Review Index:
Feedback

AMD Radeon HD 7950 3GB with PowerTune Boost Review

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: AMD

Conclusions

There is not much to dive into here other than we see the more or less expected performance differences associated with the clock jump to 850 MHz as well as a bit more for the boost speeds up to 925 MHz. 

View Full Size

AMD claims that the prices of the Radeon HD 7950 will not be changing for this updated release so you'll still be able to find these cards for a price starting at $349. Keep an eye out for the updated cards on Newegg and other places, but make sure you are looking for the BOOST feature if you want these updated options and clocks.

I am glad to see AMD at least passively offer the firmware upgrade for existing HD 7950 users that would otherwise be kind of upset that their hardware was behind the curve. Remember, USE AT YOUR OWN RISK!!

The timing of this should not come as a surprise as there is likely another GPU release from NVIDIA coming just around the corner. 

View Full Size

I will have more thoughts on the new HD 7950 and the landscape that exists in the GPU market come Thursday, so enjoy this quick preview of the updated and upgraded Radeon HD 7950.

August 13, 2012 | 03:41 PM - Posted by bjv2370

where is the overclocking is this a preview or a review little confused of.

August 13, 2012 | 03:43 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Overclocking would be the same.  We literally took our reference launch card and updated the firmware.

August 13, 2012 | 04:20 PM - Posted by JSL

Is there any word on a similar bios update being worked on for non-GHz edition 7970's ?

August 13, 2012 | 04:54 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

http://icrontic.com/article/leaked-bios-easily-turns-radeon-hd-7970-into...

August 13, 2012 | 04:15 PM - Posted by TinkerToyTech

3 different displays, maybe even 4, with this 3GB of frame buffer?

August 13, 2012 | 10:47 PM - Posted by Nilbog

This is AMDs new card???? SERIOUSLY?!?
So are they just going to keep re-releasing cards so that we forget about the 7990 they spoke about?
Why are they re-branding cards that still barely compete?

You just updated the firmware? How is this a GPU launch?

August 14, 2012 | 03:49 AM - Posted by Tim Verry

It is a 7950 refresh. New 7950s will be coming out with boost functionality along with the standard/current versions. Somewhat like the 6950-to-6970 flashing, there is a possibility that you will be able to flash an existing 7950s to 7950s with boost. 

So it's a new luanch in the sense that it will be a new retail product.

August 15, 2012 | 07:49 AM - Posted by rrr (not verified)

670 again proves to be very impressive gaming card.

August 27, 2012 | 07:21 AM - Posted by TinkerToyTech

Can this one card be used to drive an HD TV, and 3 monitors in or out of eyefinity? I want to display a TV on on screen and have 3 monitor computing, not hardcore gaming but along those lines. I don't play many games, but I'm looking for a card that can do this. I currently run 3 heads off of a 6950/70 and run the TV off the z68 gigabyte iSSD mobo. THe current setup works, but I'm looking to upgrade...

September 18, 2012 | 11:58 AM - Posted by tony (not verified)

has the new FW been used on an xfx 7950 black edition card and worked? i considered tring it but a little scared to frie my card

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.