Review Index:
Feedback

AMD Radeon R9 280X, R9 270X and R7 260X Review

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: AMD

Power Consumption and Overclocking

View Full Size

The R9 280X continues to draw more power than the GTX 770 and GTX 760; the Kepler architecture has been very efficient at the high end since its introduction.  Still, the differences are pretty minimal and gamers looking at the $300 price point won't mind the 18 watt difference between the 280X and the GTX 770 considering the $100 price delta.

View Full Size

The R9 270X is a much better solution in terms of power as it is only drawing 10 watts more than the GTX 660 yet outperforms it dramatically. 

View Full Size

At the low end though, the GTX 650 Ti Boost is using quite a bit more power than the R7 260X which kind of explains the performance advantages that NVIDIA saw in some games.

 

Overclocking the ASUS R9 280X

I spent a little bit of time with the ASUS Radeon R9 280X TOP to see if the GPU would overclock in any substantial way.  By simply using the control panel based AMD OverDrive settings, I was able to push the 280X up to 1175 MHz GPU clock and 1700 MHz memory clock while remaining completely stable. 

For a quick performance check I re-ran our Metro: Last Light benchmark to compare it to stock speeds. 

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

These results show an average frame rate increase of about 13% on average with lower frame time variance as well.  Not too bad for as little effort being put in as we had time for.

As we review the retail models of these cards (including the ASUS model we used for this review) we'll spend more time on the overclocking, sound levels and cooling considerations. 

October 13, 2013 | 05:15 AM - Posted by Daniel Nielsen (not verified)

Agree 100%.

October 9, 2013 | 09:59 PM - Posted by jake (not verified)

i heard the r9 280x can be crossfired with the 7970

is it true?

October 10, 2013 | 12:51 AM - Posted by Tim Verry

Yes, they can be put into a crossfire configuration.

October 10, 2013 | 05:36 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I wish AMD would get there shit to together and fix their drivers before bring out a new card I am very disappointed with AMD having said that I do like the way the new cards look.

October 11, 2013 | 02:52 AM - Posted by jake (not verified)

does msi r9 280 include mantle?

October 13, 2013 | 10:00 AM - Posted by Watushio (not verified)

Yeah,

The wait is over. Right now there is a 7770 in my system.
And i was waiting for the new chips so the 7970 would drop in price.

I dont mind that it is called a 280x now.

Finaly my rig is complete, high end cpu, SSD and now a good GPU.

(lol a complete rig.. that does not exist..)

October 13, 2013 | 11:02 AM - Posted by Goose67 (not verified)

I always find it strange how close these cards are. I find it hard to believe that this by chance. Clearly AMD and Nvidia are working together, at least at some levels, to ensure maximum profit. There is no competition here.

October 13, 2013 | 11:38 AM - Posted by Watushio (not verified)

I think you are right.

But when the prices are to high for to long there will come a thirth party.

Maybe Intel wil come in a few years with good parallel processors.

Who knows

October 15, 2013 | 02:54 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

No Hawaii...false advertising by AMD...BOO !

October 15, 2013 | 03:29 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Ryan has my dream job.

October 15, 2013 | 03:32 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Mantle is a diversion for their not fixing their frame rating issues.

February 17, 2014 | 01:43 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Believe or not I don't play any games, however, I do a lot of animation, which is best NVIDIA OR AMD, I can't find an answer anywhere? Do you know. Thanks Steve

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.