Review Index:
Feedback

AMD Radeon R9 280X, R9 270X and R7 260X Review

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: AMD

Skyrim - R9 270X, R7 260X

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (DirectX 9)


 

The Empire of Tamriel is on the edge. The High King of Skyrim has been murdered.

Alliances form as claims to the throne are made. In the midst of this conflict, a far more dangerous, ancient evil is awakened. Dragons, long lost to the passages of the Elder Scrolls, have returned to Tamriel.

The future of Skyrim, even the Empire itself, hangs in the balance as they wait for the prophesized Dragonborn to come; a hero born with the power of The Voice, and the only one who can stand amongst the dragons.

Our settings for Skyrim

Here is a video our testing run through, for your reference

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

 

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

In this instance the R9 270X is able to maintain matching performance at both resolutions of Skyrim with the GTX 760 2GB, a $50 more expensive GPU.  Clearly, the $199 GTX 660 doesn't stand a chance.

 

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

Once again we find that the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti Boost 2GB is able to bring in a victory for NVIDIA today; one of the few.

 

October 13, 2013 | 05:15 AM - Posted by Daniel Nielsen (not verified)

Agree 100%.

October 9, 2013 | 09:59 PM - Posted by jake (not verified)

i heard the r9 280x can be crossfired with the 7970

is it true?

October 10, 2013 | 12:51 AM - Posted by Tim Verry

Yes, they can be put into a crossfire configuration.

October 10, 2013 | 05:36 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I wish AMD would get there shit to together and fix their drivers before bring out a new card I am very disappointed with AMD having said that I do like the way the new cards look.

October 11, 2013 | 02:52 AM - Posted by jake (not verified)

does msi r9 280 include mantle?

October 13, 2013 | 10:00 AM - Posted by Watushio (not verified)

Yeah,

The wait is over. Right now there is a 7770 in my system.
And i was waiting for the new chips so the 7970 would drop in price.

I dont mind that it is called a 280x now.

Finaly my rig is complete, high end cpu, SSD and now a good GPU.

(lol a complete rig.. that does not exist..)

October 13, 2013 | 11:02 AM - Posted by Goose67 (not verified)

I always find it strange how close these cards are. I find it hard to believe that this by chance. Clearly AMD and Nvidia are working together, at least at some levels, to ensure maximum profit. There is no competition here.

October 13, 2013 | 11:38 AM - Posted by Watushio (not verified)

I think you are right.

But when the prices are to high for to long there will come a thirth party.

Maybe Intel wil come in a few years with good parallel processors.

Who knows

October 15, 2013 | 02:54 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

No Hawaii...false advertising by AMD...BOO !

October 15, 2013 | 03:29 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Ryan has my dream job.

October 15, 2013 | 03:32 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Mantle is a diversion for their not fixing their frame rating issues.

February 17, 2014 | 01:43 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Believe or not I don't play any games, however, I do a lot of animation, which is best NVIDIA OR AMD, I can't find an answer anywhere? Do you know. Thanks Steve

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.