Posted by freeloadr (not verified)

my guess is that Asus didn't know Nvidia was going to release the 780ti...and they already had this card in the pipeline. If the 780ti didn't exist, this would be a sweet card.
Too late, Asus...good luck selling these things.

December 18, 2013 | 02:41 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

cool card but... 2 760 are not worth that much, if would be a perfect card if it used the full gk104 (770)... also 2GB per 760 is not so great considering the level of performance it can achieve without the vram being a bottleneck...

so yes... 2x 760s if you have a MB with enough space is a much nicer deal.

still, a cool card.

December 18, 2013 | 11:08 PM - Posted by alamakluke

Hi PCPER thanks for the review... I am wondering how 2 of these cards would work in quad SLI. I haven't seen any benchmark numbers anywhere yet... Plus I haven't seen any available yet to buy? Any ideas when or where to buy them?

thanks
Luc

December 19, 2013 | 12:21 AM - Posted by Jayendra (not verified)

dear Sir,

we do have required laptop Core i5 with 4 Gb graphic card.

December 20, 2013 | 07:19 PM - Posted by aparsh335i (not verified)

LOL

December 24, 2013 | 02:35 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Nah, wasn't that funny.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.