Review Index:
Feedback

ASUS Matrix Radeon HD 7970 3GB Overclocked Graphics Card Review

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: ASUS

Unigine Heaven v2.5

Heaven Benchmark (DirectX 11)


 

Heaven Benchmark is a DirectX 11 GPU benchmark based on advanced Unigine™ engine from Unigine Corp. It reveals the enchanting magic of floating islands with a tiny village hidden in the cloudy skies. Interactive mode provides emerging experience of exploring the intricate world of steampunk.

  • Support of DirectX 9, DirectX 10, DirectX 11 and OpenGL 4.0
  • Comprehensive use of tessellation technology
  • Advanced SSAO (screen-space ambient occlusion)
  • Volumetric cumulonimbus clouds generated by a physically accurate algorithm
  • Simulation of changing light conditions
  • Dynamic sky with light scattering
  • Interactive experience with fly/walk-through modes
  • Stereo 3D modes:
    • Anaglyph
    • Separate images
    • 3D Vision
    • iZ3
 
 

Unigine Heaven Test Settings

View Full Size

Again, small advances for the Matrix version of the HD 7970 from ASUS over the reference GHz Edition are seen but not enough to really rave about.

December 4, 2012 | 12:35 PM - Posted by Logun

Why the disparity on Metro 2033 @ 2560x1600 with the Matrix vs the GHz Ed? 5% seems like a notable amount?

June 12, 2013 | 11:33 PM - Posted by Jamal (not verified)

parce que vidéo incendie parquet
pac air eau chauffage pac chauffage devis pompe à chaleur
pac air eau entendu elle a parquet le béton en écoutant

December 5, 2012 | 10:46 AM - Posted by mtcn77 (not verified)

Excuse my impatience, what version of catalyst driver have you chosen for this review?

December 5, 2012 | 04:22 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Oops, I am always leaving that out!

For the AMD GPUs we were using the Catalyst 12.11 beta and for NVIDIA we tested with 306.23.

December 6, 2012 | 12:53 PM - Posted by wilson79

awesome show love to win this card

December 6, 2012 | 06:41 PM - Posted by msu232smith

Love the show guys, big fan keep up the good work.

December 6, 2012 | 07:32 PM - Posted by bilmath76 (not verified)

Amazing post keep it up Guys at PCper

December 7, 2012 | 01:33 AM - Posted by Ivica Madjaric (not verified)

This is some monster hardware ;)

December 9, 2012 | 06:50 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Nice detailed review, keep up the good work!

December 9, 2012 | 09:06 AM - Posted by TRAVERSER (not verified)

Great review!

I was about to replace my old trusty 5870 with a 7950 and now this came along. Oh well, budget was once again wiped out cause the holidays.

December 9, 2012 | 10:48 AM - Posted by clonzelda (not verified)

Is this the Ferrari of video cards?

December 18, 2012 | 04:50 PM - Posted by Elmira Beddow (not verified)

I really like your writing style, great information, thankyou for posting : D.

December 19, 2012 | 09:46 AM - Posted by rich9cinti (not verified)

I have the Matrix 7970 Platnium for about a week now. Some moderately high overclocks at 1230Mhz/7300Mhz. Using 12.11 driver, 3DMark11 score - 11160. I still have some thermal headroom, too. Here's a link to see how I progressed.

December 19, 2012 | 09:48 AM - Posted by rich9cinti (not verified)

Oops, here's the link: http://forums.extremeoverclocking.com/showthread.php?t=367143

February 13, 2013 | 03:49 PM - Posted by Sergiu Gabriel (not verified)

This graphic card is better than MSI GTX680 Lightning ? Will be faster for rendering things like 3D Objects in Blender, video animation, effects, etc...What will be the perfect choice, the ATI or the NVidia cards for graphic design ?

February 22, 2013 | 08:45 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Screen captures were taken with onboard TURNO FAN MODE enabled ??

May 26, 2014 | 06:02 AM - Posted by Tanner (not verified)

Wow.. This looks super cool. I have nvidea card, and when i played battlefield o it, i did felt some lag at some particular points like the transition from short clips in between to the game. But the statistics of radeon is so fantastic. Thanks for the share.
baby names 2012

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.