Review Index:
Feedback

AMD Radeon HD 7870 2GB and HD 7850 2GB Pitcairn Review

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: AMD

Battlefield 3 - Radeon HD 7850

Battlefield 3 (DirectX 11)


 

Battlefield 3™ leaps ahead of its time with the power of Frostbite 2, DICE's new cutting-edge game engine. This state-of-the-art technology is the foundation on which Battlefield 3 is built, delivering enhanced visual quality, a grand sense of scale, massive destruction, dynamic audio and character animation utilizing ANT technology as seen in the latest EA SPORTS™ games.

Frostbite 2 now enables deferred shading, dynamic global illumination and new streaming architecture. Sounds like tech talk? Play the game and experience the difference!

Our Settings for Battlefield 3

Here is our testing run through the game, for your reference.

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

The HD 7850 definitely takes the performance edge from the HD 6950 and dominates the GTX 560 Ti.  The GTX 570 is definitely faster at 1680x1050 and 1920x1080 but exhibits the same issue at 2560x1600 with the smaller frame buffer and Ultra image quality settings.

March 5, 2012 | 01:55 PM - Posted by pdjblum

Ryan,

The value and importance of minimums is not lost on you as it is on so many so called enthusiast sites. Thanks for that. On Anand, for instance, can't even tell what metric he is using, and can't be bothered to read so an amateurish review. But he uses acrap for his main box, so he is far from the enthusiast he claims to be.

March 5, 2012 | 02:27 PM - Posted by Adam (not verified)

Great cards, but I got a AMD 6870 and don;t see much need to upgrade. I'll probably wait for the next generation in 2013.Great Review as always Ryan. Now we just need Nvidia to come out with theirs so there will be price drops.

March 5, 2012 | 03:20 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Thanks!

May 30, 2014 | 11:09 AM - Posted by Lawerence (not verified)

Prosecutor Inder Gohlar said Santos failed to stop for a police officer patrolling the southbound carriageway of
driving ban the M3 saw Care's Range Rover approaching at speed at
about 3. Mr Soames, a friend of the tragic teenagers.

Check out my website - cheap convicted car insurance

March 5, 2012 | 04:20 PM - Posted by AParsh335i (not verified)

Ryan, any expectations from crossfire yet?

March 5, 2012 | 06:33 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I would assume very similar scaling to the HD 7900 cards, though I am still waiting on the second 7870 and 7850 to arrive.

March 9, 2012 | 03:10 PM - Posted by AParsh335i (not verified)

Awesome, looking forward to an update on this review with crossfire :)

March 5, 2012 | 09:49 PM - Posted by Angryfuture (not verified)

Say goodbye to 4870x2...for me anyway.

I assume there will be a sweet discussion in this weeks podcast?

March 5, 2012 | 11:39 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

You would be correct. And yikes, that 4870 X2 is probably a hater this winter!

March 14, 2012 | 10:20 AM - Posted by Mark Allen (not verified)

Thanks for the info, ive got 200 quid burning a hole in my pocket and was torn between a Nvidia 480 as there on offer or a 6950 but i think i'll wait a few weeks and see what uk price we get on the 7850.

Oh and on your podcasts please try and keep doing the funny little audio clips when it starts before the music of one of you lot saying something weird... It always makes me smile :)

March 24, 2012 | 02:59 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I don't see much difference yet, beside power consumption, between a stock 7850 and a stock 6950, and both are having the same price. Even, I can get a 6950 overclocked for it.

May 31, 2012 | 10:34 PM - Posted by IceBoX (not verified)

Something Wrong! on Battlefield 3 GTX 570 Detail Grafics FPSAvg:
1680x1050 56 Avg / 33 Min / 92 Max
1920x1080 48 Avg / 29 Min / 81 Max

Correct or Not? Ryan Edit?

Thanks! Nice Review!

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.