Review Index:
Feedback

AMD Radeon R9 280X, R9 270X and R7 260X Review

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: AMD

New Display Output Configuration and Eyefinity Changes

All three launch cards we are testing today (the Radeon R9 280X, the R9 270X and the R7 260X) are going to ship with a new standard output configuration.  Rather than the somewhat scatter-shot collection of outputs in most Radeon HD 7000-series cards (even HD 7900s and HD 7800s), most of the new lineup will include a pair of dual-link DVI outputs, a full-size HDMI and a full-size DisplayPort.  This is likely a pretty familiar collection of display outputs for PC Perspective readers as the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 700 family of enthusiast products adopted it as well in mid-2012. 

View Full Size

Regardless of who did it first, I still prefer this configuration.  Despite AMD’s claims that DisplayPort would be the dominant input option when the HD 7970 was first shown in 2011, plenty of users are still using and buying monitors that use DVI and HDMI and this configuration gives those gamers more flexibility. 

Along with this change comes an update to Eyefinity.  Gone is the requirement that one of your monitors (in a three display setup) be connected via DisplayPort and instead AMD is going to a solution that mirrors what NVIDIA current supports in its Surround technology.  Users of the R9 cards will be able to connect monitors to any output on the card and have the capability to enable Eyefinity.  DVI + DVI + HDMI?  No problem this time around.

View Full Size

This is enabled thanks to a slight rework of the display timing on the cards themselves.  Because two display controllers now share a timing generator you can now support Eyefinity without requiring any kind of DisplayPort adapter on legacy displays.  This works with single link and dual link port configurations as well.

View Full Size

As it turns out, because the HD 7000 series is so similar to the R9/R7 cards that are launching today, users are going to be allowed to run them in CrossFire configurations in mixed pairs.  That means if you have a Radeon HD 7970 GHz Edition card in your PC now you can add in an R9 280X and run them in CrossFire.  The same is true with the HD 7870 and the R9 270X as well as the HD 7790 and R7 260X.  If anything is indicative that these releases are really just rebrands, it is that.

Also, because of that fact (or maybe despite it) there are no changes to the CrossFire pacing concerns that exist today on the HD 7000 series of cards; everything should perform and behave exactly the same.  While you may have noticed that the R9 290X does not have CrossFire bridges in the various photos that have come out, the R9 280X/270X definitely do have them and they are required for CrossFire to function.

This means the work AMD has put into addressing frame pacing in CrossFire for resolutions of 2560x1600 and lower are applied to the R9 series of cards.  That also means that the Eyefinity/4K + CrossFire issues that we recently explored that continue to exist with the HD 7000s also continue to exist with the R9 280X and R9 270X.  AMD has promised a fix for both th R9 cards and the HD 7000 cards this fall.

There is a chance that the 260X is actually already fixed on Eyefinity + CrossFire scaling thanks to it being the test platform for the newer XDMA CrossFire integrating but we really want to test it on the R9 290X that actually has the compute power necessary to push bandwidth limits. 

October 8, 2013 | 12:14 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

isn't it 512 bit for Memory interface (or something)??

October 8, 2013 | 12:23 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

That's the 290x which will be unveiled a little later on.

October 8, 2013 | 12:57 AM - Posted by Eradikation (not verified)

Has anyone not figured out that Bioshock uses more then 2 gigs of ram yet at ultra? Those performance hitches are the ram swapping constantly. I have gtx 670 sli 2gb and a single gtx 770 4gb in two different systems. The gtx 770 plays completely hitch free on ultra using over 2.4 gigs at times smooth as butter. I have to drop texture quality and ambient occlusion to even get close to the same smooth results with my gtx 670 sli even though framerate is almost doubled. Why nvidia is even bothering with 2gb on high end cards is beyond me.

October 8, 2013 | 01:05 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Thanks for the tip - hopefully this is something NVIDIA can address sooner rather than later.

October 10, 2013 | 01:00 PM - Posted by BBMan (not verified)

Yes, memory is becoming a bigger issue all the time. In my case Rome Total War II. The rendering of myriads of objects has gotten to the point where the game points out the graphic memory inadequacy of my 1.5GB board and degrades the battle rendering accordingly. A title like this would invalidate some of these tests.

October 8, 2013 | 01:13 AM - Posted by biohazard918 (not verified)

The skip the skip the frame rating explanation link on page 5 takes you to the 7990 review.

October 8, 2013 | 01:30 AM - Posted by biohazard918 (not verified)

Also the transistor count on the 7970 and the 280X is wrong is should be 4.3 billion not 2.8

October 8, 2013 | 04:06 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Fixed this last night, thanks!

October 8, 2013 | 07:58 PM - Posted by ea1985 (not verified)

Also on the 3DMark page, last sentence...

"...it gets beat at the Normal preset by a $100 more expensive GPU."

LESS expensive??

