Review Index:
Feedback

AMD Radeon HD 7770 and 7750 Cape Verde GPU Review

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: AMD

Overclocking, Power Consumption, Temperatures

View Full Size

Click to Enlarge

I have to be honest with you, if you saw our testing with the XFX R7770 Black Edition Super Overclocked card, you saw almost the maximum clock speed that I was able to reach using the MSI Afterburner software on any of the three cards we had in-house.  You can see from the image above that we were only able to run at 1150 MHz, a slight bump over the aggressive clock rates of the XFX retail card.  

View Full Size

Here you can see our 3DMark11 Performance score with the overclocked settings - a great boost over the stock 1 GHz clock speed. 

Looking at the relative power consumption of the GPUs presents interesting information on how the parts compare in terms of compute efficiency.

View Full Size

View Full Size

The Radeon HD 7770 1GB card uses the least power in our set of results in the first graph including 37 watts less than the GTX 550 Ti that is handily outperforms.  You saw on our previous page with the CrossFire results how that advantage can compound when moving into the multi-GPU realm as well.  The Radeon HD 7750 is actually more impressive as it uses less power than even the GTS 450 though it can perform on par with the GTX 550 Ti that uses more than 50 watts additional power!!

View Full Size

View Full Size

The temperature results are a bit off kilter simply because the NVIDIA cards are retail cards with better coolers than reference designs; that explains the 52C temperature under load on the MSI GTX 550 Ti.  Still, we can judge the temperature of the HD 7770 and HD 7750 in the 60s even with the reference coolers and agree that the 28nm process is again working some magic.  

February 15, 2012 | 07:59 AM - Posted by HyperMinimalism

(OMGWTFBBQQ!!!111!!) What is that?

February 15, 2012 | 09:12 PM - Posted by Jeremy Hellstrom

Making Ryan feel old? Awesome!

February 15, 2012 | 10:42 AM - Posted by Zoyx (not verified)

Nice article... looks like the 7770 will be a nice upgrade for my 5770. One thing I would of liked to of seen is an OpenGL bench. You had the Heaven bench up and running... why not flip on OpenGL and see how it goes?

Or Quake 3 <--- kidding

February 15, 2012 | 02:52 PM - Posted by djotter

There seems to be a whole lot of wasted real estate at the end of the cards, just the power adapter and 2-3cm of open space. You think they would have saved some money trimming that down?

February 16, 2012 | 01:12 PM - Posted by Frank88 (not verified)

Hey guys! Great reviews as usual, but could you use color-coded curves in the graphs (ATI-reeddish, NV-greenish)? My brain keeps getting twisted!

Thanks
Frank

February 17, 2012 | 03:46 AM - Posted by Billgatez (not verified)

So what if AMD has the most adopted GPU. Nvidia still hold the majority with 57.28%. Well AMD has 38.49%.

February 18, 2012 | 09:39 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

You've probably been told this, but the 7750 doesnt need the crossfire connector to run in crossfire with another 7750.

You can crossfire 5450's even.....

February 18, 2012 | 09:42 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Proof:

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/HIS/HD_7750_7770_CrossFire/

February 18, 2012 | 09:44 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Also, it does limit you to two cards in crossfire I believe.

March 11, 2012 | 12:59 AM - Posted by General Discharge (not verified)

http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/dvzfg/ 1175Mhz (Stable Overclock for HD 7770)

March 11, 2012 | 01:04 AM - Posted by General Discharge (not verified)

Sorry GPU clock was idle on that validation link above this one... here it is at 1175MHz GPU Clock and 1450MHz Memory Clock. By the way this is a Sapphire HD 7770 but the card is identical other than the defaults. Enjoy

http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/kyrmq/

November 8, 2012 | 11:39 AM - Posted by ChimpDoesDZN (not verified)

Is this setup good enough for gaming?
AMD FX-4170 (Quad-core 4.2 Ghz), and a Nvidia gt450 OR AMD Radeon 7770, 8GB 1333, 500GB HDD

Good enough for high settings?
Which graphics card should i choose?

Thanks :l

November 25, 2012 | 07:21 AM - Posted by daschimp (not verified)

My radeon HD 7750 has 4GB instead of 1GB,, any noticable difference?

April 28, 2013 | 07:43 AM - Posted by iran (not verified)

you can play more games in one time with 4GB Gddr5

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.