Review Index:
Feedback

AMD Radeon R9 280X, R9 270X and R7 260X Review

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: AMD

Metro: Last Light - R9 270X, R7 260X

Metro: Last Light (DirectX 11)


 

Beneath the ruins of post-apocalyptic Moscow, in the tunnels of the Metro, the remnants of mankind are besieged by deadly threats from outside – and within.

Mutants stalk the catacombs beneath the desolate surface, and hunt amidst the poisoned skies above. But rather than stand united, the station-cities of the Metro are locked in a struggle for the ultimate power, a doomsday device from the military vaults of D6. A civil war is stirring that could wipe humanity from the face of the earth forever.

As Artyom, burdened by guilt but driven by hope, you hold the key to our survival – the last light in our darkest hour…

Our Settings for Metro: Last Light

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

 

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

More good news for potential AMD R9 270X users as this $199 GPU is able to outperform the GTX 660 easily and is able to match even the more expensive GTX 760 at both resolutions. 

 

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

Though the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti Boost 2GB has the overall performance edge in Metro: Last Light, the R7 260X makes a valiant run and maintains a very similar overall gaming experience.

 

October 13, 2013 | 02:15 AM - Posted by Daniel Nielsen (not verified)

Agree 100%.

October 9, 2013 | 06:59 PM - Posted by jake (not verified)

i heard the r9 280x can be crossfired with the 7970

is it true?

October 9, 2013 | 09:51 PM - Posted by Tim Verry

Yes, they can be put into a crossfire configuration.

October 10, 2013 | 02:36 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I wish AMD would get there shit to together and fix their drivers before bring out a new card I am very disappointed with AMD having said that I do like the way the new cards look.

October 10, 2013 | 11:52 PM - Posted by jake (not verified)

does msi r9 280 include mantle?

October 13, 2013 | 07:00 AM - Posted by Watushio (not verified)

Yeah,

The wait is over. Right now there is a 7770 in my system.
And i was waiting for the new chips so the 7970 would drop in price.

I dont mind that it is called a 280x now.

Finaly my rig is complete, high end cpu, SSD and now a good GPU.

(lol a complete rig.. that does not exist..)

October 13, 2013 | 08:02 AM - Posted by Goose67 (not verified)

I always find it strange how close these cards are. I find it hard to believe that this by chance. Clearly AMD and Nvidia are working together, at least at some levels, to ensure maximum profit. There is no competition here.

October 13, 2013 | 08:38 AM - Posted by Watushio (not verified)

I think you are right.

But when the prices are to high for to long there will come a thirth party.

Maybe Intel wil come in a few years with good parallel processors.

Who knows

October 15, 2013 | 11:54 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

No Hawaii...false advertising by AMD...BOO !

October 15, 2013 | 12:29 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Ryan has my dream job.

October 15, 2013 | 12:32 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Mantle is a diversion for their not fixing their frame rating issues.

February 17, 2014 | 10:43 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Believe or not I don't play any games, however, I do a lot of animation, which is best NVIDIA OR AMD, I can't find an answer anywhere? Do you know. Thanks Steve

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.