Review Index:
Feedback

AMD Radeon R9 280X, R9 270X and R7 260X Review

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: AMD

3DMark and Unigine Heaven - R9 280X

That we have taken a look at our gaming tests using our Frame Rating metrics and testing methods, we are including a set of tests from more standard benchmarks like Unigine Heaven and the newer 3DMark benchmark. 

View Full Size

View Full Size

The new 3DMark has always tended to lean towards the compute power of the AMD Radeon graphics cards and this time we see no change - the R9 280X beats out the $100 more expensive GeForce GTX 770 2GB in both standard and Extreme presets.

View Full Size

Obviously the advantage that NVIDIA has in tessellation performance helps here as the GTX 770 is able to save some face at the Extreme preset against the R9 280X.  It doesn't help though that it gets beat at the Normal preset by a $100 less expensive GPU.

October 13, 2013 | 05:15 AM - Posted by Daniel Nielsen (not verified)

Agree 100%.

October 9, 2013 | 09:59 PM - Posted by jake (not verified)

i heard the r9 280x can be crossfired with the 7970

is it true?

October 10, 2013 | 12:51 AM - Posted by Tim Verry

Yes, they can be put into a crossfire configuration.

October 10, 2013 | 05:36 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I wish AMD would get there shit to together and fix their drivers before bring out a new card I am very disappointed with AMD having said that I do like the way the new cards look.

October 11, 2013 | 02:52 AM - Posted by jake (not verified)

does msi r9 280 include mantle?

October 13, 2013 | 10:00 AM - Posted by Watushio (not verified)

Yeah,

The wait is over. Right now there is a 7770 in my system.
And i was waiting for the new chips so the 7970 would drop in price.

I dont mind that it is called a 280x now.

Finaly my rig is complete, high end cpu, SSD and now a good GPU.

(lol a complete rig.. that does not exist..)

October 13, 2013 | 11:02 AM - Posted by Goose67 (not verified)

I always find it strange how close these cards are. I find it hard to believe that this by chance. Clearly AMD and Nvidia are working together, at least at some levels, to ensure maximum profit. There is no competition here.

October 13, 2013 | 11:38 AM - Posted by Watushio (not verified)

I think you are right.

But when the prices are to high for to long there will come a thirth party.

Maybe Intel wil come in a few years with good parallel processors.

Who knows

October 15, 2013 | 02:54 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

No Hawaii...false advertising by AMD...BOO !

October 15, 2013 | 03:29 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Ryan has my dream job.

October 15, 2013 | 03:32 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Mantle is a diversion for their not fixing their frame rating issues.

February 17, 2014 | 01:43 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Believe or not I don't play any games, however, I do a lot of animation, which is best NVIDIA OR AMD, I can't find an answer anywhere? Do you know. Thanks Steve

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.