October 8, 2013 | 01:42 AM - Posted by jake (not verified)

any release date specified yet?

October 8, 2013 | 12:37 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Looks like 10/11.

October 8, 2013 | 02:05 AM - Posted by capawesome9870

this will be my first crossfire build. i currently already have a FX8350 and a HD7870. i will not be able to buy a second 7870 for at least 4 months;

If newegg is not selling the 7870 anymore could i pickup a R9 270x and crossfire it to a 7870?

they are the same GPU or is it locked to the same generation of card?

October 8, 2013 | 03:34 AM - Posted by Humanitarian

Why not just buy another 7870? They're identical.

October 8, 2013 | 09:42 AM - Posted by snook

his question is related to the fact that 7870 may not be available by the time he has the money. discontinued basically.

October 8, 2013 | 09:48 AM - Posted by Josh Walrath

I believe in the article Ryan says that you can CrossFire the different generations of cards.  So the R7 270X will be compatible with the HD 7870.

October 8, 2013 | 04:30 PM - Posted by capawesome9870

thanks, after you said this i went and read the pages i did not read. i found it on page 3.

October 8, 2013 | 03:01 AM - Posted by Irishgamer01

Noticed your value for money graphic doesn't have the 7970?

An opps we forgot moment or Amd are big advertisers and we will help them make this relaunch of old cards seem exciting.

Clearly people with older cards not in the know could well purchase these cards as an update, when they are not.

You should be shouting from the roof tops this is a con job of the highest order.

Having said that there is no doubt they are a value option in their respective segments and as such should stand alone on that point alone. Not Rehashed.

This comment is in memory of my 7990 which caught fire and died three days ago. (Yes I do mean caught fire, flames and all)

RIP

October 8, 2013 | 09:50 AM - Posted by snook

you didn't read the article. Ryan: "(BTW, you will likely find deals on Radeon HD 7000-series cards while inventory is cleared, so you might want to jump on them.)"

that is after clearly stating they are essentially the same card. with a different eyefinity setup.

Nvidia did the same thing: GTX760, GTX770 are not new.

but, at least you are accusing them of pay-offs from AMD, while most claim it's Nvidia.

October 8, 2013 | 03:37 PM - Posted by Tim Verry

Yeah, we must be dong something right if we are being accussed of pay offs from both sides hah!

October 8, 2013 | 06:04 PM - Posted by Irishgamer01

Since you didn't answer the question then I take it the answer is yes?

October 8, 2013 | 11:57 PM - Posted by snook

it was answered, in the article

October 9, 2013 | 02:07 AM - Posted by Tim Verry

What was the question? The 7970s are being EOLed so they will not be available at retail after stock is depleted afaik. It is detailed on the first page that the 280X is essentially the same card as the 7970...

October 8, 2013 | 03:03 AM - Posted by JohnGR (not verified)

As an AMD fan I was expecting too much from these new cards. It turns out that we have nothing new and I would have to wait for Nvidia hopping that they will do something better. Disappointed....

October 8, 2013 | 03:38 AM - Posted by Humanitarian

A true AMD fan would know these are refreshed cards. Nothing new has come out as of yet.

Dayum, step up your fanboyism.

October 8, 2013 | 04:15 AM - Posted by JohnGR (not verified)

A true AMD fan is expecting more from his favorite company. If not better hardware at least a price war. Nothing happened. Now Nvidia is lowering the prices of Ti boost and 660. Instead of AMD being on the offensive you have Nvidia doing that. I guess AMD can not give fast HD7000 cards at lower prices than.... yesterday AND Mantle together to the PC user. It will be a disaster for Sony AND Microsoft in the end a disaster for AMD.

October 8, 2013 | 04:48 AM - Posted by Remon (not verified)

The R9 280X is competing with the 770 and is 100$ cheaper. The 270X is competing with a card that costs 50$. Were you expecting them for free maybe?

October 8, 2013 | 05:11 AM - Posted by JohnGR (not verified)

R9 280X is the same as 7970, 270X is the same as 7870, 260X is the same+audio as the 7790 and the smaller cards are worst than 7770/7750/7730.
Also this is 2013, not 2012.
If you like buying last year's cards with new names at the same prices they where yesterday, well, it's your money, no problem for me.

October 8, 2013 | 09:53 AM - Posted by snook

again, Ryan stated that the 280X is lower in price than the 7970 Ghz edition it replaces, compared to last months pricing.

it's like you guys just want to hate, fuck reading

October 8, 2013 | 12:43 PM - Posted by JohnGR (not verified)

I am not talking about 280X only, but you are write, F%^& reading just go and find hate in a post that you don't approve.

October 9, 2013 | 12:01 AM - Posted by snook

understood, the 280X was an example. the article lays out, how and what, they match up to (280X, 270X, 260X) from the previous cards (7970...etc.)

the article is clear that these are rebrands and that the 290X is the real card we are waiting on.

hence, RTFA

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.