Review Index:
Feedback

AMD Radeon HD 7990 6GB Review - Malta Gets Frame Rated

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: AMD

3DMark, 3DMark11, Unigine Heaven

That we have taken a look at our gaming tests using our Frame Rating metrics and testing methods, we are including a set of tests from more standard benchmarks like 3DMark 11, Unigine Heaven and the newer 3DMark benchmark. 

I consider these tests to be somewhat of a "best case" for all the cards in our comparison.  We aren't using our frame capture system, we aren't measuring frame latency, nothing like that; I think this should give you an idea of graphics performance if each vendor had the best result for each game.

View Full Size

This result puts the HD 7990 just behind the HD 7970s in CrossFire, what I more or less expected based on the specifications and clock speeds of the cards.  With the HD 7990 running about 100 MHz slower than the HD 7970s we do see lower benchmark results in our "best case" testing.  The GTX 690 is faster than the HD 7990 and the GTX Titan is slower, though the GTX 690 is much closer to the new AMD option.

View Full Size

View Full Size

Wow, now there is a significant gap between the AMD and NVIDIA options.  The HD 7990 is running 11% faster than the GTX 690 and 35% faster than the GTX Titan at the Extreme Fire Strike preset!

View Full Size

Our Unigine Heave results are actually interesting as well, with the HD 7990 outpacing the GTX 690 at the "normal" tessellation levels but actually coming in behind it when the tessellation is cranked to the "extreme" level.  Obviously the tessellation performance of the Kepler architecture is paying dividends in some areas.

April 24, 2013 | 02:17 PM - Posted by AlienAndy (not verified)

Ryan, thank you.

AMD must be sado masochistic handing you one of these cards which does show positive signs that they may want to actually fix this.

April 24, 2013 | 02:35 PM - Posted by Daniel Masterson (not verified)

I am excited for this. I'm not going to buy it but if AMD can improve their Xfire performance next time I upgrade it will definitely be AMD.

April 27, 2013 | 10:04 AM - Posted by taklamm

Hello
Thank you very much, Mr. Ryan I've been following your site and all of your articles for quite some time
And I'm very interested in the modern way to test the Graphics Accelerator
I need your consultation in some of the things in this regard
Hopes provide me with your Email
Thank you very much again
 And continued the wonderful effort

April 28, 2013 | 03:34 AM - Posted by JCCIII

Thanks Mr. Shrout and team,

I hope AMD can give our memories of ATi new life, and you people are, in large part, that motivation. AMD could not buy a better format to motivate its people, which brings a little excitement to see how AMD will strive to win and make the community a better place.

Joseph C. Carbone III; 28 April 2013

June 6, 2013 | 11:51 AM - Posted by halsten (not verified)

Where can i buy the AMD Radeon HD 7990 6GB i cant find it anywhere!!

June 8, 2013 | 04:40 PM - Posted by krikman696 (not verified)

I've read another review (on tom's hardware) about 7990's performance, FCAT, prototype driver, etc, basically the same thing, although there was something i noticed.
In their benchmarks the hardware (FRAPS) FPS was also quite bigger for the prototype d. compared to the basic catalyst 7990. While for the observable FPS this difference is easy understandable, i found no explanation for the extra FPS.
Prototype driver just "arranges" the frames in a smoother way, but why it appears to produce more frames?

August 27, 2013 | 10:54 PM - Posted by Jason B (not verified)

I am running this card with 6 monitors- 5790x2160 in games and getting high smooth frame rates. I have one of those mythical MST hubs (bought from the UK) and it works perfectly.

To each his own. BTW I sold my TITAN since Nvidia can never (their words) support more than 4 monitors. It was a nice card though. The 7990 is faster though (as it should be with 2 GPU's.)

Seems these fan boy threads always devolve to AMD or Nvidia bashing.

September 12, 2013 | 11:05 AM - Posted by mike2411 (not verified)

Just installed the 7990 last night and went straight to BF3...frame rates SUCKED!! I had a GTX 570 and it's rates were WAY faster. How do I resolve this problem? How do I get the card to work as expected? How do I get good frame rates with this card? What am I doing wrong. I want to run BF3 on ULTRA settings and enjoy all the "eye-candy" that comes with a high-end card like the 7990. PLEASE HELP!!

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.