Review Index:
Feedback

AMD Radeon HD 7770 and 7750 Cape Verde GPU Review

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: AMD

CrossFire Testing

Since we had a pair of the Radeon HD 7770 1GB cards in our hands, we of course decided to do a little CrossFire testing.  Sorry, we have yet to receive a second of the HD 7750 cards so we weren't able to double up on those for your viewing pleasure.  For the below tests I ran the reference HD 7770 along with the MSI Radeon HD 7770 on our standard test bed.  You'll notice that we tossed in the Radeon HD 6970 2GB card into our graphs here as well as the GeForce GTX 560 Ti.  The 6970 was included as it is approximately the same price (a little higher at $330 or so) as the pair of HD 7770s would be while the GTX 560 Ti was include just to create another reference point for you against the single card HD 7770.

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

Scaling in our testing was pretty impressive on most games hitting as high as 88% in Battlefield 3 at 1920x1080 and medium presets.  Skyrim was really good scaling as well at 67%, DiRT 3 improved by 72%, Metro 2033 by 79% and Deus Ex improved by 68%.  The only game that stood out this time as being a negative was Batman: Arkham City that only scaled by 13% - an issue that carries over from our testing with the HD 7970 and HD 7950 CrossFire.  

And with the exception of Batman: AC, the performance of the HD 7770 cards matches or exceeds that of the HD 6970 2GB card, which is impressive when we take into account the power results below...

View Full Size

By adding in a second HD 7770 card the power consumption under load (in BF3) increased by 73 watts which is right in line with the estimates from AMD.  What is interesting is how much more power efficient the CrossFire configuration is than the HD 6970 - the dual-GPU configurations uses 56 watts less than the single GPU card which goes against our traditional way of thinking.  Not only that, but the two HD 7770 CF rig actually uses the same amount of power as the single GPU GTX 560 Ti card that doesn't even come close to the performance of our new cards.

February 15, 2012 | 07:59 AM - Posted by HyperMinimalism

(OMGWTFBBQQ!!!111!!) What is that?

February 15, 2012 | 09:12 PM - Posted by Jeremy Hellstrom

Making Ryan feel old? Awesome!

February 15, 2012 | 10:42 AM - Posted by Zoyx (not verified)

Nice article... looks like the 7770 will be a nice upgrade for my 5770. One thing I would of liked to of seen is an OpenGL bench. You had the Heaven bench up and running... why not flip on OpenGL and see how it goes?

Or Quake 3 <--- kidding

February 15, 2012 | 02:52 PM - Posted by djotter

There seems to be a whole lot of wasted real estate at the end of the cards, just the power adapter and 2-3cm of open space. You think they would have saved some money trimming that down?

February 16, 2012 | 01:12 PM - Posted by Frank88 (not verified)

Hey guys! Great reviews as usual, but could you use color-coded curves in the graphs (ATI-reeddish, NV-greenish)? My brain keeps getting twisted!

Thanks
Frank

February 17, 2012 | 03:46 AM - Posted by Billgatez (not verified)

So what if AMD has the most adopted GPU. Nvidia still hold the majority with 57.28%. Well AMD has 38.49%.

February 18, 2012 | 09:39 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

You've probably been told this, but the 7750 doesnt need the crossfire connector to run in crossfire with another 7750.

You can crossfire 5450's even.....

February 18, 2012 | 09:42 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Proof:

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/HIS/HD_7750_7770_CrossFire/

February 18, 2012 | 09:44 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Also, it does limit you to two cards in crossfire I believe.

March 11, 2012 | 12:59 AM - Posted by General Discharge (not verified)

http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/dvzfg/ 1175Mhz (Stable Overclock for HD 7770)

March 11, 2012 | 01:04 AM - Posted by General Discharge (not verified)

Sorry GPU clock was idle on that validation link above this one... here it is at 1175MHz GPU Clock and 1450MHz Memory Clock. By the way this is a Sapphire HD 7770 but the card is identical other than the defaults. Enjoy

http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/kyrmq/

November 8, 2012 | 11:39 AM - Posted by ChimpDoesDZN (not verified)

Is this setup good enough for gaming?
AMD FX-4170 (Quad-core 4.2 Ghz), and a Nvidia gt450 OR AMD Radeon 7770, 8GB 1333, 500GB HDD

Good enough for high settings?
Which graphics card should i choose?

Thanks :l

November 25, 2012 | 07:21 AM - Posted by daschimp (not verified)

My radeon HD 7750 has 4GB instead of 1GB,, any noticable difference?

April 28, 2013 | 07:43 AM - Posted by iran (not verified)

you can play more games in one time with 4GB Gddr5

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.