Review Index:
Feedback

ASUS MARS II Dual GTX 580 3GB Graphics Card Review

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: ASUS

Lost Planet 2

Lost Planet 2 (DirectX 11)


 

Featuring support for DirectX® 11 and DirectX 9, Lost Planet 2 delivers its Akrid-infested world in even greater detail. Through DirectX® 11 features, smoke will have lifelike volume and depth, water surfaces react realistically to player interaction and bullets, and level bosses are rendered with more detail than ever before.

The primary purpose of Test B is to push the PC to its limits and to evaluate the maximum performance of the PC. It utilizes many functions of Direct X11 resulting in a very performance-orientated, very demanding benchmark mode.

 
 

 

Lost Planet 2 Test Settings

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

While the performance delta at 1680x1050 is pretty low between the MARS II and the GTX 590 (only 8%) it increases to as high as 25% when we hit the resolution of a 30" panel.  The HD 6990 falls even further behind.  The single GPU GTX 580 is about 71% slower at 2560x1600.

August 26, 2011 | 12:43 AM - Posted by Sharpe (not verified)

Interesting engineering exercise, but for economic and practical reasons, I'd rather run my triple monitor setup with two 3GB GTX 580s with waterblocks.

November 24, 2012 | 09:56 AM - Posted by Skye (not verified)

I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought
this post was good. I do not know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already ;
) Cheers!

My web blog ciarb.org

November 28, 2012 | 09:45 AM - Posted by Tara (not verified)

If some one wishes expert view on the topic of running a blog after that
i recommend him/her to pay a quick visit this website,
Keep up the good work.

My webpage :: SEO Software

December 6, 2012 | 10:07 AM - Posted by Lawanna (not verified)

ӏ got this sitе fгom mу pal who shaгed with
me regarding thiѕ web sіte and at the
momеnt this time I аm browsіng this web pаge and readіng ѵerу informativе articles at this tіme.

mу homеpage; Lawanna

August 26, 2011 | 06:40 AM - Posted by P1NZ (not verified)

then ill definitely break in your house and steal all two lol, i have to get me this card

August 26, 2011 | 08:21 AM - Posted by mark (not verified)

We want a SLI Mars II review, just tell nvidea you'll give em right back :-P

August 26, 2011 | 09:32 AM - Posted by Bro (not verified)

@mark: here you go.
http://www.sweclockers.com/recension/14358-asus-rog-mars-ii-i-sli/1

August 26, 2011 | 12:32 PM - Posted by mark (not verified)

thx a bunch BRO

August 26, 2011 | 12:32 PM - Posted by mark (not verified)

wait...its german

August 27, 2011 | 05:01 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

It's swedish, not german

August 26, 2011 | 05:27 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

use google translate :D

August 26, 2011 | 10:45 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

wtf, comparing benchmarks on the 6990 to a stock clocked 6990 with a retardedly high end dual 580? pathetic, flick the oc switch and throw those in too

August 27, 2011 | 07:15 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

You can of course check our results with the OC switch enabled here: http://www.pcper.com/reviews/Graphics-Cards/AMD-Radeon-HD-6990-4GB-Dual-...

But we tested stock versus stock in this article...

September 1, 2011 | 04:26 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Honestly... for people who solely game... THE HECK YOU WANT 2 OF THESE FOR, spend it on tuition!
P.S. I'm in for 1, Thanks financial Aid!

September 1, 2011 | 10:13 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

+1

September 3, 2011 | 04:00 AM - Posted by Shawn heus (not verified)

This is a great card but not for the price. Seriously you can get 2 6990's for only around 200 more and it's only a small amount faster than one 6990. Save your money and go AMD for now.

September 5, 2011 | 04:27 PM - Posted by Kayden

What I don't understand is why the card does not have 3 DVI connections. I know you can use a converter for the HDMI to DVI for surround gaming but still, it's not something included with the unit nor is it a cost I would consider for almost $1500.

None the less good review. I currently have 2x EVGA 580 GTX FTW Hydro Copper 2 for SLI and I all ready paid that price for those two. I am thrilled to see that my synthetic benchmarks did a little better then that card, they are over clocked at 850mhz out of the box and I wonder if there maybe a bottle neck performance wise with that card. Here is my results

Extreme
http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1532760

Performance
http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1532773

November 3, 2011 | 12:44 AM - Posted by Gphish (not verified)

When two gtx580's reference boards are in SLI what is the estimated power consumption at full load? I see that one gtx580 at full throttle is around 395 (W). So am I to assume that in SLI the pair would hit at 790 (W)?

I have a x58 Sabertooth and a Corsair HX 1000 power supply.

December 7, 2011 | 11:14 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

"Normally we put aesthetics on the very furthest back burner for graphics cards but when you are shelling out $1300 for a card you might make more of it..."

you've GOT to be kidding me. this is like saying fancy set of ball bearings in a compressor need to be neon-lit. barring the moment you open the box, YOU WILL NEVER EVER EVER SEE THE GRAPHICS CARD AGAIN! EVER! who the hell cares what it looks like?!

January 15, 2012 | 05:07 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

100% agree. Hell if Hello Kitty had a fully branded card that had an performance advantage over this card at the same cost I would buy that and watercool it with pink fluid just to match.

May 11, 2013 | 02:25 AM - Posted by Juli (not verified)

Awesome blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks would
really make my blog stand out. Please let me know where you got your design.
Bless you

my website :: Electrical contractor handyman in Newport news

May 5, 2012 | 07:52 PM - Posted by Komander Maut (not verified)

i've my alienware aurora r4, can i use this grafic card ( MARS II Dual GTX 580 ) in my aurora... plzz comment urgent plzz...

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.