Review Index:
Feedback

AMD Radeon R9 280X, R9 270X and R7 260X Review

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: AMD

3DMark and Unigine Heaven - R9 270X, R7 260X

View Full Size

View Full Size

In 3Dmark the GTX 760 is proving to be a bit faster than the R9 270X though the new AMD Radeon card is definitely faster than its direct competition, the GTX 660 2GB.

View Full Size

The results in Unigine Heaven are very similar to 3DMark above - the R9 270X falls between the two NVIDIA cards.

 

View Full Size

View Full Size

NVIDIA's GeForce GTX 650 Ti Boost 2GB maintains a lead in 3DMark.

View Full Size

And that lead is expanded once we start to focus on tessellation performance.

October 13, 2013 | 05:15 AM - Posted by Daniel Nielsen (not verified)

Agree 100%.

October 9, 2013 | 09:59 PM - Posted by jake (not verified)

i heard the r9 280x can be crossfired with the 7970

is it true?

October 10, 2013 | 12:51 AM - Posted by Tim Verry

Yes, they can be put into a crossfire configuration.

October 10, 2013 | 05:36 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I wish AMD would get there shit to together and fix their drivers before bring out a new card I am very disappointed with AMD having said that I do like the way the new cards look.

October 11, 2013 | 02:52 AM - Posted by jake (not verified)

does msi r9 280 include mantle?

October 13, 2013 | 10:00 AM - Posted by Watushio (not verified)

Yeah,

The wait is over. Right now there is a 7770 in my system.
And i was waiting for the new chips so the 7970 would drop in price.

I dont mind that it is called a 280x now.

Finaly my rig is complete, high end cpu, SSD and now a good GPU.

(lol a complete rig.. that does not exist..)

October 13, 2013 | 11:02 AM - Posted by Goose67 (not verified)

I always find it strange how close these cards are. I find it hard to believe that this by chance. Clearly AMD and Nvidia are working together, at least at some levels, to ensure maximum profit. There is no competition here.

October 13, 2013 | 11:38 AM - Posted by Watushio (not verified)

I think you are right.

But when the prices are to high for to long there will come a thirth party.

Maybe Intel wil come in a few years with good parallel processors.

Who knows

October 15, 2013 | 02:54 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

No Hawaii...false advertising by AMD...BOO !

October 15, 2013 | 03:29 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Ryan has my dream job.

October 15, 2013 | 03:32 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Mantle is a diversion for their not fixing their frame rating issues.

February 17, 2014 | 01:43 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Believe or not I don't play any games, however, I do a lot of animation, which is best NVIDIA OR AMD, I can't find an answer anywhere? Do you know. Thanks Steve

September 26, 2014 | 12:07 AM - Posted by Elwood Blues (not verified)

I understand you put work into this, But why did you have to use graphs like that to show FPS, Many people are just going to search for other reviews that show simple numbers instead of having to strain their eyes following a stupid line just to learn a cards performance. C'mon man!

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.