Review Index:
Feedback

AMD Radeon HD 7990 6GB Review - Malta Gets Frame Rated

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: AMD

DiRT 3

DiRT 3 (DirectX 11)


 

A continuation of the Colin McRae series, but without his name, DiRT 3 is one of the top racing games in the world and offers stunning imagery along with support for features of DirectX 11. 

Our settings for DiRT 3

View Full Size

View Full Size

At 1920x1080, DiRT 3 is running very CPU bound with these graphics cards and thus we do not see any drop off in the observed frame rate.

View Full Size

While the GTX Titan has the best frame times results, all four comparison are doing well very in this test run.

View Full Size

CPU limitations prevent any kind of differentiation on frame rates the most part with the GTX 690 barely squeaking out a lead.

View Full Size

Frame time variances are very low with the GTX 690 barely hitting the 2.5 ms mark towards the 99th percentile. 

 

View Full Size

View Full Size

In some areas of our testing the HD 7990 and the HD 7970s are faster than the GTX Titan and GTX 690 but in the middle of our results you see a dip (or two) in the observed frame rate of the CrossFire solutions as a result of runt frames.

View Full Size

Those collections of runt frames are very obvious in our frame time graphs as the large areas of black (the orange of the HD 7970s in CrossFire are hidden behind it) and are in stark comparison to the consistently thinner bands of the GTX Titan or GTX 690.

View Full Size

Even though the average frame rates of the two AMD solutions are higher they quickly fall off.

View Full Size

You can clearly see the lower frame variances of both NVIDIA solutions in this graph though still the larger spikes of the AMD cards make an appearance.

 

Note: we didn't get any reliable results from DiRT 3 with either the HD 7970s or the HD 7990 so we're moving on to the next game...

 

April 24, 2013 | 02:17 PM - Posted by AlienAndy (not verified)

Ryan, thank you.

AMD must be sado masochistic handing you one of these cards which does show positive signs that they may want to actually fix this.

April 24, 2013 | 02:35 PM - Posted by Daniel Masterson (not verified)

I am excited for this. I'm not going to buy it but if AMD can improve their Xfire performance next time I upgrade it will definitely be AMD.

April 27, 2013 | 10:04 AM - Posted by taklamm

Hello
Thank you very much, Mr. Ryan I've been following your site and all of your articles for quite some time
And I'm very interested in the modern way to test the Graphics Accelerator
I need your consultation in some of the things in this regard
Hopes provide me with your Email
Thank you very much again
 And continued the wonderful effort

April 28, 2013 | 03:34 AM - Posted by JCCIII

Thanks Mr. Shrout and team,

I hope AMD can give our memories of ATi new life, and you people are, in large part, that motivation. AMD could not buy a better format to motivate its people, which brings a little excitement to see how AMD will strive to win and make the community a better place.

Joseph C. Carbone III; 28 April 2013

June 6, 2013 | 11:51 AM - Posted by halsten (not verified)

Where can i buy the AMD Radeon HD 7990 6GB i cant find it anywhere!!

June 8, 2013 | 04:40 PM - Posted by krikman696 (not verified)

I've read another review (on tom's hardware) about 7990's performance, FCAT, prototype driver, etc, basically the same thing, although there was something i noticed.
In their benchmarks the hardware (FRAPS) FPS was also quite bigger for the prototype d. compared to the basic catalyst 7990. While for the observable FPS this difference is easy understandable, i found no explanation for the extra FPS.
Prototype driver just "arranges" the frames in a smoother way, but why it appears to produce more frames?

August 27, 2013 | 10:54 PM - Posted by Jason B (not verified)

I am running this card with 6 monitors- 5790x2160 in games and getting high smooth frame rates. I have one of those mythical MST hubs (bought from the UK) and it works perfectly.

To each his own. BTW I sold my TITAN since Nvidia can never (their words) support more than 4 monitors. It was a nice card though. The 7990 is faster though (as it should be with 2 GPU's.)

Seems these fan boy threads always devolve to AMD or Nvidia bashing.

September 12, 2013 | 11:05 AM - Posted by mike2411 (not verified)

Just installed the 7990 last night and went straight to BF3...frame rates SUCKED!! I had a GTX 570 and it's rates were WAY faster. How do I resolve this problem? How do I get the card to work as expected? How do I get good frame rates with this card? What am I doing wrong. I want to run BF3 on ULTRA settings and enjoy all the "eye-candy" that comes with a high-end card like the 7990. PLEASE HELP!!

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.