Review Index:
Feedback

AMD Radeon HD 7950 3GB with PowerTune Boost Review

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: AMD

Battlefield 3

Battlefield 3 (DirectX 11)


 

Battlefield 3™ leaps ahead of its time with the power of Frostbite 2, DICE's new cutting-edge game engine. This state-of-the-art technology is the foundation on which Battlefield 3 is built, delivering enhanced visual quality, a grand sense of scale, massive destruction, dynamic audio and character animation utilizing ANT technology as seen in the latest EA SPORTS™ games.

Frostbite 2 now enables deferred shading, dynamic global illumination and new streaming architecture. Sounds like tech talk? Play the game and experience the difference!

Our Settings for Battlefield 3

Here is our testing run through the game, for your reference.

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

 

August 13, 2012 | 12:41 PM - Posted by bjv2370

where is the overclocking is this a preview or a review little confused of.

August 13, 2012 | 12:43 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Overclocking would be the same.  We literally took our reference launch card and updated the firmware.

August 13, 2012 | 01:20 PM - Posted by JSL

Is there any word on a similar bios update being worked on for non-GHz edition 7970's ?

August 13, 2012 | 01:54 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

http://icrontic.com/article/leaked-bios-easily-turns-radeon-hd-7970-into...

August 13, 2012 | 01:15 PM - Posted by TinkerToyTech

3 different displays, maybe even 4, with this 3GB of frame buffer?

August 13, 2012 | 07:47 PM - Posted by Nilbog

This is AMDs new card???? SERIOUSLY?!?
So are they just going to keep re-releasing cards so that we forget about the 7990 they spoke about?
Why are they re-branding cards that still barely compete?

You just updated the firmware? How is this a GPU launch?

August 14, 2012 | 12:49 AM - Posted by Tim Verry

It is a 7950 refresh. New 7950s will be coming out with boost functionality along with the standard/current versions. Somewhat like the 6950-to-6970 flashing, there is a possibility that you will be able to flash an existing 7950s to 7950s with boost. 

So it's a new luanch in the sense that it will be a new retail product.

August 15, 2012 | 04:49 AM - Posted by rrr (not verified)

670 again proves to be very impressive gaming card.

August 27, 2012 | 04:21 AM - Posted by TinkerToyTech

Can this one card be used to drive an HD TV, and 3 monitors in or out of eyefinity? I want to display a TV on on screen and have 3 monitor computing, not hardcore gaming but along those lines. I don't play many games, but I'm looking for a card that can do this. I currently run 3 heads off of a 6950/70 and run the TV off the z68 gigabyte iSSD mobo. THe current setup works, but I'm looking to upgrade...

September 18, 2012 | 08:58 AM - Posted by tony (not verified)

has the new FW been used on an xfx 7950 black edition card and worked? i considered tring it but a little scared to frie my card

June 30, 2014 | 03:59 AM - Posted by Fredd (not verified)

So, as i infer, there is nothing much more other than the boost up in the clock speed to expect from the new Radeon HD. And if so, I dont think that its worth $349. The clock jump isnt that high from the previous ones and i dont feel any lag using the same fro Grid 2. It worked perfect.
click here

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.